It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

Last week I started NaNoWriMo! I’m writing a novel in one month (or so I think). The idea is to write 50,000 words in November. I managed that last year but it wasn’t a very good story.  This year I prepared the plot(s) in advance so I know more or less what I’m writing. I’m a little behind with the word count but hopefully it will pick up again this week. Wish me luck!

Sunday, I had a fun evening tweeting away about Before I Go To Sleep (by S. J. Watson) with the Dutch Twitter book club. With about 40 other participants we discussed the book for two hours. The author himself had provided some discussion questions. A fun (if hectic) way to discuss a book.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 5

Charlotte Street by Danny WallaceThe Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian KeyesSwimming Home by Deborah LevyBefore I go to Sleep by S. J. WatsonThe Red House by Mark Haddon

Click on the blue links to go to the reviews

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace. A man meets a woman in the street and is left holding her disposable camera. He develops the film in order to try and find her back. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

The Mystery of Mercy Close [Review on my Dutch blog] by Marian Keyes. A female private detective, suffering from depression, is looking for a missing rock singer. Chick-lit, mystery. 4 stars

Swimming Home by Deborah Levy. A family’s quiet holiday is interrupted when a strange young woman comes to stay with them. Contemporary literary fiction. 4 stars.

Before I Go to Sleep by S. L. Watson. A woman wakes up every morning not remembering who she is and who the man next to her in bed is. Thriller. 5 stars

The Red House by Mark Haddon. Almost didn’t finish this one. A family on holiday, all with their own issues. Contemporary fiction. 3 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Rainbow Troops by Andrea HirataThe Boy who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-CookeHouvast [Holding on] by Linda Jansma

.

Reviews

The Treatment by Mo HayderThe Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan Leslie

Click on the blue links to see the review 

The Treatment by Mo Hayder. A good thriller about a man kidnapping a whole family. A police investigator gets confronted with issues from his past relating to the disappearance of his own brother. A very good read. 5 stars

The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan Leslie.After the death of his parents, a boy is sent to several different family members who all are strange in their own way. 4.5 stars

.

Also check out

October Overview: What I read and did in October.

Winners of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop.

The R. I. P. VII Event – Finished!

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

52 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Like all your books but specially Swimming Home.

  2. I’m probably going to wait until the paperback for Mercy Close as her last one didn’t grab me. So glad you liked Charlotte Street, have you read any of his non-fiction books?

  3. You’ve read some interesting titles. Charlotte Street caught my attention. Have fun with NaNoWrMo and thanks for visiting my blog!|

  4. Good luck with Nanowrimo! I’m doing it this year for (I think) the fourth time, but I have yet to win. Hopefully this will be my lucky year.🙂

  5. Godd luck with your writing for NaNoWriMo, Judith!

  6. I ‘m a Mark Haddon fan, so thanks for tipping The Red House, although you didn’t like it. Perhaps there are more readers who would also enjoy the NYTimes review of The Red House?
    http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/08/books/review/the-red-house-a-novel-by-mark-haddon.html?pagewanted=all

    enjoy elm2

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Elma. I’ll have a look at that. I checked on Amazon, and there are about equal numbers of people giving all possible star ratings, so readers are very divided over the book. I hope you will enjoy it, Elma!

  7. You have had some good reading! I have always wanted to do NANO and I am always busy doing something else…. maybe some day….

  8. Charlie says:

    First off, well done for completely Nano last year, that’s really awesome🙂 And good luck this time round, here’s hoping the knowledge you did it last time will help. I’d be interested in reading your review of Swimming Home if you plan to write one.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Charlie. NaNoWriMo seems harder this year – I’ve prepared in advance but somehow I’m not as motivated. I keep trying to meet my goals, though.

      Yes, I’ve already written a review of *Swimming Home*. It will be on my blog next weekend, I think.

