Joining the R. I. P. VII Event

RIP VII

I’m joining R. I. P. VII! That stands for Readers Imbibing Peril. It’s hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings. I joined in last year and it was great fun!

The challenge runs for the next two months, between September 1st and October 31st. Participants should read novels (or watch movies) in the following categories:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

As I’m a fast reader, and I have enough reading material left on the shelves to fulfill the criteria, I will go for the highest level, which is that of Peril the First.

Peril The First

For the Peril the First level, you’re required to read four books that fit the definition of scary. I’m going to read the following:

The Treatment by Mo HayderThe River King by Allice HoffmanThe Mall by S. L. Grey

I’m really looking forward to reading these. Some have been on my shelves for too long, so this is an ideal reason to finally read them!

Over 140 people have signed up for this challenge so far. How about you? You can read 1, 2 or 4 books, or watch one or more scary movies. Isn’t it nice to be scared sometimes?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to Joining the R. I. P. VII Event

  1. Suzanne says:

    Have fun (is that the right word?) with this challenge, Judith. I like a good mystery now and again but I am a wimp and don’t like being scared.

  2. Chinoiseries says:

    It will be the first time that I am participating, and probably for only one or two books. Why is it that so many fun events and challenges are planned for fall? Is it to get together with like-minded people after the summer break?🙂

  3. I remember The River King as being quite good, though sad. I hope you enjoy this challenge.🙂

    http://eclecticbooksandmovies.blogspot.com/

    • Leeswammes says:

      Momto3, I have no idea what to expect with *The River King*. I’ve enjoyed and not enjoyed Alice Hoffman’s books, so we’ll see. I have the feeling this is one of her better ones.

  4. Leslie says:

    I can’t pass up a fun event. I’m doing Peril of the Group read. We’re reading The Little Stranger.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Have fun with the Group Read, Leslie. I read *The Little Stranger* a few years back. Didn’t love it, but most people do, so I hope you have a good time with it.

      • Leslie says:

        I’m glad you said that because I’m not loving it either. I’m a little past the half-way point and I’m still waiting for something creepy or exciting to happen. I like it, but it’s not as fantastic as what I was expecting…. so far, anyway.

      • Leeswammes says:

        That’s a pity, Leslie, but it shows that we have similar tastes once more.

  5. Marie says:

    I’ve decided to participate in this too – the first blogger event I have joined! Looking forward to it.

  6. Carl V. says:

    Welcome back for another edition of RIP!!! Great to see you in with us again. The covers of your choices look darkly, deliciously inviting. Hope you have a great time again this year with whatever you read.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

