It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Some rather strange news from a friend of mine last week – it kept me thinking all week. I’ll see her again tomorrow…
.
Spent the weekend at Center Parcs, a holiday park here in the Netherlands with nice cottages, lots of sports options, and a wonderful swimming “paradise”. We rented bikes and my boys discovered a BMX track where they raced against each other and against my husband (whose shins show the results). We cycled into Germany on an evening which was good fun. We also played table tennis, pool (billiards), and spent some time in paradise (swimming) and generally relaxed the rest of the time. Just what we needed!
.
Now it’s two more weeks before school starts again and it hardly seems the holidays have started! I don’t know what’s happening this year, but after two holidays (at the middle of July we were in Spain for 2 weeks) it still feels like the summer vacation is just beginning.🙂
.

Books I finished in the last week: 4

Genus by Jonathan TrigellThe War of the Wives by Tamar CohenThe Light Between Oceans by M. L. StedmanReizen met Charley [Travels with Charley] by John Steinbeck

Genus by Jonathan Trigell. London in the near future. Many people are genetically altered but in King’s Cross (The Kross) the Unimproved live an underclass life. And now there is a murderer amongst them. 5 stars

The War of the Wives by Tamar Cohen. Two women, both the wives of Simon Busfield, meet at his funeral and discover their husband had another wife. Instantly hating each other, they have to deal with each other more than they like in the aftermath. 5 stars

The Light between the Oceans by M. L. Steadman. A couple on an isolated light house island discover a boat with a dead man and a baby. They keep the baby, which leads to a lot of guilt as well as happiness. 4 stars

Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck. John Steinbeck travelled through America in the 1960s and this book is about the people he encounters along the way. He also notices how America is changing. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Miss Me When I'm Gone by Emily ArsenaultDe Comedy Club by Eva Posthuma de BoerThe Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

.

Reviews

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso FalconesRejection by Meagan Bridges

The Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones. The story of a young man in Barcelona (Spain) in the 1300s who goes from rags to riches. 4 stars

Rejection by Meagan Bridges. A woman is rejected by several boyfriends and when two of her friends get married she feels desperate. However, she learns how to deal with what life has to offer. 4 stars

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. harvee says:

    Wish I had Prisoner of Heaven and Miss Me When I’m Gone to read! Hope you are enjoying them!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Harvee, *Miss Me When I’m Gone* is not as good as I’d hoped, unfortunately. I almost gave up, but I’m glad to say the final part of the book is oK again.

  2. Your vacation sounds perfect.

  3. I like the premise of The War of the Wives. Glad you had a wonderful vacation.

  4. Ooh, The War of the Wives looks very tempting…also, Miss Me When I’m Gone.

    Enjoy! And thanks for visiting my blog.

  5. bibliosue says:

    Vacations always seem too short but it does sound like you and your family packed a lot of fun into yours. I love how you casually mention that you cycled into Germany one evening!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Haha, was it casual enough, Suzanne? I grew up near the German border but never so close that I could just cycle there of an evening. It was a fun experience.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Ooh ooh I always love your lists of books🙂 Can I blame you for my tbr pile being ridiculously large?

    Have a fantastic week of reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m very sorry to be the cause of your large TBR pile, Jennifer! But I’m glad that you like my books, I certainly get better and better at choosing the best of the bunch!

  7. Kim says:

    de nieuwe van Zafon! ik wacht lekker lui tot de Nederlandse vertaling, maar ben wel erg benieuwd. ik hoop toch dat het beter zal zijn dan Het spel van de engel, die viel me nogal tegen.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kim, de NLse vertaling laat niet lang meer op zich wachten geloof ik. *Het spel van de engel* heb ik niet gelezen, alleen het eerste deel. Maar dat schijnt niet uit te maken. We zullen zien…

  8. Dollycas says:

    Great Selections! Enjoy!!

  9. I do not think I would try reading a book a day-nor would I do a read a thon. Reading is too much fun for me. I do not want it to become a committment.

  10. Mystica says:

    Nice mix of reads

  11. Marie says:

    You’ve had a good week this week – all four of those books have grabbed my attention! I have to say out of all the book blogs I read yours is fast becoming the one to add to my TBR the most!

    Marie

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I think we have similar tastes. I hope it’s positive that blog inspires you to add to the TBR! I am SO choosy with books these days, I wonder read anything that I don’t expect to like a lot (except for a challenge, sometimes).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

