It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani

Giveaway Alert!!
If you haven’t yet, enter my giveaway for The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani (absolutely world-wide). It runs until the end of today (Monday).
The kids go back to school today! I’ll be at a meeting tonight for school library volunteers, thought it might be fun to help out. Saturday, I went to Amsterdam, to a cultural festival, previewing what music, theater, museums, etc. are planned for the coming season. I went to two shows and visited the book market. No, I didn’t buy any books. OK, I did. But not very many. Check here for pictures, the blogpost is in Dutch, but if you’re interested, use Google Translate to read it in your favorite language.
.

Books I finished in the last week: 4

This is How it Ends by Kathleen MacMahonHow to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson

Click on the blue links to see the review

This is How it Ends by Kathleen McMahon. An American man, recently made redundant from his banker job, visits Ireland in search of his extended family. He meets his cousin Addie and falls in love. He’s planning to go back home after the elections (2008), but only if Obama wins… 4 stars

How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. Funny account of all things that women have to deal with, told from a personal perspective. 3 stars

Het grote zwijgen [The Big Silence] by Erik Menkveld [Dutch]. A componist and a music critic become friends before the first World War. Their friendship has its ups and downs. 4 stars

22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson. A Polish woman and her son are reunited with her husband in England after the Second World War. They have experienced the war very differently and have been apart for 6 years. Can they be a family again? 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

John Saturnall's Feast by Lawrence NorfolkChoose the Life You Want by Tal Ben-ShaharTriburbia by Karl Taro Greenfield

.

Reviews

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. StedmanYou Remind Me of Me by Dan Chaon

 

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman. A couple on an isolated lighthouse island discover a boat with a dead man and a baby. They keep the baby, which leads to a lot of guilt as well as happiness. 4 stars

You Remind Me of Me by Dan Chaon. A man searches and finds his half-brother whom he never knew. They meet but never hit it off together. Family secrets are revealed. 4 stars

Alles is altijd fictie [Everything is Always Fiction] by Daphne Huisden [Dutch]. A young woman tries to get away from her suffocating mother and meets some socially unsuccessful men when she moves out. 4 stars

And also…

Check out my recipe for Chole (Indian chickpea curry) – it makes a great and very easy lunch time meal.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Looks like you had a pretty good reading week! Hope you have another one🙂

  2. Teddyree says:

    The Light Between Oceans seems to be popular, hope you enjoy it. I’ve got 22 Britannia Road on my TBR mountain.
    Have a great week and happy reading🙂

  3. The Feast book looks really interesting!

  4. The Light Between Oceans looks fascinating…thanks for sharing and enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. bibliosue says:

    I listened to the audiobook of 22 Brittannia Road and was disappointed.
    I should probably pick up “Choose the Life You Want” as I definitely need some guidance on that front🙂
    Have a great week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I enjoyed *22 Britannia Road* a lot. It wasn’t as I expected but it was good. A pity you were disappointed with it.

      I’ll try and write a comprehensive review on *Choose the Life You Want, *especially for you!🙂

  6. Leslie says:

    These are all new to me (except for The Shoemaker’s Wife). I’ll be interested in knowing if Choose the Life You Want is worth reading. I could use some insightful life advice.🙂

  7. Jennifer says:

    There is so much goodness here that I don’t even know where to start! I read and enjoyed 22 Brittania Road. I want to read How to be a Woman, I’ve heard great things. You have a great week of reading ahead🙂

  8. Woordenaar says:

    I’m still reading the biography of Gabriel García Márquez by Gerald Martin.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Woordenaar, enjoy the biography! I should try Mrquez again – I tried to read him many years ago but then it didn’t grab me. But my reading tastes have changed. Where do I start?

  9. Mystica says:

    22 Brittania Road and John Saturnall’s Feast are on my TBR as well.

  10. My kids start school on Wednesday and for only half a day. I’m amazed at how many books you read in a week. There are a few books on your post here that I have my eye on. Enjoy your reading week and thanks for visiting my blog.

  11. yvonne473 says:

    Interesting list! Enjoy and have a great week!

  12. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I have Triburbia as well! Its on next weeks reading list though
    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

