Book Review: Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

Charlotte Street by Danny WallaceThis not only sounded like a fun novel, but it actually was a fun novel. Some of it, especially at the beginning was laugh-out-loud funny. Literally (and I don’t use that word lightly, only when something really is literally the case). So, I laughed out loud, hiding it with a cough, or trying to explain what was so funny.

I’d say this is lad-lit (see also my review of My Legendary Girlfriend and the comments there, on lad-lit), i.e., chick-lit for men. But no less fun for women!

Charlotte Street: What it is about

From the publishers: “Jason Priestley (no, not that Jason Priestley) is in a rut. He gave up his teaching job to write snarky reviews of cheap restaurants for the free newspaper you take but don’t read. He lives above a video-game store, between a Polish newsstand and that place that everyone thinks is a brothel but isn’t. His most recent Facebook status is “Jason Priestley is . . . eating soup.” Jason’s beginning to think he needs a change.

So he uncharacteristically moves to help a girl on the street who’s struggling with an armload of packages, and she smiles an incredible smile at him before her cab pulls away. What for a fleeting moment felt like a beginning is cruelly cut short—until Jason realizes that he’s been left holding a disposable camera. And suddenly, with prodding and an almost certainly disastrous offer of assistance from his socially inept best friend Dev, a coincidence-based, half-joking idea—What if he could track this girl down based on the photos in her camera?—morphs into a full-fledged quest to find the woman of Jason’s dreams.”

Charlotte Street: What I thought

Besides being laugh-out-loud funny at times, this was an entertaining read. Poor, hopeless Jason goes on a quest to find the woman he saw in Charlotte Street using the photographs from a camera that she left behind. He involves his friends (or, more precisely, they involve themselves) and visits several of the places on the photographs. Slowly, they find some clues as to the identity of the girl.

I loved this book. Jason is a likeable person. He isn’t quite over the break-up with his girlfriend yet, but his working life is looking good, for a while, at least. He has a great friend in Dev, a long-standing friend who he shares an apartment with. They love going to pubs and drinking beer, but Dev is there for him when he needs him, too. Jason helps other people, sometimes inadvertently, and turns out he did a good job as a teacher, after all, even if he didn’t think so at the time.

An easy and fun read.

Rating: 4.5 (out of 5)

Number of pages: 416

First published: 2011 (this edition 2012, paperback edition by William Morrow (Harper Collins))

I got this book: for review from the publishers

Genre: contemporary fiction

 

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to Book Review: Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace

  1. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Isi says:

    Chick-lit for men??? This is completely new for me!!😀
    I like chick-lit a lot, I always find funny novels of this genre.

  3. Mystica says:

    A new genre here!!!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I hope you have trademarked the term “lad lit”🙂

  5. JuneA** says:

    I’ll have to read this! Thanks for recommendation!

  6. A quick skim of your review as I am reading this one now and hopefully finishing it up tonight. I just had to pop in and say hi as dont have the time lately to do that as often as I would like😉

  7. Diana Leigh says:

    Another blogger friend of mine loved this book too. I’m intrigued by the premise. Sounds fun!

  8. Roxanne says:

    Sounds like fun🙂

  9. Jennifer says:

    Once in a while I need a good funny/light book to break up the heaviness that I usually favor. Thanks for reviewing this, it’s going on my list🙂

  10. Lucybird says:

    Oh I loved this. Glad you enjoyed it too.

    Have you ever read Nick Hornby? He’s quite similar in style

  11. Charlie says:

    I’d really like to read this, the premise sounds so good and it fits the lad-lit idea well. I like that it’s truly laugh out loud funny, too.

  12. Danny Wallace is one of the few authors actually able to make me laugh out loud. It is good to know this one is a good read too. I’ll get to it at some point.

  13. Marie says:

    I completely agree with your use of the term ‘lad-lit’ here, it always makes me think of books in the Nick Hornby vein rather than thrillers with explosions and action scenes. I’ve never read any of Wallace’s books before but he makes me chuckle in his column in Shortlist magazine or when I’ve seen him on TV. This sounds like a good read.

  14. This sounds like a book i’d want to read. Thanks for sharing it🙂

  15. Oh I think I would really like this. I read one of Wallace’s books many years ago and remember crying with laughter. Thanks for reminding me of him!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

