New Arrivals!

The flood of books is starting to slow down, but some really GREAT books arrived in the last few days!

For review

 Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

I got this book for review from Harper. I’m a Kingsolver fan so I’ll be starting this book as soon as I can! I have a review of Kingsolver’s previous book, The LacunaHERE, if you’re interested.

From the publishers: “Dellarobia Turnbow is a restless farm wife who gave up her own plans when she accidentally became pregnant at seventeen. Now, after a decade of domestic disharmony on a failing farm, she has settled for permanent disappointment but seeks momentary escape through an obsessive flirtation with a younger man.

As she hikes up a mountain road behind her house to a secret tryst, she encounters a shocking sight: a silent, forested valley filled with what looks like a lake of fire. She can only understand it as a cautionary miracle, but it sparks a raft of other explanations from scientists, religious leaders, and the media. The bewildering emergency draws rural farmers into unexpected acquaintance with urbane journalists, opportunists, sightseers, and a striking biologist with his own stake in the outcome. As the community lines up to judge the woman and her miracle, Dellarobia confronts her family, her church, her town, and a larger world, in a flight toward truth that could undo all she has ever believed.”

***

The Ghost of Neil Diamond by David Milnes

The Ghost of Neil Diamond by David Milnes

For review from the author. I review Dave Egger’s Hologram for the King recently and the author of The Ghost of Neil Diamond contacted me, because he thought if I liked Egger’s book, I might like his book, too. It sounds like a fun story, so I accepted the review request. 

Very briefly in the author’s words: “Take a Neil Diamond impersonator with his back against the Great Wall of China: the struggle for fame and fortune is over, and the dark comedy of survival has begun.”

***

Books I won

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz

Windmill Books, a UK publisher, are one of my favorite publishers. I seem to love all their books. Recently I discovered Hutchinson, an sister imprint that are bringing out some interesting new books. One of them, in ARC format, hence the odd cover (the official image isn’t available yet) is The First Book of Calamity Leek. The title is interesting but I’m also very curious to the story.

From the back of the book: “Books tell you what to believe. Books explain the world around you. What if a book had been written to explain a world constructed for you? What if that world suddenly fell apart?

Calamity Leek needs a new book, but she’s going to have to write it herself.”

***

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer

I won this lovely book from Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and I’ve started reading it already. It’s a fun and easy read about a man and a woman who meet via email, by accident.

From the publishers: “It begins by chance: Leo receives emails in error from an unknown woman called Emmi. Being polite he replies, and Emmi writes back. A few brief exchanges are all it takes to spark a mutual interest in each other, and soon Emmi and Leo are sharing their innermost secrets and longings. The erotic tension simmers, and it seems only a matter of time before they will meet in person. But they keep putting off the moment – the prospect both unsettles and excites them. And, after all, Emmi is happily married. Will their feelings for each other survive the test of a real-life encounter?”

***

From the library

The Red House by Mark Haddon

The Red House by Mark Haddon

Really there is no way I will have time to read this, but I saw it at the library in the New section and could not resist. I’ve read several books by Haddon and enjoyed them all.

From the publishers: “After his mother’s death, Richard, a newly remarried hospital consultant, decides to build bridges with his estranged sister, inviting Angela and her family for a week in a rented house on the Welsh border. Four adults and four children, a single family and all of them strangers. Seven days of shared meals, log fires, card games and wet walks.

But in the quiet and stillness of the valley, ghosts begin to rise up. The parents Richard thought he had. The parents Angela thought she had. Past and present lovers. Friends, enemies, victims, saviours. And watching over all of them from high on the dark hill, Karen, Angela’s stillborn daughter.

The Red House is about the extraordinariness of the ordinary, weaving the words and thoughts of the eight characters together with those fainter, stranger voices – of books and letters and music, of the dead who once inhabited these rooms, of the ageing house itself and the landscape in which it sits.”

***

Books for my dutch blog

I will review these on my Dutch blog, but since they are all translated from the English, I’d love to know if you read them and what you thought. I got all of these for review except the Peter James book. The covers in English below and the covers in Dutch (the actual books I received) further below.

