Book Review: Rejection by Meagan Bridges

Rejection by Meagan Bridges

You know, I don’t accept ebooks for review (see Review Policy) and then when someone sends me an email asking to review her ebook, and it has this cover, I relent. But then, I was pretty sure this would make a great read on holiday, and the e-reader is definitely part of the luggage, so why not?

And it turned out, this was a good read that I did enjoy reading at the pool in Spain.

Rejection: What it is about

Maggie has just broken up with her boyfriend Connor – or in fact, he broke up with her. Her job as a fact-checker for a documentary-making company is going well, but she has some difficult co-workers to deal with.

When her love life doesn’t improve and two of her friends are getting married, she feels like a failure. But slowly she picks herself up and learns to deal with life as it comes to her.

Rejection: What I thought

I downloaded this book via Smashwords, and if I’m brutally honest, that doesn’t always deliver the most well-written and best cared-for books. But… this book is different! It’s very well written and the story is set out really well. However, there were a few spelling errors (which I could forgive the writer given the high standard of writing) and sometimes the chapters ended a bit abruptly.

The story was fun and realistic (without becoming boring). It is chick-lit in some sense – it’s about a twenty-something woman looking for a relationship, but it’s not the standard story of will they/won’t they (and of course they will, in the end). Rather, the book is the story of a woman finding her way in life where work, friends and relationships are all an important part.

The story is not hugely exciting but interesting enough to keep reading. I got attached to Maggie and hoped at every situation that things would work out for her. I didn’t get impatient with her as with (some) other chick-lit where the main character is too dumb to be believable. Instead, Maggie was a realistic person who did of course make the odd mistake or misjudged a situation as we all do from time to time.

This book is a lot better than the average chick-lit and I enjoyed reading it. I think it will appeal especially to readers in their twenties and thirties.

Rating: 4 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 250 (ebook)

First published: 2012

I got this book: from the author for review

Genre: chick-lit, contemporary fiction

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Book Review: Rejection by Meagan Bridges

  1. Tesney Ap says:

    It sounds really interesting🙂 Sound like a book that can make me kick back and relax🙂

  2. bibliosue says:

    It sounds like the perfect book to read while on holiday. Though it looks like I may be too old to appreciate it🙂

  3. When I would come across this book and was planning a holiday, I would certainly consider reading it. It sounds like a real holiday-read I could enjoy.

  4. Trisha says:

    Sounds like a solid summer read! (or holiday read)

  5. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    Although I like the sound of this one I am not going to be tempted. I think your policy of not reviewing eBooks may well have been a good move, I have found myself swamped with review requests and I do not want to unbalance the blog with reviews of titles that are only available in this format.

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, I prefer paper books myself, but sometimes I do review an ebook (usually only if they’re also out in paper version). I love browsing books in a bookshop and am not so likely to buy an ebook myself.

      • lindyloumacinitaly says:

        This is also my preferable policy as I know that lots of my readers do not have eReaders or want to read in this format. I also love browsing bookshops but not so much fun in a foreign language

  6. Katrien says:

    I’ve got the same feeling with Smashwords. Not every book published there is that good.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

