Weekly Reading Roundup

Remember I told you last week I was going shopping with a friend? We had a great time out in Utrecht and I bought several new things for my wardrobe. Now I need shoes/boots!

One evening I went out with the volunteers at the school library (where I just started this term) and had a nice evening out. We had a tour through the former town hall, which was initially built in 1535. As I love visiting old buildings, this was really nice. Then we had drinks and talked about our experiences as library assistants.🙂

I took part in Blogfest this weekend, giving away one of my favorite books. This is a big, big, giveaway blog hop. I had some fun with this, but was annoyed by the number of authors that jump on the hop giving away just their own ebook (sometimes you even have to subscribe to their blog in order to qualify). I found that a bit… cheap (sorry, if any of you are authors – I know you are just trying to promote your books, but we book bloggers don’t get paid for anything and we still give away books for free out of our own pocket). My minor irritation for the weekend!

BloggiestaI also took part in Bloggiesta which was a wonderful event! I got lots of work done on my blog and on other things related to blogging and reading. And the community aspect is a big draw too. I loved the Twitter chat that I did on Saturday, with maybe 40 others. HERE you can see what I got done.

This week I hope to go to a press showing of a new movie that features books and reading. If I do, I’ll tell you about it next week (with details). It would be my first press-something, so it’s pretty exciting (I just need final confirmation about it).

I hope you all have a good week – let me know what you’re reading, too!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4 + 1 DNF

The Treatment by Mo HayderA Hologram for the King by Dave EggersGhostwritten by David MitchellHet perpetuum mobile van de liefde by Renate DorresteinMy Legendary Girlfriend by Mike Gayle

The Treatment by Mo Hayder. A good thriller about a man kidnapping a whole family. A police investigator gets confronted with issues from his past relating to the disappearance of his own brother. A very good read. 5 stars

A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers. A quick and fun read about an American man who is to pitch his company’s invention to the King of Saudi Arabia. He and his colleagues spend days on end in a tent in the dessert hoping for the king to show up. 5 stars

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell (DNF). I love David Mitchell’s books…. but not this one. It’s a collection of interlinked stories, but the links weren’t strong enough for me. And I don’t tend to like short stories. After 130 pages I had to give up.

Het perpetuum mobile van de liefde [The Perpetuum Mobile of Love] by Renate Dorrestein. A feministic kind of memoir about the author and the suicide of her sister. About the role that women are forced to play. I found it tedious in places. Another favorite writer who didn’t live up to my expectations. Still, it had some good bits. 3 stars

My Legendary Girlfriend by Mike Gayle. A quick and fun lad-lit about a young teacher who, at 27, is still trying to come to terms with the fact that his girlfriend left him 3 years ago. Over the course of a weekend, things change rapidly and almost surrealistically. 5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Round House by Louise ErdrichThe Housemaid's Daughter by Barbara Mutch

.

Reviews

Click on the blue links to see the review

San Miguel by T. C. Boyle  Historical fiction by one of my favorite authors. Disappointing. 3.5 stars

Choose the Life You Want by Tal Ben-Shahar. Self-help about making choices in your life. 4 stars

San Miguel by T. C. BoyleChoose the Life You Want by Tal Ben-Shahar

Also check out

–> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop <— (Sign ups)

Don’t forget to put your name down if you’re planning to participate (give books away) in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Details HERE.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Marieke says:

    I think David Mitchell gets better and better with every book he writes, don’t you? Number9dream also wasn’t as great as his later books like Cloud Atlas or The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (I really loved this last book). I never read Ghostwritten and I don’t think I ever will.

  2. You had a great week! I think it shows courage to put down a book.
    I’m reading The Casual Vacancy at the moment. Not really having fun (it’s not a ‘fun’ book) so have also picked up Better than Chocolate and Underground London.

  3. susanbright says:

    Sounds like you have been busy. I attended the Baltimore Book Festival..a wonderful event. I just started reading IQ84. I still have no idea what it is about or how to describe it, but it is getting very interesting!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I love book festivals, Susan – wonderful! I would love to read 1Q84 but I need to make time for it. I’m curious about it, especially since I love Murakami’s books.

  4. JoV says:

    You have a wonderful and productive weekend Judith. Glad you get lots done! I love Ghostwritten but as you said it can get infuriating because there are so many short stories that doesn’t seem to be connected to one another. Don’t give up on David Mitchell though.

  5. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Such a busy week for you! Your night out sounds lovely and it sounds like you will have the perfect thing to wear at your first movie premiere! Congrats on achieving so much through Bloggiesta as well!

  6. Chinoiseries says:

    Seems like you had a great week, Judith🙂 Is that a purple blazer? Love the colour! So the Bloggiesta group chat worked? Good to hear🙂

    I used to like Renate Dorrestein back in high school, but I haven’t read a book by her in years. *Notes down project for 2013*

    This week I’ll be finishing Under the Poppy (still feeling very divided about it, though I agree with Adam’s review on many points) and reading a big chunk of Gone with the Wind.

  7. Leslie says:

    I didn’t get much done for Bloggiesta this year, too many other things scheduled last weekend. I did the twitter chat last year and it was great. I need to be a better twitterer and check in more often.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I think Twitter works best if you make a habit of it. But only if you think you want to, of course. There is no particular need to use it. I enjoy it, so I do, but it does take extra time – for instance, people share links which are then interesting to look at, etc.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

