Book Review: The Treatment by Mo Hayder

The Treatment by Mo HayderI love a good thriller, and I can tell you: this is one!

The Treatment: What it is about

From the inside cover: “It is the middle of the summer in Brockwell Park, a pleasant residential area in London. Behind the placid facade of one house, a man and his wife lie tied up and imprisoned in their own home. When they are discovered, badly dehydrated and bearing the marks of a brutal beating, they reveal one final horror: Their young son has disappeared.

Called in to investigate, Jack Cafferty uses all the tricks of the forensic investigator’s trade to piece together the scanty clues at the crime scene. But the echoes of a heartrending disappearance in his own past make it almost impossible for him to view the crime with scientific detachment. As Jack digs deeper, attempting to hold his own life together as the disturbing parallels between past and present mount, the real nightmares begin.”

The Treatment: What I thought

This was my first thriller by Mo Hayder and it was very good. There was a sense of urgency all through the book because the reader knows a second crime is being committed. Will the police be on time to help the people involved?

Jack, the forensic investigator, is really not the ideal person for the job – his own brother disappeared many years ago and Jack has always suspected a local man who is considered a paedophile. I think in reality he would never have been allowed to work on the current case, so that was a little contrived, I thought. On the other hand, it made a nice parallel between the old and current story lines.

I also felt a little mislead regarding the identity of the kidnapper, but this was not a big problem for the enjoyment of reading the book.

Otherwise, this was a fantastic story that kept me on the edge of my seat all the time. I liked the details of the crime – for originality, that is. Also, the motivation behind the crime was very clever and original.

Rating: 5 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 358

First published: 2001

I got this book: from a book swap

Genre: thriller

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

RIP VII

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Book Review: The Treatment by Mo Hayder

  1. I do love a good thriller, so this one will be on my radar from now on. Thanks, Judith.

  2. Charlie says:

    I was thinking that, the emotional investment he would already have would both be a boon and a distraction. Good to hear it works, though.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I have a heck of a time finding a thriller that really works for me, I’ll keep my eyes open for this one🙂

  4. Cass says:

    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this Hayder book so much. I had a not-so-good experience with her novel The Devil of Nanking and I’ve been hesitant to give her books another try.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Cass, with so many other books (authors!) around, why try another book by a disappointing author? I can see why you’ve been hesitant. I can recommend this but I don’t know what that other book was like, of course.

  5. bibliosue says:

    Yikes — for some reason I had in my head that Mo Hayder was a children’s book writer. I obviously got that wrong.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, no idea why you’d think that. Neither can I think of a children’s author with a similar name. I don’t think you read thrillers very often, do you? This one is good, if you ever feel like trying one.

      • bibliosue says:

        I looked it up to make sure I wasn’t completely insane — I was thinking of Mo Willems. I will make sure not to get the two mixed up at the bookstore🙂

  6. Robyn says:

    I too love a good thriller. A book with lots of twists and turns are my favorite. Thanks for the review. I will be looking for this book soon. Another great book I recently finished reading is called, ” Quest for the Lost Name” by author George Makris. This a historical fiction novel that is a romantic adventure wrapped into a mystery in which the main character must go through personal growth and transformation. http://questforthelostname.com/

  7. Robyn says:

    I think you will really enjoy it!

  8. MarthaE says:

    I love an really good thriller and an investigator that has issues to deal with. This sounds good. Reminded me of one I read this past summer, Forgive Me, Alex.
    Thanks for sharing.

  9. Mo Hayder’s one of my favourite crime writers although she always gives me the heebie jeebies!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

