Bloggiesta: Starting Day 2 #bloggiesta

BloggiestaBloggiesta is organised by Suey from It’s All About Books and 1st Daughter of There’s A Book. Bloggiesta is an online event for (book) bloggers in which we are encouraged to spend the next three days working on our blog in any way we see necessary. We Plan, Edit, Develop, Review and Organise – no wonder our mascot is called PEDRO! Olé!

I’ve got two blogs and will do some work on each: Leeswammes (LW) – which is my English-language Book blog and De Boekblogger (BB) – which is my Dutch-language book blog. Actually, I use Bloggiesta to work on anything related to books, reading, and reviewing, so some of the things I’ll be doing this weekend are not directly related to the blogs.

Here’s what I did the first day (Friday)

  • Back-up blog (LW, BB). In WordPress, go to Dashboard, Tools, Export, choose All (first option).
  • Add links in reviews, to reviews by same author (LW, BB)
  • Update ereader with Netgalley ebooks for October
  • Do at least 5 mini-challenges / old mini-challenges(LW, BB)1. Photo challenge. Rikki’s challenge introduced me to PicMonkey, which I used to change this photograph of Carlos Ruiz Zafón being interviewed into this:

  • 2. Grade Yourself from Smash Attack Reads. I checked both my Leeswammes blog (grade 90) and my Boekblogger blog (grade 87). I was happy with those grades, and it turns out that my main issue is that blog posts don’t get shared in Facebook (except when initially published). There is only a Like button under my posts, and I don’t think I could get a Share button. I’m not sure how to proceed there. UPDATE: I did play around with it in the settings of my wordpress blog and manage to get a Facebook share button on my blog posts!
    I was a bit miffed that it couldn’t find my klout score (and acted as if it was 0, while my actual klout score is a decent 49).
  • Update Reviews page with links (LW, BB) – Done for BB, almost done for LW
  • Shelfari – Update reviews.
  • Finish the book by Eggers

Write posts:

  • 1st Hoofdstukken (BB) Decided not to do this, too boring. Blogging is a hobby.
  • New books (BB)

Still to do

Meanwhile, I have done some of these things (on Saturday). They are marked ****

Small, quick items:

  • Update challenges (tab and pages) (LW) ****
  • Shelfari – update books from bookswap ****
  • Make a list in Word of books I got this year (for next year’s challenge)
  • Email clearout (JH & LW)  ****

Items taking more time:

  • Do at least 2 more mini-challenges / old mini-challenges (LW, BB)  **** I started Bookjourney’s challenge and went to 5 blogs that I don’t know. To finish the challenge, I need to do 5 more.
  • Look into copyright (LW)
  • Update Reviews page with links (LW) ****
  • Update tabs (LW,BB)
  • Work out how many RSS subscribers I have **** I know this now, and including email subscribers, I have a grand total of 622 subecribers to my Leeswammes blog! Thanks everyone, that is so great!
  • Pinterest – make a page with favorite books
  • Check out tweetchat and tweetdesk
  • Finish the books by Dorrestein and Gayle

Write posts:

  • New books (LW) ****
  • Review The Miracle Inspector (LW) ****
  • Review Mitchell (LW) ****
  • Review Hayder (LW)
  • September overview (LW)
  • Review Cornelisse (BB)
  • Review The Invisible Ones (LW)
  • Translate some of the BB posts in LW (Shelter, Hope)
  • Ditjes & Datjes (BB)
  • New Books 2 (BB)

Part of the fun of Bloggiesta is connecting with other bloggers so I expect to spend some amount of time tweeting (#bloggiesta) and reading other people’s posts and commenting.

Good luck to everybody who is taking part. If you’re on Twitter, use the hashtag #bloggiesta to keep in touch with other participants. I am @leeswammes.

Could your blog use some extra work?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Bloggiesta: Starting Day 2 #bloggiesta

  1. Uniflame says:

    Wow, you did so much already! Awesome!

  2. Suzanne says:

    I am always amazed at how productive you are, Judith.

  3. Rikki says:

    Well done on the photo, Judith, it looks much better cropped and with rounded corners.
    I did that wenbsite grader just for fun and it was quite interesting! Funnily, I DID find my klout score (39) and I don’t even know how it came about. Never been on klout, but it seems to do something with me anyway,🙂.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, the klout score is a score that looks at your use and influence on social media (twitter, blogging, facebook, etc.). I guess it’s calculated for everyone, whether you care about it or not.🙂

      I also liked the website grader and did eventually work out (well, more luck than anything else) how to get a facebook share button on my blogposts. So, please share a post of mine some time!

  4. You are making progress! I will not get into really until after tonight and tomorrow I will really work hard😉

  5. You got so much done! I noticed my “grade” missed out on some things I know are there..like Klout. I wonder if maybe it looks for the klout score on your actual page instead of on the Klout page…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks Amanda. I’ve been working hard – and should update this post again with today’s achievements. I have no idea where the Klout information comes from but it was a pity that it had been left out.

  6. You have some busy weekend. I think bloggiesta is great fun, although I don’t blog anymore. There are some things everyone can use, blogger or not. The picture looks great, by the way.
    Have fun, Judith!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

