BBAW – Day 5: The End

I’m participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week, which is an event to recognize the hard work and contribution of book bloggers to the promotion and preservation of a literate culture actively engaged in discussing books, authors, and a lifestyle of reading.

The blog post for today is about : Saying Goodbye for Another Year

BBAW says: “I don’t know about you but I feel like BBAW flew by this year. I hope you were refreshed and reminded of why you love doing what you do!

And that’s what today’s topic is…what did you get out of this week? What will you take with you in the future? I liken it to the end of camp when you say goodbye and exchange addresses and promise to stay in touch!.”

Go to the BBAW hosting site to find links to other blogs taking part in the BBAW. These will also talk about this topic today!


This is the last day of BBAW and it’s time to wrap up and see what the event was like for me:

As always with events like this, I visited fewer blogs than I was planning to. But even so, I met a lot of great bloggers and added some new blogs to my reader (or subscribed by email).

I know I have some new followers too, and I just want to say: welcome!

I got to know some book bloggers a bit more, during Day 2 (Interviews) and it’s always so nice to find out about their hobbies, their reading habits, and their to-read piles.

I also added some new books to my wishlist because of Day 4 (A Book I Love). I’ll have to live to at least 253 (that’s well into the 23rd Century) to read all the books on my wishlist, but hey who knows, it may just happen with all the modern technology.

I was reminded yet again that there is this great book blogging community around the internet, and I was also reminded of its size: it’s so much bigger than I can possibly imagine! And all these people share a love for books. And so, 65-year olds talk with 17 year olds about great books, people in New Zealand talk with people in Mexico about their favorite books, it’s one big family and I’m glad to be part of it.

See you all on the blog or at the next blogging event!


How about you?

Did you participate in BBAW?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to BBAW – Day 5: The End

  1. “I also added some new books to my wishlist …” NO kidding! I can’t get a grip on my wish list (I should say, wish lists!). I will never, ever read all the books that I want to, unless I happen to witn the lottery soon, retire young, and do nothing else (which would be fine by me).

  2. The week went by fast for me too. I wasn’t able to devote as much time early on to blog hopping as I hoped, but I still feel as if I came away with quite a lot. Including more books to add to my wish list. Like Adam, I don’t think I’ll ever read everything I want to read. I imagine every book blogger out there feels the same.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      You know, Feline, I saw your comment and thought “Oh yes, the Literary Feline”. I recognised you as a friend(ly) blogger but then I realised that’s only the case since this week. See, one result of BBAW: we now recognise each other when we come across each other “in the (internet) street”.

  3. joyweesemoll says:

    So many books, so little time. I loved the interview day, too — so fun to get to know a little more about the people behind the book blogs.

  4. Charlie says:

    You worked out an age that would allow you to read your TBR? I know it’s an estimate, but that’s still pretty cool. I love that the Internet has made it possible to communicate with the world in the way it has.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sorry, Charlie, it was just some age I came up with (for a laugh), I didn’t actually check how long it would take to read my TBR. My TBR is “only” 80 books – should take me about 5 or 6 months to read. But I get new books all the time…

      Yes, it’s great how book lovers from all over the world can communicate with each other so easily.

  5. I agree! It’s such a great community to be apart of, especially the aspect of everyone being from different parts of the world. It just shows me that a community like this can connect from anywhere in the world!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Storytimebooks, definitely, the community may be USA dominated, but there are lots of book bloggers elsewhere in the world too. And we’re one big family.🙂

  6. Elizabeth says:

    It was a great week, and it is all about community.

    I found so many great blogs and more wonderful books. This was my first time participating.

    I got to know new bloggers and got to know my old blogger friends even better.

    It is has been a fabulous week. I loved it all.

    Stop by my blog if you like to see my Day 3, 4, and 5 responses if you like.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  7. Laurie C says:

    Loved BBAW! I only posted on Day #1 and Day #5 but I did a LOT of visiting around, and boy, I added way too many blogs to read and books to read and audiobooks to listen to, too!

  8. Alexia561 says:

    I wasn’t able to visit as many blogs as planned either, but am still working my way through the posts. Think I’ll just extend BBAW for another week or two, as I don’t want to miss any of the great posts out there!

  9. Cass says:

    Wish lists are tricky like that. I still own plenty of books that I haven’t read, but that doesn’t stop me from getting more! Ah, the travails of a book lover…😉

  10. Liviania says:

    There really is no way to totally clear out a wishlist.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

