September Overview

There were way too many books on my reading pile for September, but I read most of them. I had to put aside two books and I hope to read in the next few months, and one book I didn’t finish. I read 15 books and most of them were good fun, too! I think I’m getting better and better at choosing books that I’ll enjoy.

Books that stood out:

It’s hard to say! I read a lot of good books, and they were good for different reasons: A Hologram for the King was a fun and easy read, and that’s also true for My Legendary GirlfriendThe Treatment was a really good thriller (edge of seat kind) while The Orchardist was very atmospheric and very well written. What I Did was a book with a heavy topic that made me angry, and both The Miracle Inspector and The Mall were clever futuristic stories.

I can’t choose! I had a good month.

This is what I read

A Hologram for the King by Dave EggersMy Legendary Girlfriend by Mike GayleThe Treatment by Mo HayderThe Orchardist by Amanda CoplinWhat I Did by Christopher WaklingThe Miracle Inspector by Helen SmithThe Mall by S. L. Grey
Nocturnes by Kazuo IshiguroChoose the Life You Want by Tal Ben-ShaharSan Miguel by T. C. BoyleTriburbia by Karl Taro GreenfieldGhostwritten by David Mitchell

Click on the blue links to go to the review

A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers. 5 stars

My Legendary Girlfriend by Mike Gayle. 5 stars

The Treatment by Mo Hayder. 5 stars

The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin. 4.5 stars

What I Did by Christopher Wakling. 4.5 stars

The Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith. 4.5 stars

The Mall by S. L. Grey. 4.5 stars

Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro. 4 stars

Choose the Life You Want by Tal Ben-Shahar. 4 stars

San Miguel by T. C. Boyle. 3.5 stars

Triburbia by Karl Taro Greenfeld. 3.5 stars

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell (DNF)

***

Dutch blog:

Anne Frank leeft en woont op zolder by Shalom AuslanderDe urenfabriek [The Hour Factory] by Fleur BrockhusSchuilplaats by Frances GreensladeHet perpetuum mobile van de liefde by Renate Dorrestein

Anne Frank leeft en woont op zolder [Hope: A Tragedy] by Shalom Auslander. 4.5 stars

De urenfabriek [TheHour Facory] by Fleur Brockhus. 4.5 stars

Schuilplaats [Shelter] by Frances Greenslade. 3.5 stars

De perpetuum mobile van de liefde [The Perpetuum Mobile of Love] by Renate Dorrestein 3 stars

.

What was YOUR favorite book in September?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to September Overview

  1. It seems like you had a great month again, Judith. I have The Hologram for a King on my wishlist, and The Mall is waiting on my e-reader.
    Enjoy your reading!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      The Hologram for the King is a fun read, Nadine. Quite light really – not as literary as Zeitoun (which I thought was very well written for a non-fiction book).

  2. parrish lantern says:

    A large quantity of reading material here, Dave Eggers is someone I keep meaning to read but haven’t yet managed it, Ishiguro I like & others I have no knowledge of, in all a great list. My own reading has slowed considerably, mainly due to the bike taking precedence over other forms of transport & play. Now it’s getting darker & remaining so longer that may change.

  3. Chinoiseries says:

    Fifteen books read! And only one DNF, that’s a pretty good tally for September🙂 As for Nocturnes, I think I rated it a bit lower than you😉 It just didn’t appeal to me much.

  4. You had a great month Judith. Looking forward to trying San Miguel and The Orchardist.

  5. bibliosue says:

    As you are reading more books, I seem to be reading less. I’m impressed with your quantity and more importantly the quality of what you’ve read.

  6. Charlie says:

    A lot of books there! I’m glad you wrote about Mall, I’m looking forward to getting to it sometime because of what you said about it. I’d say my favourite of last month was J R Crook’s Sleeping Patterns.

  7. trish422 says:

    I can feel your enthusiasm in this post. Obviously you had a great reading month.

  8. Wow, they look like great books! I need to read more like you! Kind of hard though when I work full-time and then I review children’s picture books, haha. I think I need to add by reading something “for me” once in a while🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Storytime, I don’t work so I do my chores during the day and have time to read in the evenings (and at lunch and coffeebreaks).

      You should read more books just for yourself, though!

  9. JoV says:

    You have a very very good month Judith.. oh how I wish I could read like you! Thanks for introducing me to The Hologram for the King. I thought I know all Dave Eggers’ books title but apparently this one I don’t know until you tell me now!

  10. Tony says:

    Whaaat? You didn’t finish ‘Ghostwritten’? There is no hope for you😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tony, I know! I’m hopeless. I never thought I wouldn’t enjoy *Ghostwritten*, so I tried for 130 pages. But there is a time when a book needs to be put aside if it’s really not engaging (I think, at least).

  11. Susanbright says:

    Favorite book for September…Gone Girl. A real page turner..just what I needed!

  12. I’m always envious of how much you manage to read! I’m trying to think which book was my favourite in September…possibly Call the Midwife.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

