August Overview

This was a good month for reading – I had some extra time which I used to get through my review pile and other deadlined books. I read 16 books this months. I read much more Dutch than normal – for an award, for review and just for fun!

Books that stood out:


I loved Genus and The War of the Wives. They are very different books. Genus is a dystopian story that needs to be closely read in order not to miss anything, while The War of the Wives is a very easy and fun read, contemporary fiction.

This is what I read

Genus by Jonathan TrigellThe War of the Wives by Tamar CohenThe Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz ZafónThe Light Between Oceans by M. L. StedmanDefending Jacob by William Landay22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson
This is How it Ends by Kathleen MacMahonMiss Me When I'm Gone by Emily ArsenaultHow to be a Woman by Caitlin MoranJohn Saturnall's Feast by Lawrence Norfolk

Click on the blue links to go to the review

Genus by Jonathan Trigell. Dystopian fiction, 5 stars.

The War of the Wives by Tamar Cohen. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. Historical fiction, 4.5 stars.

The Light between Oceans by M. L. Steadman. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

Defending Jacob by William Landay. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

This is How it Ends by Kathleen McMahon. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Miss Me When I’m Gone by Emily Arsenault. Contemporary fiction, 3.5 stars.

How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. Memoir, 3 stars.

John Saturnall’s Feast by Lawrence Norfolk (DNF)

***

Dutch blog:

Grip by Stephan EnterReizen met Charley [Travels with Charley] by John SteinbeckMama Tandoori by Ernest van der KwastHet grote zwijgen by Erik MenkveldAlles is altijd fictie by Daphne HuisdenDe Comedy Club by Eva Posthuma de Boer

Grip by Stefan Enter. Contemporary fitcion, 4.5 stars.

Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck.  Memoir, 4 stars.

Mama Tandoori van Ernest van der Kwast. Memoir, 4 stars.

Het grote zwijgen by Erik Menkveld. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

Alles is altijd fictie by Daphne Huisden. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

De Comedy Club van Eva Posthuma de Boer. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

.

What was YOUR favorite book in August?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to August Overview

  1. Chinoiseries says:

    Quite a productive month! And good for you, for catching up with Dutch literature🙂 I hope you’re having a blast at Manuscripta this weekend!

  2. Well done! What did you think of 22 Britannia Road?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sam, I enjoyed it a lot. My review – in Dutch – is *here *so if you really want to know, copy and paste it into Google translate and hope something sensible comes out.🙂

  3. parrish says:

    A great read this month, my own has tailed off a bit, due to the new bike, need to work out some balance or leave it to winter to decide for me🙂

  4. Tesney Ap says:

    I’ve always admired your book of choice though I haven’t had much time to get into them. But this this month, I’ve just ordered the War of the Wives, it sounds really good🙂

  5. I enjoyed War of the Wives so I guess i should be adding Genus to my list too. I love dystopian books (when they are done right) I’ll see if my library has a copy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, *Genus* is absolutely and totally different from *The War of the Wives*, but I think you realise that. I’d say *Genus* is more your kind of book.

  6. oh no, i thought John Saturnall’s Feast by Lawrence Norfolk sounded good. sorry it didn’t work for you.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

