BBAW – Day 2: Interview Swap

I’m participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week, which is an event to recognize the hard work and contribution of book bloggers to the promotion and preservation of a literate culture actively engaged in discussing books, authors, and a lifestyle of reading.

The blog post for today is about : Interview Swap
Each blogger was assigned an interview partner and they asked each other questions about blogging and books.

Go to the BBAW hosting site to find links to other blogs taking part in the BBAW. These will also run interview swaps today!



I’m interviewing Teresa of Teresa’s Reading Corner. Her blog contains mainly book reviews about fiction and children’s books. She says about herself: “When I’m not reading, writing about reading, or reading about reading I’m enjoying life with my husband, my two little monkeys and our dog.  I dabble in photography, cooking, and quilting.  I would love to learn how to knit, but haven’t taken the plunge yet.”

Don’t you love the subtitle of her blog? It’s SO true!

Please tell us a bit about yourself.

Teresa of Teresa's Reading CornerLike most book bloggers, I am an avid reader. I’ve loved to read for as long as I can remember. One of my favorite part of summer activities when I was growing up was the Pizza Hut summer reading program that our schools participated in. If you read 10 books you got a free personal pan pizza. Needless to say, I got to eat a lot of pizza.

Do you post anything besides book reviews?
Right now the blog is primarily book reviews, features and giveaways with the occasional Author Spotlight or guest post. I’m currently looking at ways to branch out and add some different elements to my blog, but I haven’t come to any conclusions yet.

How long have you been blogging for?
I have been blogging since February of 2010.

Where do you read?
Anywhere I can! Seriously, I do a lot of my reading over my lunch hour at work or in the evening after my kiddos have gone to bed. I’ve got a big comfy leather chair with an ottoman that I love to snuggle up in and read.

Do you come from a reading family?
As I mentioned before, I grew up reading. My parents and siblings are also avid readers. I was lucky enough to marry into a family of readers as well. My husband and I have a friendly competition going to see who can read the most books. Its a toss up, each one of us has won once since we began. My four year old loves books and is turning into quite the book junkie. The seven month old just likes to be part of story time.

Which 5 books will you be taking with you to a desert island?
This question is always so tough. I don’t even know where to begin to answer. My favorite book is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. It is the one that turned me on to Historical Fiction/ Fantasy. I like to pick up a good chick lit novel to unwind so I think I would take Sarah Jio’s Bungalow. Other than that I’d like to have some diversity and maybe a new to me author. So I would have my husband who likes Science Fiction choose one for me. I’m guessing it would be something by Piers Anthony as that is what he’s reading right now. I’d take Wherever you are, my love will find you by Nancy Tillman to remind me of my boys.

What is your to-read pile like? What is the oldest book in it?
My to read pile is out of control. I’ve got boxes of books that haven’t been unpacked that are yet to be read, as well as shelves all over the house and even a pile or two (but those just haven’t made it to the shelf yet). The book that I consciously think I’ve been meaning to read for awhile is Emma by Jane Austen. I picked it up a couple of years ago when I thought I should read more classics. I just haven’t quite gotten around to it yet.


Thanks for answering my questions, Teresa. How nice that you’re from a reading family! When I was young, my family liked reading, but we didn’t have a lot of books at home. We got loads from the library, though. Your to-read pile sounds even worse than mine!

Check out Teresa’s blog to see what she asked me (and my answers).

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to BBAW – Day 2: Interview Swap

  1. A wonderful interview, it’s such a great way to learn more about other bloggers/blogs.

    Thank-you for sharing.

  2. Wonderful interview!! I am learning so much about fellow bloggers!

    Happy BBAW!! Here is my BBAW: Interview Swap with Emma Cazabonne post.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Nice interview….what fun this week is.

    Have a terrific week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.co

  4. Good to learn a bit more about Teresa!

    “Anywhere I can! Seriously, I do a lot of my reading over my lunch hour at work …” I’m the same way! I carry a tote bag with a book (or books), everywhere I go & I usually spend my lunch hour sitting someplace quiet, reading away!

  5. Thank you so much for visiting with me. I love it when I get the chance to get to know other bloggers a bit better!

  6. bibliosue says:

    A nice interview and a great introduction to a new blog. I too bring a book with me wherever I go … I feel naked without one!

  7. Good interview! I have come across Teresa’s blog yesterday because of the BBAW and i’m glad I stumbled on yours. I write in a children’s book blog. It’s: http://www.storytimebooks.wordpress.com. Feel free to check it out if you’d like. Good to get to know you as well! (I saw your interview on Teresa’s blog.) I’ll be back to see your blog!

  8. alexia561 says:

    Great interview! Outlander is one of those books that I always recommend to people, as it has a little bit of everything!

  9. Chinoiseries says:

    It’s really nice to learn more about our fellow bloggers. And it’s really not so difficult to learn knitting🙂

  10. stacybuckeye says:

    Fun! I’d take Outlander too🙂 Very lucky to have reader family and husband!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