  9. Lindsay says:

    Good luck with NaNoWriMo! I am reading The Mystery of Mercy Close at the moment and really enjoying it so far. I wasn’t sure about The Red House, I think I gave it 3/5. I really want to read Swimming Home.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ll check to see whether you have a review of *The Red House*, Lindsay. I’m curious to know what you thought. I’m also giving it a 3/5. After I almost abandoned it!

  10. Good luck with NaNoWriMo. I did it two years ago and now it is a finished novel, ready to go out the door…and I think the fact that I thought about the plot and the characters ahead of time made all the difference, too.

    Before I Go to Sleep looks like one I’d enjoy. Have a great week, and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  11. Shan says:

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Charlotte Street because I just couldn’t get into it! Gave it about 100 pages, but it really wasn’t grabbing me.
    I wasn’t a fan of The Red House either, I found myself skimming through just to get to the end.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, what a pity you gave up on *Charlotte Street.* I think it’s lad-lit, but I do like that sometimes. I thought it was a fun and clever story. Review this week.

  12. I could never write a novel. Kudos to you!!
    Happy Reading and Writing!!!

  13. It sounds as though I need to get a copy of Charlotte Street. I look forward to reading your review of that and Swimming Home.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, you didn’t like *Swimming Home * too much if I remember correctly? I gave it 4 stars. I thought it was OK. Review this week.

      I have no idea whether you’ll enjoy *Charlotte Street*, it’s more light-hearted than it looks at first glance, a kind of lad-lit. But I enjoyed it.

  14. Jennifer says:

    What did you think of Before I go to Sleep? I thought it was crazy!! (And a good read!)

    Best of luck with NaNo!! I commend you!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, I thought it was a very good read. It was the second time I read it. This time, a review on my Dutch blog, but *HERE *is my older review, from when I read it last year. I still agree with it.

  15. booknaround says:

    Looks like it was a fantastic week for you. Hope this one is equally wonderful!

  16. bibliosue says:

    Swimming Home is on my list too. And I really like the sound of The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice, though I don’t know how often I can say it without getting tongue tied!
    Have a great week!

  17. Good luck with Nanowrimo. Did you like the Marian Keyes book?

  18. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I think those participating in Nanowrimo are brave – I wish you lots of luck with it! Charlotte Street sounds good and I really should read Before I Go To Sleep!

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I’m already starting to doubt myself with NaNoWriMo – especially the quality of my writing…

      *Charlotte Street* is one you’d enjoy, I think.

  19. Leslie says:

    Good luck with the writing project. I don’t write fiction so for me it would be impossible to stay motivated! Glad you liked Before I Go to Sleep. That’s on my to read someday list, so I figure I’ll probably enjoy it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, you should definitely try Before I Go To Sleep – it’s a fun and quick thriller and also interesting because it’s about a woman with a serious memory problem.

  20. Laura Caldwell says:

    Just finished “Ferney” by James Long-very, very good, and now reading “Mythago Wood” by Robert Holdstock-fantastic! Also slowly reading “Middlemarch,” about to start “The Warden,” and I am going to reread “The Hobbit” slowly over the next month.

  21. Shonda says:

    Before I Go to Sleep has been on my list since last year. I need to read it! BTW, I purchased Forgotten by Catherine McKenzie. I plan to read it during my vacation in December.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shonda, have fun reading *Forgotten*, I think it’s ideal for a holiday. Yes, DO read *Before I Go To Sleep.* Maybe it’s another one for your holiday? It’s a very fast read.

  22. Good luck on your NaNoWriMo! I’m curious to read Before I Go to Sleep. Glad to see you liked it!

  23. Have a wonderful reading week and LOTS of luck with NaNoWriMo! Kick some booty🙂
    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian🙂

  24. I read Before I Go To Sleep recently too and it totally had me hooked. Great thriller.

    Good luck with the novel!

  25. Charlotte Street sounds very interesting, I’ll have to add that one to my TBR list!

  26. Isi says:

    I have Before I go to sleep in my shelves and I can’t wait to read it! Everybody says it’s a great book; my boyfriend liked it very much.
    You read a lot of books per week!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

