It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

This weekend I had a book blogging meeting with some Dutch book bloggers. There were 8 of us and it was fun to talk about blogging, blogging schedules, our libraries at home and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold fry (by Rachel Johnson).

I’m looking forward to the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop that starts the coming weekend. You can still sign up to link up your blog with almost 50 others.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The River King by Allice HoffmanThe Heart Broke In by James Meek

Click on the blue links to see the review 

The River King by Alice Hoffman. A murder mystery at a boarding school with an element of magical realism and some romance thrown in. 3.5 stars

The Heart Broke In by James Meek. Love and betrayal in families, and some medical science. 3.5 stars

Infominderen [The Information Diet] by Clay A. Johnson. Non-fiction about making better choices for daily information consumption. 3.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Secret Keeper by Kate MortonFalling Together by Marisa de los SantosCharlotte Street by Danny Wallace

.

Reviews

Mrs. Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn. The Queen of England does a similar thing to Harold Fry: she leaves the palace to buy some cheese and decides to make a trip to Scotland. 4 stars

Tweestrijd [Conflict] by Linda Jansma. A Dutch thriller about a woman with a very dominant husband who beats her up whenever he feels like it. But then a policewoman moves in across the street and she doesn’t believe the perfect couple story that they seem to exude. 5 stars

Forgotten by Catherine McKenzie. A laywer comes back from an extended holiday in an African country to find that she’s been resumed dead. She has to build up her life again as good as she can. 4.5 stars

Mrs Queen Takes the Train by William KuhnForgotten by Catherine McKenzie

.

Also check out

The new books I received: New Arrivals.

–> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop <— (Sign ups closing Wednesday)

Don’t forget to put your name down if you’re planning to participate (give books away) in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. Details HERE.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. melouisef says:

    I am reading the new Patricia Cornwell.
    Not really mad about it because there is too much about Kay Scarpetta and her personal relationships and too little story, Many authors make that mistake methinks.

  2. readerbuzz says:

    I wish I could participate in your fun giveaway hop. Next time! And I will definitely plan to visit the participating blogs.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will drop by!

  3. Myra GB says:

    Hi Lee! These are all unfamiliar titles to me, but they all look great! A book blogging meeting with the Dutch bookbloggers also sound fabulous! Perhaps I can join the next time you guys have a meeting? How does it work?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Myra, are you in the Netherlands? We meet very informally about once every half year, and it’s in Dutch… I usually mention it on my Dutch blog well in advance. We just do some chatting about books and discussing a chosen book. Of course you’re welcome!

  4. You had a good reading week and a good plan for this week too!

  5. Ooh, I see several enticing books! I received Forgotten…and I’m eager to read The Secret Keeper and River King (another Hoffman that I’ve missed!). Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  6. Lucybird says:

    Charlotte Street and The Secret Keeper have both been favourites of mine recently. I hop you enjoy them both but I can see The Secret Keeper being more your sort of thing.

  7. Charlie says:

    Well done on the books read and reviews written, three completed in a week is pretty awesome. I’m reading Vanity Fair.

  8. You’ve reminded me that I got Forgotten several months ago – I really should find it and read it soon.🙂

    I’m interested to hear what you think of Falling Together – I keep seeing it around and I’m curious.

  9. Dollycas says:

    I am looking forward to the blog hop too!!! All your books look wonderful.
    Happy Reading!!

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’d like to pick up Falling Together. I’m looking forward to your review of Secret Keeper also!

  11. Leslie says:

    I have Secret Keeper too but it’s a few books down in the pile (and we know how slow I read! lol).

    A book blogger meetup sounds like good fun.

  12. Mystica says:

    The Secret Keeper is the one I would really like to get hold of. Your other books sound so good too.

  13. susanbright says:

    Still reading IQ84. Seems like it is taking forever…..it is an interesting read, just long!

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s what I feared, Susan! I’d love to read 1Q84 but I don’t have that much time for a big book at the moment. Good to hear it’s interesting, though!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

