New Arrivals!

While I really try to keep the number of books entering my house to a minimum, that minimum seems to have increased to rather high numbers! I’m am innocent! I really don’t know how it happens! Why it matters? It matters because I like a to-read shelf that is manageable, that I can read within a reasonable timespan. Before I started blogging, I never had more than two weeks’ worth of reading on my shelves. Later, I could still finish my to-read books within two months easily. But now? Six months minimum!  

There are two kinds of people, I believe: one who like a library of their own that they can choose from and another that wants to read all the books they own as soon as possible. I’m in the second group. So here are the new additions to the shelf:

For review

Forgotten by Catherine McKenzie

Forgotten by Catherine McKenzie

I got this book for review from William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins. I read the first book by Catherine McKenzie, Spin, enjoyed it a lot, after which I happily read her second book, Arranged. And so, in a little more than half a year, I’m reading the third book by this author! I read it during the readathon and loved it! 

What the publisher says: “Emma Tupper is a dedicated lawyer with a bright future. But when she takes a month-long leave of absence to go on an African vacation, she ends up facing unexpected consequences. After she falls ill and spends six months trapped in a remote village thanks to a devastating earthquake, Emma returns home to discover that her friends, boyfriend, and colleagues thought she was dead—and that her life has moved on without her.

As she struggles to re-create her old life, throwing herself into solving a big case for a client and trying to reclaim her beloved apartment from the handsome photographer who assumed her lease, everyone around her thinks she should take the opportunity to change. But is she willing to sacrifice her job, her relationships, and everything else she worked so hard to build?”

***

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

I got this book for review from William Morrow, too. I liked the premise of this book, especially Jason’s facebook status!

From the publisher: “Jason Priestley (no, not that Jason Priestley) is in a rut. He gave up his teaching job to write snarky reviews of cheap restaurants for the free newspaper you take but don’t read. He lives above a video-game store, between a Polish newsstand and that place that everyone thinks is a brothel but isn’t. His most recent Facebook status is “Jason Priestley is . . . eating soup.” Jason’s beginning to think he needs a change.

So he uncharacteristically moves to help a girl on the street who’s struggling with an armload of packages, and she smiles an incredible smile at him before her cab pulls away. What for a fleeting moment felt like a beginning is cruelly cut short—until Jason realizes that he’s been left holding a disposable camera. And suddenly, with prodding and an almost certainly disastrous offer of assistance from his socially inept best friend Dev, a coincidence-based, half-joking idea—What if he could track this girl down based on the photos in her camera?—morphs into a full-fledged quest to find the woman of Jason’s dreams.”

***

Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos

Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos

Another book from review from William Morrow. I very much enjoyed Love Walked In by the same author so I am interested in this new book, a story about friendship.

From the publisher: “It’s been six years since Pen Calloway watched Cat and Will, her best friends from college, walk out of her life. Through the birth of her daughter, the death of her father, and the vicissitudes of single motherhood, she has never stopped missing them. When, after years of silence, Cat—the bewitching, charismatic center of their group—urgently requests that the three meet at their college reunion, Pen can’t refuse.

But instead of a happy reconciliation, what awaits is a collision of past and present that sends Pen and Will on a journey around the world, with Pen’s five-year-old daughter and Cat’s hostile husband in tow. And as Pen and Will struggle to uncover the truth about Cat, they find more than they bargained for: startling truths about who they were before and who they are now.”

***

Books I won

The Little Shadows by Marina Endicott

The Little Shadows by Marina Endicott

After reading the brilliant Good to a Fault, I was very pleased to win this book from Randomhouse on Facebook.

From the publishers: “MARINA ENDICOTT PRESENTS: THE THREE GRACEFUL AVERY GIRLS; THE SISTER ACT TO TAKE VAUDEVILLE BY STORM;  STARRING: AURORA, CLOVER and BELLA

As they set off on the road to fame and fortune, the Avery sisters join a cast of extraordinary and unforgettable characters – charming charlatans, unpredictable eccentrics, and some who seem ordinary but have magical gifts. Taking us behind the curtain and into their lives, The Little Shadows reveals how the art of vaudeville – in all its variety, madness, melodrama, hilarity and sorrow – echoes the art of life itself.”

***

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) by Joanne Harris

Peaches for Monsieur le Caré by Joanne Harris

I have read both other books in the Chocolat series and loved them. I won this 3rd instalment from a Dutch website, ze.nl.

From the publishers: “When Vianne Rocher receives a letter from beyond the grave, she has no choice but to follow the wind that blows her back to Lansquenet, the village in south-west France where, eight years ago, she opened up a chocolate shop.

But Vianne is completely unprepared for what she finds there. Women veiled in black, the scent of spices and peppermint tea, and there, on the bank of the river Tannes, facing the square little tower of the church of Saint-Jerôme like a piece on a chessboard – slender, bone-white and crowned with a silver crescent moon – a minaret.

Nor is it only the incomers from North Africa that have brought big changes to the community. Father Reynaud, Vianne’s erstwhile adversary, is now disgraced and under threat. Could it be that Vianne is the only one who can save him?”

