It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

This weekend was the start of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. I’m giving away 4 books (3 world-wide) and there are links to 40+ other blogs giving away a book. So check it out and win a book! The blog hop runs until (and including) Wednesday.

My 13 year old son is spending a week in Denmark with school. He’s taking bilingual education, where half of his subjects are in Dutch and half in English. As part of the bilingual program they go abroad every year. Not only to learn better English, but also to learn about different countries and to become an international person! He’s staying with the family of a boy of his own age, who will visit us next spring. Exciting for our son ánd for us. One fewer person makes our family so much quieter. My older son enjoys the sole attention of his parents.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Secret Keeper by Kate MortonLove Virtually by Daniel GlattauerFalling Together by Marisa de los Santos

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton. As a 16-year old, Laurel sees her mother commit a crime. Many years later, when her mother is dying, she tries to find out what exactly happened and why. Historical fiction. 4 stars.

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer. A man and a woman start emailing each other by accident. An online relationship follows. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars.

Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos. Pen and Will are summoned by Jason, the husband of their college friend Cat, to try and find her because she’s disappeared. Together they search for her, looking back on the past in the mean time. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Charlotte Street by Danny WallaceThe Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian KeyesSwimming Home by Deborah Levy

.

Reviews

Click on the blue links to see the review 

Infominderen [The Information Diet] by Clay A. Johnson. Non-fiction about making better choices for daily information consumption. 3.5 stars

.

Also check out

The new books I received: New Arrivals.

Don’t forget to enter for a chance to win a book in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have to get to Falling Together! Its on the shelf😉

  2. I’ve always thought Love Virtually sounds like fun. Look forward to reading your review.

  3. Charlie says:

    That’s a good reading week🙂 Falling Together gets my vote for the cover, but I’m not sure about the story, it sounds quite samey.

  4. Kristin T. says:

    Great books this week. I have the new Kate Morton book on my tbr list…hope to get a copy of it soon!

    Have a great week!
    ~Kristin @ Always With a Book

  5. readerbuzz says:

    I should be more careful about my daily information consumption. Perhaps it is overconsumption of information that actually leads to our biggest troubles in life.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop in and say hello.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debnance, the book focuses especially on how people tend to read information that suits their beliefs and how we should sometimes read the opponents’ believes to get a better understanding of the world.

  6. JuneA** says:

    I’m reading (for review) Elena, Woman of Courage and I’ve got 6 others behind that. Morton’s book is on my TBR, so will be interested in what you think about it.

  7. Mystica says:

    I have been wanting to read The Secret Keeper and I am sorry it did not work out for you.

  8. The Secret Keeper is on my “must read” list, along with Falling Together. I enjoyed a couple of other books by the author.

    Have a great week, and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. Dollycas says:

    All your books look great to me and I entered your giveaway too! Have a great week!!

  10. Sounds like a great opportunity for your son! Also, I think The Secret Keeper sound pretty interesting.

  11. Shan says:

    I have Charlotte Street in my pile to read during the storm. Found it through your blog, so thank you!
    That’s a fantastic opportunity for your son! My daughter is doing bilingual education in French and English! I hope it will give her lots of opportunity for travel one day.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, *Charlotte Street* is fun, but turns out to be a bit of a lad-lit (chick-lit for men) which I didn’t expect. I do often enjoy that genre, so it’s fine with me.

  12. Sue Jackson says:

    Wow, that international program your son is in sounds wonderful! What a fabulous experience for him!

    I read another Kate Morton novel and liked it very much, and I listened to Falling Together on audio – a bit long but enjoyable.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

    Book By Book

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sue, yes, my son is having a great time. I should have mentioned that we live in The Netherlands which is only 2 countries away from Denmark, but still it is quite the experiences.

      I also thought *Falling Together* was a bit longer than it might have been, but it was a fun read.

  13. What a great opportunity for your son! I will have to check out the Marian Keye’s book. Have a great week of reading.

  14. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ve just started The Secret keeper and i am enjoying it so far! How great for your son to spend a week overseas, I hope he has a great time and that the rest of you enjoy the peace!

  15. Pussreboots says:

    Thank you for stopping by earlier.

  16. Anne says:

    I confess I haven’t even heard of any of your reading selections this week. There are so many good books out there, aren’t there?

  17. Mardel says:

    It always amazes me what a difference one more or less person makes in the sound department. You think I’d be used to this, I grew up in a large family, and always had lots of kids around with my own four, but nope! Always amazed.🙂 Good luck to your son – how cool that he gets to go to school in a different country for a while.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mardel, it’s indeed very nice for my son. And we’re really enjoying the difference. My son is the noisy, difficult one who is always challenging what we ask him to do. My other (older) son is much more easy going. It’s nice that we can give him a bit more attention.🙂

  18. MarthaE says:

    How wonderful for your son. I think programs like that are really great. Our daughter did two weeks in Costa Rica and they were to only speak Spanish which did strengthen her language skills.🙂
    I hope you have had a grand reading week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Martha, thanks. Yes, it’s a week of only speaking English (their non-native language). My son actually *is* bilingual anyway, but it’s still a good exercise to go out and speak English to strangers.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

