Giveaway: The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani (WW)

The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani
To celebrate the paperback edition of The Shoemaker’s Wife, Harper Perennial is sponsoring a giveaway! I read this book a few months ago and enjoyed it a lot. So here’s YOUR chance to win a copy!

About the book:

The story takes place around 1900 with Enza and Ciro, two young people, living in nearby villages in Italy, who meet and start a fledgling romance. But Ciro is an orphan and is suddenly sent away to America to make his own living.

When Enza’s family falls on hard times, she is also forced to go and work in America. The two meet again in New York but only every now and then, and we follow their (separate) lives in the harsh city. Eventually they meet up again.

The story is based on the real-life stories of Trigiani’s grandparents.

How to enter:

  1. Required: tell me in the comments something that you like about Italy.
  2. Get another entry by tweeting about the giveaway (not mandatory). Paste the link in your comment (or in a new comment) – if you don’t know how to do that, make sure you use “@leeswammes” in your tweet and I’ll find it back (do mention in the comments that you tweeted).
  3. Maximum of 2 entries per person (one comment, one tweet).
  4. Anyone can enter, this giveaway is completely worldwide. The book will be sent out by the publishers.
  5. You do not have to be a follower of this blog, but don’t let me stop you pressing the RSS or Email button!
  6. I reserve the right to remove double entries or entries where foul play is suspected.
  7. The giveaway will close on Tuesday 28th August (as soon as I open my laptop in the morning).
  8. The winner will be chosen randomly.
  9. I will notify the winner by email. The winner has 3 days to get back to me with their mailing address or I’ll choose a new winner.
  10. Good luck!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

54 Responses to Giveaway: The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani (WW)

  1. Lizanne says:

    Gelato, GELATO, GELATO!!!

    I love food and I love italian food and italian icecream is simply the best.
    Best ice cream parlour in the whole wide world is in Parma!

  2. Katie says:

    Having studied Latin since 11 and done a Classics degree, I love everything about Italy. It has such a wonderful rich history and such a beautiful language!

  3. I would love, love to win a copy of this book. I love several things about Italy. First and foremost are the memories I have of a rather exciting summer holiday there when I was 17 and managed to get myself entangled with TWO rather handsome men. Looking back it was all rather innocent but at the time it was very exciting and the memories are wonderful. Of course me and my family adore Italian food and eat it at least twice a week and finally I love the descriptions Adriana Trigiani gives of the country in a lot of her books.
    I think this is the link to my tweet: https://twitter.com/Meentje63/status/237841277809467392 but in case I did it wrong I made sure to @leeswammes it so you should come across it.
    Great give-away!

  4. I love the fact that the food in Italy is so different from the North to the South. I prefer the food from Southern Italy but like to try food from the North,

  5. Dominique says:

    Hi @leeswammes, I love Italy because of ‘la lingua Italiana’ (its language). Isn’t it just the best sounding tongue to listen to, look at and participate in? During my studies of the Dutch language and literature I spent a year at the faculty of Italian languages in Utrecht and I’m still ‘addicted’. It’s all about emotions, emphasized by fierce hand gestures and facial expressions. Every conversation is a piece of art in itself. A country with such a beautifull language, the best cuisine and beautifull sights …. need I say more?!

  6. Mystica says:

    The paintings, the art in general.

  7. Nadia says:

    Gelato and the flea markets filled with leather journals, tapestries and jewelry. Oh and the museums – seeing Boticelli’s works up close was unforgettable! Oh and practicing my nonexistent Italian is fun to do in Italy. Basically, everything!

    And now I’m going to retweet about the giveaway!

  8. Lisa Garrett says:

    I love the food!

  9. mmalavec says:

    I absolutely love the food…..!!!!!

    mmalavec(at)med(dot)umich(dot)edu

  10. mmalavec says:

    I tweeted!

    mmalavec(at)med(dot)umich(dot)edu

  11. I love Florence and the warmth and beauty of Italy.Will tweet at Rhondareads .

  12. Erika says:

    The language! I actually took some Italian courses in college and loved it. Would love to go there one day and maybe make use of some of my learning🙂 Would love this book. Thanks for the chance.

  13. Katrien says:

    I love pasta and pesto! If it was possible, I would eat it every day!
    And ofcourse the opera, love singing the songs!
    I have tweeted about the giveaway.

  14. Carol Wong says:

    I love the food, music and the language. I almost signed up for Italian just because it so fun to speak it!

  15. Carol Wong says:

    I tweeted:
    https://t.co/qI9sHICh

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  16. lomaurice says:

    I love everything about Italy. We’ve visited twice and managed to fall in love with the food and the people.

  17. I’ve heard great things about this book- wonderful giveaway. We visited Venice last summmer and I loved wondering up and down along the canals, seeing all the beautiful old buildings, so much history!
    s.asher135 (at) gmail (dot) com

  18. neer says:

    Pastas and Pizzas.🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway.

  19. Rosemary W says:

    Been on the wait list at my library for this book since the hardback came out – still waiting. My grandparents knew each other in Italy, but soon after my grandfather proposed, my grandmother’s family left for America. He followed her and here I am.

  20. Wine, Pizza and paintings!🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  21. Mary Preston says:

    I love the food. I love to cook it & eat it. Very social food!!

  22. patgarcia says:

    Reblogged this on Walk On.

  23. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    How could I not enter this one, especially as the title is already on my wishlist. I have to tell you something I like about Italy, now that is hard for me isn’t it. I love Italy so much that I moved here and am actually living the dream. I love it so much that I share my love of Italy by blogging about life here.

  24. Kristia says:

    What I like about Italy? The history and the ancient buildings in Rome. Every road there has something to tell!

  25. mamabunny13 says:

    The food!

  26. mamabunny13 says:

    tweet

  27. What’s not to love about Italy? The food, the people, the scenery… how can I choose a favorite? I can’t wait for Ms.Trigiani’s next book!

  28. Malvina Beatrice says:

    I’m an art student so I’ll say the art!
    I also tweeted!

  29. Ah, I read this just in time. There are several things to like about Italy, but what stands out for me is the cappuccino. Never in Holland did I taste a cappuccino as good as it is served in Italy!
    I also tweeted the link.

  30. Ileana A. says:

    What I love about Italy is the food and the handsome boys🙂 Lol!
    I tweeted: https://twitter.com/Gisselle_Alv/status/239819384376397824

  31. Jamie Leigh Martin says:

    I love the food!

  32. This time I’m entering as well🙂
    I feel bad for not being so original, but I love Italian food as well! I have only been to Italy once though, when I was in high school, and of course I only ate pizza (that was the easiest to pronounce). I’d love to go there another time amongst others to go to a really good Italian restaurant and to taste what it’s really meant to taste like.

  33. szappanbubi says:

    I can’t say too much about Italy as I spent there just a few days BUT I absolutely LOVE their ice-creams -unbelievably delicious and huge portions and amazzzing *_*
    mozarella and plenty of succulent tomatoes and veggies with pasta !
    and love their hot beaches ! =)

  34. Leeswammes says:

    This giveaway is now closed

  35. Pingback: Winner of the Adriana Trigiani Giveaway « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