Lies of the Heart by Michelle BoyalianThe Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian KeyesThe Information Diet by Clay A. JohnsonLast to Die by Tess GerritsenPerfect People by Peter James

Raak mij aan [Lies of the Heart] by Michelle Boyajian

Ben je gek [Mercy Close] by Marian Keyes

Infominderen [The Information Diet] by Clay A. Johnson

De laatste sterft [Last to Die] by Tess Gerritsen

Perfectie [Perfect People] byPeter James

Raak mij aan by Michelle BoyajianBen je gek by Marian KeyesInfominderen by Clay A. JohnsonDe laatste sterft by Tess GerritsenPerfectie by Peter James

***

 Which of these books have you read?

Is there one that peaked your interest?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

31 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Too Fond says:

    How lucky that yo get to read the new Kingsolver! I’m a big fan of hers, too, and I have The Lacuna on my bookshelf waiting to be read. Hope you enjoyed it (and Flight Behavior, too).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Too Fond, yes, I enjoyed The Lacuna a lot and I have read some chapters of Flight Behavior this summer already (in a preview book with a selection of new books) and it looked really good.

  2. winstonsdad says:

    love virtually is wonderful book one my favourite in recent years ,all the best stu

    • Leeswammes says:

      Great to get this recommendation from you, Stu! I thought *Love Virtually* would be a bit too light-hearted (but fun). I know you read quality books, though. So far, I like it!

  3. Charlie says:

    I’ve yet to read any Kingsolver, and wasn’t sure about starting with The Lacuna. Flight Behaviour, though, I can see myself liking. Hope you enjoy them all🙂

  4. Caroline says:

    I’m glad you like Love Virtually so far. I enjoyed it. I hope you will still like it after finishing. The sequel however isn’t a must.

  5. therelentlessreader says:

    I liked Flight Behavior. It wasn’t the BEST thing I’ve read of hers but it’s definitely worth the time🙂 I somehow missed Lacuna and I’ve heard nothing but great things about it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the thumbs up for *Flight Behavior*. *The Lacuna* is a fantastic book, although I found it a little long. But the topic is very interesting and enjoyable.

  6. Once again – you are an excellent resource. I read Kingsolver’s Lacuna and really enjoyed it – been too long since she’s had a book out. I have Flight Behavior on my list now – thanks!

  7. Rikki says:

    The sequel to Love Virtually was ok, but definitely did not live up to the first. It was an ok read, I suppose. Caroline is right,not necessary unless you are dying from curiosity (like I was).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well, I will have to wait and see. I like the story so far, but I’m just reading bits in between reading another book so it’s a bit slow – although the book is a fast read in itself.

  8. very anxious to read Flight Behavior as well. enjoy

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’m reading Flight Behaviour right now. I really enjoyed The Mystery of Mercy Close, if you have read previous Walsh sister novels by Marian Keyes then I am sure you will enjoy this one.

  10. Less books, you say, Judith. Yes, I can see that!🙂 Enjoy them!

  11. Have read & posted on The Ghost of Neil Diamond and thoroughly enjoyed it

  12. Chinoiseries says:

    I’ve heard good things about Flight Behavior, Judith, hope you enjoy it!

  13. I can’t wait to get my hands on Flight Behavior!

    http://eclecticbooksandmovies.blogspot.com

  14. Leslie says:

    I hadn’t heard of Ghost of Neil Diamond, but I started laughing when I read the title. Now I’m curious to find out if you enjoy it.

    The Kingsolver book is on my wishlist, I enjoy her writing. (I know you don’t do audio, but if you ever want to try one that I guarantee success with it’s Kingsolver’s book Animal Vegetable Mineral. She narrates and it is fantastic! You will not drift away or loss the story. Ok, /audio soapbox)

  15. MarthaE says:

    Lots of great sounding books! The Calamity Leek title caught my attention. I hope you enjoy them all.

  16. Pingback: Book Review: The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz | Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

