October Overview

I read an average amount of books in October. Some were great, some a bit less. I wonder if I’m getting a bit easier annoyed with books that aren’t quite to my liking? Because I’ve read so many books, I now only want the best of the best? It’s possible. When choosing books, for review, from the library, from the book shop, I already try to be very discerning. For a while, I would only accept/borrow/buy books that I’d expect to be a 4 or 5 star read. I think I have to be even more strict and only go for books that seem a resounding 5 stars (pre-reading, of course, any book can be disappointing).

Books that stood out:

I really enjoyed Strangers on the 16:02 by Priya Basil. It’s ony a short novel, 100 pages. I loved her previous The Obscure Logic of the HeartForgotten and Charlotte Street are chick-lit and lad-lit, respectively, which I also enjoyed. I also read a Dutch thriller, Tweestrijd that was really good.

This is what I read

Strangers on the 16:02 by Priya BasilForgotten by Catherine McKenzieCharlotte Street by Danny WallaceThe Round House by Louise ErdrichThe Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold FryMrs Queen Takes the Train by William KuhnThe Secret Keeper by Kate MortonLove Virtually by Daniel Glattauer
Falling Together by Marisa de los SantosThe Heart Broke In by James MeekThe River King by Allice Hoffman

Click on the blue links to go to the review

Strangers on the 16:02 by Priya Basil. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

Forgotten by Catherine McKenzie. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace. Contemporary fiction.4.5 stars

Round House by Louise Erdrich. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Mrs. Queen Takes the Train by William Kuhn. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton. Historical fiction. 4 stars

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

The Heart Broke In by James Meek. Contemporary fiction. 3.5 stars

The River King by Alice Hoffman. Contemporary fiction. 3.5 stars

 

***

Dutch blog:

The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian KeyesThe Housemaid's Daughter by Barbara MutchThe Information Diet by Clay A. Johnson

Tweestrijd [Duel] by Linda Jansma. Thriller. 4.5 stars

The Mystery of Mercy Close [Ben je gek] by Marian Keyes. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

The Housemaid’s Daughter [De kleur van haar hart] by Barbara Mutch. Historical fiction. 4 stars

The Information Diet [Infominderen] by Clay A. Johnson. Non-fiction. 3.5 stars

Corpus Delicti by Julia Zeh (did not finish)

.

Reviews of books I read before October

A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers. 5 stars

My Legendary Girlfriend by Mike Gayle. 5 stars

The Treatment by Mo Hayder. 5 stars

The Miracle Inspector by Helen Smith. 4.5 stars

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell (DNF)

.

What was YOUR favorite book in October?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to October Overview

  1. Charlie says:

    We spend so much time reading at the expense of other things that although we enjoy it we’re going to get annoyed sooner. It’s good to be discerning from the outset🙂 My favourite book, that I finished, was Exactly Where They’d Fall by Laura Rae Amos.

  2. JuneA** says:

    I don’t get annoyed if the book is less than outstanding, I can generally find something to appreciate in the story–but I’m not a very discerning reader. I used to finish even the baaaaaad books, but now there are too many good books waiting! If my attention isn’t captured by page 50-I’m done with it!
    The last two books that I read that were fantastic were The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society and The Night Circus.

    • Leeswammes says:

      June, I used to finish books that I didn’t really like, but these days I have an abundance of books on my to-read shelves, and I think *Why bother?* So, I give up on books sometimes these days.

      I very much enjoyed the *(Blabla) Potato Peel Pie Society* and I LOVED *The Night Circus*!

  3. I’m getting harder to please. The more books I read, the harder it is to find something original/captivating. I can’t even finish 80% of the books I start now. It is quite annoying so I feel your pain!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, yes, I’ve noticed you abandon a lot of books. Do you think we’re spoiled (ruined, corrupted) by all the reading? It’s such a shame! Maybe we’ll have to read 25 romance novels before we appreciate something other than that again?🙂

  4. I was only able to read a couple books in October, but far and above the rest I read was “A Fine Balance” by Rohinton Mistry. I know it’s not a new book, but I hadn’t read it before. Beautiful and heartbreaking.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kristin, I’ve heard such good things about *A Fine Balance*. It’s definitely a book I want to read. Good to get another confirmation that it’s so good.

      • Oh, you must! It is grim, no doubt—not a feel-good story. But worth every moment, finds light in the bleakest darkness, unlikely friendship, courage, persistence. I’m going to write up my review on my blog this week.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I’ll look out for it, Kristin. I expected something a little more uplifting, indeed!

  5. Pingback: Literary Life: October in Review - of Books | of Books

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