***

Eternity by Maggie JaimesonUndertones by Maggie JaimesonHealing Notes by Maggie Jaimeson

EternityUndertones, and Healing Notes by Maggie Jaimeson (ebooks)

Many moons ago I won Eternity but the author forgot to send it to me. When she finally did, she generously included two more books. They are not quite my normal genre but I’ll give them a go when I want to try something different. 

From the author’s website:

Eternity: “…futuristic romantic suspense. Living 800 years is like the fountain of youth for some…and for others it’s worse than a death sentence.”

Undertones: “…romantic women’s fiction. Balancing a career and a relationship is never easy, and it’s even harder when you are on the road and everyone wants a piece of you.”

Healing Notes: “…romantic women’s fiction. Forgiving yourself is the first step, but helping others forgive may be just too hard.”

***

Real.Life.Photography by Rebecca Cooper

Life. Photography. by Rebecca Cooper (ebook)

A few weeks ago it was Bloggiesta and I participated (loving every moment!). I took part in a mini-challenge about photo editing at Rikki’s blog, and I won a book! It will be very useful as I am keen to develop my photo-taking skills, what with owning a blog and going to bookish events.

From the publishers: “In 70 pages of photo fabulousness, pro photographer Rebecca Cooper shares her best insider tricks for taking amazing photos in all kinds of real-life situations. You’ll learn how to take the best possible photo in the first place as well as how to use a few simple editing tools to add an extra dose of magic to your everyday moments.

Illustrated by 127 real-life photos, this life-changing eBook is organized into six useful chapters, including: Photographing Real Life, Using Real Light, Capturing Real Relationships, Practicing Real Patience, Enhancing Real Photos, and Checklists for Real Life.”

***

 Which of these books have you read?

Is there one that peaked your interest?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Mystica says:

    Any books which caught my eye! well the Mackenzie one for sure and definitely Charlotte Street for starters!

  2. Uniflame says:

    I borrowed Chocolat from the library. I have not read it yet, but I hope I will enjoy it🙂 Forgotten and falling together sound very interesting🙂

  3. Charlie says:

    I’m in that second group too, you want to read the books you own so you can add more afterwards. The Harris interests me because I want to read Chocolat but didn’t know there was a series. Charlotte Street sounds really good.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, you should try *Chocolat*! I loved that book. It’s been out for a long time now and I’m so glad Harris wrote a third book in the series.

  4. As always, almost all of these books look good, Judith. And as always, I’ll wait for your reviews.🙂

  5. I would just like to say that having full bookshelves is good for the heating bill: they isolate the walls, keeping us nice and warm but they also keep our minds happy and warm, because we get to read!

  6. therelentlessreader says:

    Nice stack of new books, yay! I’m like you, in that I like to read the books I have asap🙂

  7. Marie says:

    I really like the premise of Forgotten and quite fancy having a look at Charlotte Street too, because I find Danny Wallace’s newspaper column quite amusing. I read Chocolat a while back but only recently realise that it had sequels!

  8. Shan says:

    I haven’t read any of those, but Charlotte Street looks fantastic, I’m going to have to look for it.

  9. roxxy84 says:

    A few years ago I thought it would be fun to have a library in my new house, with lots of books. I wanted to keep them all. Right now i only keep the ones that I would read again. Such as series or classics. The others i have sold or I give them to someone else, or trade them for another book. I just don’t have enough space to keep all the books that I am reading.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Roxanne, I’m talking about a library of read *and unread* books. So, that’s just collecting books without any immediate plans to read them.

      I would love to have lots of books in the house (that I *have* read!) but really it’s a bit silly to own lots of books that you’ll never read again. I also just keep the books that are more special to me, that I might want to re-read.

  10. Chinoiseries says:

    That’s a very diverse pile of books entering your home this week, Judith🙂 Hah! I’m in the first group, who frequents the library a lot. You know, when people first visit my home and they see my book case, the first thing they ask is whether I’ve read them all! I think I’ll have to limit my challenge participation next year and dig into the books I own.

    I’d love to hear what you think of Peaches for Mr le Curé! I read the second book in the series earlier this year and have been saving the third for a later time. Did you see the book trailer? It’s quite good!

    Happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Chinoiseries, I keep trying to reduce my TBR but it’s very difficult with all the new books coming out. It’s good to at least try and read some of the books you already own.

      I’m looking forward to reading *Peaches* although with my gruelling reading schedule I have no idea when. Maybe I’ll just drop my reading plans on a rainy day and just read.that.book!🙂

      • Chinoiseries says:

        You should😉 Reading schedules should remain fun at all times! I usually sneak in an unplanned read or two when I feel like it (making it more difficult to finish that month’s target, but oh well…)

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Falling Together is on my wish list as I’ve enjoyed previous novels by Santos. I loved Peaches for Monseiur le Cure and I’m looking forward to seeing what you think of Little Shadows!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I think it’ll be a while before I get round to *Little Shadows* although I’m very curious about the book. *Peaches* is one that I hope to read really soon…

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

