It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

It wasn’t a particularly eventful week last week, and still I only read 2 books (and skim-read two more). I edited some chapters of a novel for a Dutch writer (I guess I’m a professional editor now – I just need more customers!), and helped out at the library at school.

One morning I went to Amsterdam to see a press showing of a new movie, Dans la Maison [In the House], which was a fun experience as well as a very good movie.

The movie: It’s about a teacher who becomes obsessed with the short stories of one of his pupils, who writes about his visits to the house of a fellow pupil. Soon, you don’t know what is true anymore, and the teacher’s personal life is affected too. I’m sure my book group would love this movie!

The experience: From the tram, walk with a typical journalist (short, black (possibly leather) coat, and reporter’s bag) to the cinema’s entrance. As it’s 10.30am, the doors are closed. Ring the bell, and a silent man lets you in. You and the reporter decide to sit down in the cinema’s café where you are offered a cup of coffee. You talk a bit. He’s from a major Dutch newspaper (you actually subscribe to it!). More journalists arrive. You speak to a woman who writes for a movie blog. When you see people leaving the coffee bar area, you follow and find yourself in a small auditorium, 100 seats or so. There are about 15 journalists in total. Without warning, the movie starts. Afterwards, you leave the building with Miss Movie Blog, having not seen anyone from the organisation, not received any folder material, nothing. It’s been a mysterious experience, just like the movie was.

***

You know how you should be careful what you ask for?🙂 I entered and then won a competition to go to a 50 Shades night, where several tv personalities will discuss the Fifty Shades of Grey books and especially whether they are the new Lady Chatterly’s Lover or just highly popular Mills & Boon (Harlequin)-type books. I think I know the answer, but it will be fun to hear what they have to say. This is open to anyone, but I won tickets, so now I’ll definitely go. My husband, bless his soul, is prepared to tag along, even though I warned him he may be one of the very few men there. Anyway, it should be a fun night out, as we’ll have dinner beforehand in an Italian restaurant.

***

This week: It’s the Readathon next weekend! You can’t imagine how much I’m looking forward to it. I love readathons!! I’ve got my list of books ready. Don’t know what it is? Check it out here. It’s an excuse to read for 24 hours (or for as long as you last) and connect up with over 300 readers from around the world who are also taking part.

I’ll be preparing for NaNoWriMo, which is National Novel Writing Month, in November, but actually is totally international these days. The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel within one month, with support from other NaNos. You can’t start writing until November 1st, but you can prepare, which is what I’m doing now. I’m Leeswammes there, so connect up with me if you like.

I’m also going to edit a few chapters for a blogging friend and there is a book group meeting later on in the week (we’re reading The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce).

I hope you all have a good week – let me know what you’re reading, too!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2 + 2 skip-read

The Round House by Louise ErdrichThe Housemaid's Daughter by Barbara Mutch

The Round House by Louise Erdrich. On an Indian reservation, a 13 year old boy researches the vicious attack on his mother. The experience makes him grow up rapidly as he becomes involved in things way beyond his years. 4 stars

The Housemaid’s Daughter by Barbara Mutch. A South-African housemaid experiences apartheid from the start and suffers a great deal under the regime. 4 stars

I also skim-read the 2nd and 3rd book in the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. The first book I read a while ago. Since I’m visiting the 50 Shades event tonight, I spent the weekend reading the other two books, but skipped a lot. I think I got most of the plots, which isn’t hard with such an easy read. I could not have done this with literary fiction, where every single sentence may be important.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold FryThe River King by Allice Hoffman

.

Reviews

Click on the blue links to see the review

A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers. A quick and fun read about an American man who is to pitch his company’s invention to the King of Saudi Arabia. He and his colleagues spend days on end in a tent in the dessert hoping for the king to show up. 5 stars

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell (DNF). I love David Mitchell’s books…. but not this one. It’s a collection of interlinked stories, but the links weren’t strong enough for me. And I don’t tend to like short stories. After 130 pages I had to give up.

The Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith.  A dystopia story in a future London. Well-written, interesting story. 4.5 stars

 

A Hologram for the King by Dave EggersGhostwritten by David MitchellThe Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith

.

Also check out

–> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop <— (Sign ups)

Don’t forget to put your name down if you’re planning to participate (give books away) in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Details HERE.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

29 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have started with Miss Peregrine’s House for Peculiar Children.

  2. Joanna says:

    Goodness Judith! You have been busy. I still haven’t read any David mitchell and have heard some good things. Have a lovely week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Joanna, you should really try David Mitchell! I very surprised you haven’t yet. I guess you fall in the group of people that I’d think would have read his books. So, that means you should!🙂

  3. Charlie says:

    I guess you’re considered part of the media now🙂 Kudos to you for deciding to go to the 50 Shades night (eek!), it’d be great to hear about it though.

  4. Mystica says:

    A really full week! enjoy this week as well

  5. Tesney Ap says:

    You have a very productive week, Judith🙂 The NaNoWriMo seems exciting!

  6. 50 Shades night! Well well, that should be interesting!

  7. Good luck with NaNoWriMo…I did it a couple of years ago, and afterwards, I fleshed out and continued with the novel until now it’s pretty much ready to go.

    I’m curious about 50 Shades Night, too. I’ll be watching for your thoughts.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel, well done for continuing on your NaNo novel! Mine last year wasn’t very good. I was too focussed on getting enough words and the quality suffered. Still, it was a good exercise.

  8. bibliosue says:

    I’m still not on the 50 Shades bandwagon, but the evening you describe sounds interesting and something I think I would enjoy.
    I hope you enjoy Harold Fry!

  9. Looks like a great week — love the description of the movie preview experience.

  10. Lol – I hope your husband knows what he’s getting into going to a 50 Shades night🙂

  11. I’m so super jealous of your 50 Shades night!!! I would drag my hubs with me too…hotness!

    If you’d like to stop by, here’s what I’m reading this week.

    xo,
    JL

  12. I have been curious about “Harold Fry”! Looking forward to reading your review.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kristin, Harold Fry is fun! He’s so English. And stubborn. He keeps walking even when his feet are almost ruined from all the walking. But he gets help from lots of lovely people along the way and that makes the story so heart warming.

  13. Loved Harold Fry and can’t wait to read Round House.

  14. Congratulations on finding your footing as a professional editor! Dans La Maison sounds very interesting — I’m guessing I’d really like that film.

    http://eclecticbooksandmovies.blogspot.com

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

