It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read only 2 books this week. San Miguel was a slow read, somehow. Oh, I did read and comment on a beginning author’s manuscript, that took a lot of time too.

Today, I’m shopping with a friend – we’ll be looking for purple and petrol clothes for me… because we’ve worked out that those colors suit me best – they are also my friend’s colors, so I had a rummage through her wardrobe last week to get some ideas. I was amazed by the amount of clothes she has! I have hardly anything (which is why we go shopping) but to be fair, I would happily survive on a rotation of three sets of clothes per season.🙂

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2

San Miguel by T. C. BoyleThe Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith

San Miguel by T. C. Boyle. Historical fiction by one of my favorite authors. Disappointing. 3.5 stars

The Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith. A dystopia story in a future London. Well-written, interesting story. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Treatment by Mo HayderA Hologram for the King by Dave EggersGhostwritten by David Mitchell

.

Reviews

Click on the blue links to see the review

Shelter [review on my Dutch blog] by Frances Greenslade. The life of two sisters is turned upside down when their father dies. Their mother doesn’t know how to cope and abandons them with another couple. 4.5 stars Contemporary Fiction

The Mall by S. L. Grey. A woman out shopping in a South African mall discovers the boy she’s looking after has run off. She forces a bookshop employee to help her find him back and they end up in an alternate mall, where they are characters in a game. 4.5 stars Science Fiction


Shelter by Frances Greenslade
The Mall by S. L. Grey

Also check out

–> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop <—

Don’t forget to put your name down if you’re planning to participate (give books away) in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Details HERE.

And these are the books that I received recently: New Arrivals.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

29 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Lisa says:

    Hi Judith! Just came across your blog for the first time — and I’ll be back to check out more! It looks like we have some overlapping book tastes. I just started The Brides of Rollrock Island by Margo Lanagan, and I plan to start The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling as soon as it arrives (just like everyone else). Happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Welcome on my blog, Lisa.🙂 I haven’t heard of the Lanagan book, but I see that you’ve reviewed Beautiful Ruins, a book that I loved. I’ll check out that review right now. Happy reading this week!

  2. Audrey says:

    I think your review’s just swayed me into adding The Mall to my TBR list. The cover is all really eye-catching. Have a great week!

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    LOl my wardrobe is pretty much black , black and more black🙂 I hope you found some great clothes!

    Enjoy your reading this week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I have some black in my wardrobe but it makes me look very pale. You have a slightly darker complexion than me, I think, so black should work OK for you. I look ill in it under the wrong lighting.🙂

  4. Mystica says:

    I would like to read the Shelter story – sounds really good.

  5. Alice says:

    I’m reading Trilby at the moment, translating the French is a little bit of an issue though.

    Shelter sounds like an interesting read, I look forward to reading how you found it. I find books where siblings have to cope without parents really interesting; just the different ways their personalities can go.

  6. readerbuzz says:

    Wow! A new David Mitchell book. Thank you for sharing this and the other titles you are reading.

    (Petrol, I surmise, is black. Interesting. Think I’ll start telling folks around here that my favorite color is petrol. Let’s see what they say here in Texas!)

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debnance, it’s not a new David Mitchell book, sorry to disappoint you. It’s one I haven’t read yet (and I’ve loved all his other books) so it’s about time.

      Petrol actually is a kind of blue.🙂

  7. I look forward to your review of The Miracle Inspector, it’s always good to have spec fic set a bit closer to home – the differences make more of an impact when the location is recognisable.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It was a really fun spec fic, Ellie. I also like it when it’s close to home and in a time not too far in the future. In this case, it *could* happen for real but it’s probably quite unlikely.

  8. Ooh, shopping…sometimes it’s fun, and other times, not so much. I love purple…but I also have a lot of black and red.

    Shelter looks like a tempting read. Enjoy your week. Last week, one of my books took up way too much time. It was a biography and dense with facts.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-Rain, I really don’t like it when I’m stuck in the same book for too long. In this case, the book started off fine but in the end, I wasn’t very interested anymore. Such a pity.

      I bought some purple and pink tops and a grey cardigan to go over it. Looks really nice. And skinny jeans which are pretty miraculous given that I’m not skinny myself – but with these jeans on, you’d almost think so.🙂

  9. Sam @ The Little Munchkin Reader says:

    Some interesting covers🙂

  10. I say reading two books in a week is pretty good! After all, we have to make time for other things in life…like shopping! Enjoy your day out at the stores.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laura, I usually read 3 or 4 books in a week. Yeah, I know!🙂

      The shopping was good fun. I’ve got some nice things – need to buy a few accessories now.

  11. Tesney Ap says:

    I don’t have time to read now a day because it’s close to the moving day, but I’m excited to read your upcoming reviews🙂

  12. I hope you have a great day of shopping🙂 That can be fun..or it can be a drag, depending! Enjoy your upcoming reads…I’m off to read your reviews

    • Leeswammes says:

      It was good fun, out shopping (I’m in the Netherlands, it’s later here, so I’m back already) – I bought some good things – my friend was very helpful without being pushy. She made me try things that I wasn’t sure about, and that really helped.

  13. I have Shelter to read too. I am looking forward to it.

  14. Stephanie says:

    These all sound very intriguing. i think I’d be particularly interested in The Miracle Inspector.

  15. Chinoiseries says:

    Did you succeed in buying a new wardrobe? Or at least three sets of clothing?😉 The Mo Hayder book looks like a quick, fun read for the dark evenings…

    • Leeswammes says:

      I bought a few new clothes: some jeans, two T-shirts with long sleeves, a long cardigan (that you can’t fasten) and a jacket. Need a few more things, but it’s a good start.

      Yes, the Mo Hayder book was a very quick and fun read – I finished already.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

