Bloggiesta: Final Post #bloggiesta

BloggiestaBloggiesta is organised by Suey from It’s All About Books and 1st Daughter of There’s A Book. Bloggiesta is an online event for (book) bloggers in which we are encouraged to spend the Friday and weekend working on our blog in any way we see necessary. We Plan, Edit, Develop, Review and Organise – no wonder our mascot is called PEDRO! Olé!

I’ve got two blogs and worked on each: Leeswammes (LW) – which is my English-language Book blog and De Boekblogger (BB) – which is my Dutch-language book blog.

Here’s what I did

  • Back-up blog (LW, BB). In WordPress, go to Dashboard, Tools, Export, choose All (first option).
  • Add links in reviews, to reviews by same author (LW, BB)
  • Update ereader with Netgalley ebooks for October
  • Update tabs (LW,BB) – Done this partially
  • Pinterest – make a page with favorite books – http://pinterest.com/leeswammes/favorite-books/
  • Check out tweetchat and tweetdesk – Installed/used both and will continue to use this
  • Finish the books by Dorrestein, Eggers, and Gayle –  I have been reading too!
  • Do at least 5 mini-challenges / old mini-challenges(LW, BB)
    1. Photo challenge. Rikki’s challenge introduced me to PicMonkey, which I used to change this photograph of Carlos Ruiz Zafón being interviewed into this:


2. Grade Yourself from Smash Attack Reads. I checked both my Leeswammes blog (grade 90) and my Boekblogger blog (grade 87). I was happy with those grades, and it turns out that my main issue is that blog posts don’t get shared in Facebook (except when initially published). There is only a Like button under my posts, and I don’t think I could get a Share button. I’m not sure how to proceed there. UPDATE: I did play around with it in the settings of my wordpress blog and manage to get a Facebook share button on my blog posts!
I was a bit miffed that it couldn’t find my klout score (and acted as if it was 0, while my actual klout score is a decent 49).
3. I did Bookjourney’s challenge and went to 10 blogs that I didn’t know
4. I did Joy’s Pinterest challenge and made a Pinterest page with my favorite books
5. I did Bluestocking’s challenge to revitalize old content

  • Update Reviews page with links (LW, BB)
  • Shelfari – Update reviews.
  • Update challenges (tab and pages) (LW)
  • Shelfari – update books from bookswap
  • Email clearout (JH & LW)
  • Work out how many RSS subscribers I have; I know this now, and including email subscribers, I have a grand total of 622 subscribers to my Leeswammes blog! Thanks everyone, that is so great!
  • I took part in the Twitterchat on Saturday. This was great fun!

Write posts:

  • New books (BB)
  • New books (LW)
  • Review The Miracle Inspector (LW)
  • Review Mitchell (LW)
  • Review Hayder (LW)

What I Didn’t Do

Small, quick items:

  • Make a list in Word of books I got this year (for next year’s challenge) – but hey, there’s time enough!

Items taking more time:

Write posts:

  • September overview (LW)
  • Review Cornelisse (BB)
  • Review The Invisible Ones (LW)
  • Translate some of the BB posts in LW (Shelter, Hope)
  • Ditjes & Datjes (BB)
  • New Books 2 (BB)
  • 1st Hoofdstukken (BB) Decided not to do this, too boring. Blogging is a hobby.

As you can see, I got quite a bit done and I’m happy with the result of these 3 days. Thanks to the organisers for another successful  Bloggiesta!

I hope everyone who took part had a great time and managed to get a long way down their to-do list.

Did you work on your blog this weekend?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Bloggiesta: Final Post #bloggiesta

  1. I think you accomplished a lot, Judith. You must be feeling good. Congratulations!

  2. Charlie says:

    Well done! And from my own recent experience of doing it, especially well done on the adding other reviews to older posts. It takes so much time!

  3. Uniflame says:

    It was much fun, wasn’t it?🙂 You got a lot done!

  4. Kelsey says:

    It’s a lot to do so much in 3 days, but you did great with your goals! I hope you had lots of fun too!

  5. Wow, you managed to accomplish tons this weekend! I need to back-up my blog, especially after this weekend and all the updating I’ve done!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hollie, backing up your blog should be really easy – you just have to know how to do it. (Sorry, I’m on WordPress so I can’t help). I think there is a mini-challenge on backing up somewhere.

  6. Julie says:

    You did great, and now you’ve given me more ideas of things I want to go back and do myself!

  7. Chinoiseries says:

    Judith, I don’t think I’ve seen any other blogger who got so much done during Bloggiesta @__@ You accomplished a great deal! Very inspiring actually🙂 Especially because you have two blogs to think about.

    I did the Smash challenge as well, my score was 87, my main issues that I didn’t use Google Analytics, Klout (score was also 0, some connection is not working apparently?) and unoriginal post titles (lol).

    Did you ever figure out the colour scheme options in Tweetdeck?

  8. Nish says:

    OMG!!! I am exhausted just reading through what you got done. Congratulations. You must feel good to have got all that blog work out of the way for now.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

