It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I’ve had a quiet week at home, recovering from the holidays, I guess.🙂
One day last week, a friend and I took a thermos of coffee and some snacks to our nearby lake while our kids played with the canoe (we’re so close nearby, they can carry it to the lake from our house!). Big fun, and the weather stayed nice for most of the week. We did a lot of Olympics watching too (on t.v.). Went to see the new Batman movie with my husband which was better than I had feared but got us home at 1.30am (yawn). I also had a nice walk on Sunday and a long gardening session on Saturday.
.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso FalconesDefending Jacob by William LandayGrip by Stephan Enter

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones. The story of a young man in Barcelona (Spain) in the 1300s who goes from rags to riches. 4 stars

Defending Jacob by William Landay. A District Attorney in Boston has to give up a murder case he’s been working on when his own son becomes a suspect. 4 stars

Grip [Hold] by Stefan Enter [Dutch]. Four forty-somethings are planning to meet up after many years. Years ago, something happened that none of them knows all the details of. The reader gets to hear all the stories and puts one and one together to form the complete story. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Genus by Jonathan TrigellThe War of the Wives by Tamar CohenThe Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

.

Reviews

Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher BrookmyreBeautiful Ruins by Jess WalterRecipe for Love by Katie Fforde

Where the Bodies are Buried by Christopher Brookmyre. Mystery story in Glasgow, captivating, 4 stars.

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter. Beautiful story about a forgotten town in 1960s Italy and a Hollywood actress. 4.5 stars

And on my Dutch blog….

Recipe for Love by Katie Fforde. An unlikely but fun chick-lit story about a woman who takes part in a cooking contest on tv. 4 stars

 

*****

Also check out my New Arrivals… still getting more books than I can read.

And here’s my July Overview, with all the books I’ve read.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Judith!!! You ‘only’ read three books last week??? 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I know!!! I hoped to finish *Genus* yesterday, but it didn’t happen. But I’m a bit more relaxed about getting books finished on time. Are you reading anything at the moment, Nadine?

      • I just finished The summer without man by Siri Hustvedt ( the wife of Paul Auster); it was a really beautifully written book with a unique view on man-woman relations and relations in general. I will definitely read more of her books, not sure however what I will read next. Are you sticking to your plan of reading Juli Zeh at the end of this month?

  2. Teddyree says:

    LOL 3 books is an awesome week for me … I’ve been reading at snails pace lately. I’ve heard good things about The Light Between Oceans, hope you enjoy.
    Have a great week and happy reading🙂

  3. 3 books! I’m jealous – I might be able to see my carpet if I did that! Have a great reading week🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I have a book case full of unread books, Sam. But I think, the more you read, the more books you acquire. There is just no end to the number of great books that I want to read.

  4. Belle says:

    Defending Jacob definitely goes on my TBR and The War of Wives looks good too.

  5. Roxanne says:

    I have finished a couple of books this week and right now I am reading “Genadeloos” by Karin Slaughter.

  6. I love the idea of reading by the lake…it would be nice and cool. Unfortunately, our cooler spots are an hour away! lol

    Defending Jacob is on my wish list.

    Enjoy your week…and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  7. Kathy Martin says:

    Looks like you had a good week. I haven’t heard of any of the books on your list though. I hope this week goes as well. My Monday Report is here. Happy reading!

  8. All new titles for me! It’s too hot for us in TX to think of anything outdoors, unfortunately. This has been a bummer of a summer. My Monday post

  9. Mystica says:

    You have had a good week. Enjoy all your reads.

  10. Recipe for Love looks pretty fantastic🙂

    Happy reading this week!!!
    Check out what I’m reading and enter for a giveaway!

  11. Dollycas says:

    Defending Jacob is on my review shelf waiting for me. I have heard so many good things about it but I had read so many books in a row that had similar themes/plots I decided to wait a bit.

    Have a great week!!

  12. Leslie says:

    Wow, relaxing week for you! I’d heard Defending Jacob is good so I’ll be interested in your review of that one. I loved Beautiful Ruins, as I think I’ve said twice before. I suppose I’m repeating myself now.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

