It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Today, my sons will be picking up their schoolbooks and next week, it’s school time again. If only I can get them to clean up their bedrooms… {sigh}
It’s been very hot here and other than mucking out the garage (and bringing the results to the tip) I don’t seem to have done a lot. But that’s OK. Busy life starts again next week.
.

Books I finished in the last week: 4

Miss Me When I'm Gone by Emily ArsenaultThe Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz ZafónDe Comedy Club by Eva Posthuma de Boer

Click on the blue links to see the review

Miss Me When I’m Gone by Emily Arsenault. A woman is researching the manuscript of the book her friend, who died recently, was working on. Was her death really an accident? 3.5 stars

The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. A book in the series about The Cemetry of Forgotten Books. We learn all about Fermín Romero de Torres’ past. 4.5 stars

De Comedy Club van Eva Posthuma de Boer [review in Dutch]. Five people (two couples and a student) who often meet at the Comedy Club, have bigger goals in life and are working towards them. Not all successfully. 4 stars

Alles is altijd fictie [Everything is Always Fiction] by Daphne Huisden [Dutch]. A young woman tries to get away from her suffocating mother and meets some socially unsuccessful men when she moves out. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

This is How it Ends by Kathleen MacMahonHow to be a Woman by Caitlin MoranThe Descendants by Kaui Hart Hemmings

.

Reviews

Prior Bad Acts by Tami HoagHow to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles YuReizen met Charley [Travels with Charley] by John Steinbeck

Prior Bad Acts by Tami Hoag. A judge is attacked and there are a few possible suspects, one of them her own husband. When a prisoner is on the loose and a police officer becomes obsessed with the case, things get really scary for the judge. 4 stars

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu. A time machine repairman is stuck in a time loop. He is reading a book that he wrote in the future to try and find a way out. 3.5 stars

Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck [review is in Dutch]. John Steinbeck travelled through America in the 1960s and this book is about the people he encounters along the way. He also notices how America is changing. 4 stars

And also…

Check out my New Arrivals. Books for your wishlist.🙂

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

29 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Another exciting list of books here!

  2. Rikki says:

    You have been kinda busy again. I can’t get anything done in this heat either. I absolutely hate it. Hopefully it will be fall soon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Today it’s better already here, Rikki. At least 6 or 8 degrees cooler. I don’t like this heat either. I like a gentle 25C all summer, please!

  3. Myra GB says:

    I fell in love with Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s Shadow of the Wind and I always use a quote from the book about reading becoming an intimate art and about books being a reflection of what you already have inside you. This one, “Prisoner of Heaven” seems like another title I’d enjoy reading. Thanks for sharing this, Lee.🙂

  4. readerbuzz says:

    I start back to school/work this week. My reading will probably suffer.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by!

  5. Chinoiseries says:

    You seem to have had a productive week reading. Is The Descendents the novel that was adapted into a movie? Wondering about that (and looking forward to your review). This week I’ll be trying to finish Jane Austen’s Lady Susan/The Watsons/Sanditon and Mansfield Park this week for Adam’s Austen in August event.

  6. I can’t believe it’s time for school again – summer passed quickly. I’m hoping to find a groove again. Around October 1 my work life will slow from three FULL time jobs to 1.5…

    I have read a book similar to the first one listed about a manuscript and a death – unfortunately I don’t remember the title but I didn’t love it.

    Have a wonderful week! I will be back to catch on your life posts (or top of your weekly updates). Did you post about your holiday to Spain?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, glad your working life will slow down to almost normal! I don’t know how you do it all.

      I haven’t posted about Spain yet as I didn’t have the pictures – half are on my husband’s phone (which he’s passed on to me now) and the others are on my son’s camera (which I haven’t got yet). I want to do just an impressions post, we didn’t do enough to make it an adventurous read.🙂

  7. bibliosue says:

    You didn’t do a lot? Hmmph – you were much more productive than I was last week — and I don’t have children.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, the kids spent most of their time either playing computer games or with the canoe out on the lake so they don’t cause me a lot of work. The advantage of having teenagers. Most work is to get them to do something like clean up their room or get dressed (at 12noon) – that takes up a lot of my energy!

  8. Shan says:

    We’re getting ready for back to school here. Two more weeks for us. That’s a great list of books, I’m going to go look into some of them.

  9. Vasilly says:

    I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Descendants. I watched the movie and really enjoyed it. Happy reading.

  10. Leslie says:

    Hard to believe it’s back to school time already but the neighborhood schools here are back in session too. I’m not familiar with the books you’re reading this week, except for The Descendants. I want to see that movie.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I think I missed the movie when it was here – I don’t know, but I think it’s been and gone. In the cinemas at least. DVD is always an option!

      • Leslie says:

        It’s come and gone here too. I must be getting old, I watch most of the movies on DVD now rather than go to the movie theater.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I often plan to do that, Leslie, then forget all about the movie. But I sometimes go to a kind of movie club where they have the best of the recent movies.

  11. Lucybird says:

    I read How to Be a Woman at the beginning of the year and pretty much fell in love with Caitlin Moran. I hope you like it as much as I did.

  12. Jennifer says:

    How To Be a Woman is a book I’ve had my eye on for a while. I hope you enjoy it!

    Have a great week of reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, *How to be a Woman* may not be for me, I fear. I haven’t finished and I’m not planning to give up… yet, but it’s not as good as I’d hoped.

  13. Kristen says:

    You got some good reading done. We start school here next week too. Maybe I should shovel out the garage like you did. It sure needs it!

  14. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Looks like you have some great reads upcoming

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

