Why I Give High Ratings to Books

I don’t give low ratings to books very often. Have you noticed? I mostly give 4 and 5 stars with the occasional 3.5 stars and a rare 3 stars. 1 and 2 stars have not appeared anymore since I decided not to rate books that I don’t finish. I review books that I don’t finish, but I don’t think it’s fair to give them a rating based on (say) the first 100 pages.

So, that’s the first reason: Books I don’t finish I don’t rate, i.e., books that I do finish are at least compelling enough to sit through till the end. And that’s worth 3 stars at the least. I don’t often put a book away before it’s done. This year, out of 170 books read so far, I did not finish 6.

The second reason is very different: My acceptance criteria are strict!  I only accept a book if my first impression (cover, description, author information) suggest I will give the book 4 or 5 stars after reading. In fact, lately I’ve become even more strict and aim for 5 stars.

Look, this is my to-be-read bookcase:

To-be-bookcaseThere are about 70 books in this bookcase (some double-shelving) and I have another 20 to-be-read books on my ereader. That’s a lot! It would take me about 6 months or more to read them all without getting any new books in the meantime.

I’ve got some principles:

  • I need to read all the books on my shelves. I cannot collect books and build up a library from which I can choose whatever book I like when I feel like it. No, I feel I need to read these books, and I need to read them soon. I don’t like yellowed pages so all these beautiful new books need to be read before age sets in.
  • I review all books that I get for review. And they have priority. So all other books will have to make place (literally, in many cases) for the review books. Obviously, the more review books I get the longer it will take me to read through the books on my shelves. I am careful not to accept too many, so there is always some space left in a month to read some of the books I already have.
  • The books that I already have are not worse than the books I may want to get. At some point, I really, really wanted those books. It’s just that I have looked at them so often since, that they don’t seem so special. But really they are as special as any new books I might accept (for review, from the library, etc.).

The third reason is that I’m an easy reader. If I like a book, it’ll probably get 4 stars. My rating represents the enjoyment I get out of reading a book as well as the quality of the book. So, a really well-written, great story will easily get 5 stars, whereas a badly written fun story might get 3.5 or 4 stars. With “badly written” I don’t mean spelling/grammar mistakes. I can handle up to 5 of those in the whole of a book before I get seriously annoyed.

So, those are the reasons I rate books relatively high. How about you? Do you come across books that you’d rate lower than 3 stars? Do you finish them?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

58 Responses to Why I Give High Ratings to Books

  1. Birgit says:

    Ah, ratings! Yes, I have been known to give 2 star ratings, though I am not taking this lightly, trust me. And luckily it does only rarely ever happen. I am often in deep discussion with myself, before I decide on the rating a book shall receive, and sometimes there is just no way around giving a low rating. Seeing how I am a bit of a fighter and pretty much finish every book I start on, there are no DNFs to speak of and if there were I’d also rather not review it on my blog, because it wouldn’t be fair to judge a book by only a few pages/chapters and not its entirety.
    I’d like to add that unlike you I don’t accept/request books expecting them to end up in the realms of a 5 star rating. I need to be drawn in my the topic and blurb, and that’s about it. I never know what might expect me down the road (or rather down the pages) but obviously I always hope I’ll end up loving or at least liking each and every book enough to give it a 3 star rating at the worst (which, to me, is still an “average” read).
    Your review shelves are rather daunting, I must confess. I try to keep my review pile at no more than 10 books, so I try not to browse too much on NetGalley or publisher’s sites to keep it that way. Let’s just say I don’t like the pressure of having dozens of books for review lined up. Right now, let’s see, I have 5 books for review which is a low number, even for me, but I wanted to spend some time with my own books for a change as they are starting to feel awfully neglected.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Birgit, let’s make it clear: *these are my to-be-read books. NOT my review books!! *I think I’ve got about 3 or 4 review books lined up and another 10 or so that I’m expecting in the next few months (including Netgalley). No, I try to read review books asap, because I would hate to get behind on those.

      You obviously have a totally different strategy accepting books for review and reading/rating them. It’s fun to see how we’re all different.

      • Birgit says:

        What a relief to hear that these are ALL your unread books! Then again, I’ve seen some bloggers post shelves like yours and those were only their books for review … so I take my previous comment back – not daunting, but commendable!
        It’s true, my own strategy is different from yours, but obviously each reader/reviewer will approach this from their own angle! You’re right, it’s definitely interesting to find out about those differences.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Commendable is a word I like, Birgit! No, I’m very much against having lots of review books on my shelves. It has to be manageable or (like I did recently) I put in my review policy that I don’t accept new review books at the moment. That helps!

  2. That’s a lot of books waiting to be read🙂 I do tend to finish all the books that I read, even if I don’t enjoy them and I leaf through pages… and it does happen that I give a two mainly because I did not enjoy most of it. I am a lot stricter with grades at school though🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ally, with so many books waiting to be read, I just can’t be bothered finishing a book that I have no (further) interest in. It’s good that you persevere, though.

  3. I give a lot of books 3 stars but not because I don’t like them. 3 is a middle-of-the-road like, enjoyable but not amazing (or sometimes it’s well written and I can see the genius but not for me). I don’t feel compelled to finish books if I’m not enjoying them…I do give out 2 stars now and then, usually there is a reason I carry on with the book but can’t say more than it’s OK. I used to reserve 1 star for DNF but I mostly leave these as unrated now.

    It’s too much of a struggle not to have a sprawling personal library for me! My reading tastes are so varied there is a lot that appeals to me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, lots of books appeal to me too, but I know that I can’t read them all and that the books I already have are likely to be just as good as the ones I don’t have yet. So I try to keep it under control. Hmm, whether I succeed is a different matter.

      I think your 3 is my 4! We all rate differently and also with different criteria in mind. I think it doesn’t matter too much.

  4. JuneA** says:

    That is a very clear definition of personal book rating–I am so glad that you have posted it! I, too, have given up rating books that I don’t finish. And, like you, my ratings are based on my enjoyment of the book or that I can respect what the author has tried to do. Since I don’t have a blog, I review on GoodReads. Their 2star rating is “it’s ok”, so I do have a FEW of those….they are the ones that I am able to force myself to finish, usually because I have read & liked another of the author’s books. I probably have more 3stars than anything –y’know, I’ll have to go look!– those are the ones that either have potential or that I was able to enjoy the story. 4stars are either a very well-written book OR an original plot line. 5stars are a well written story that has swept me away into the story. I used to finish every book that I started, but now, there are too many other books waiting to be read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for a thought provoking post!

    • Leeswammes says:

      June, I guess the ratings on goodreads are a little inflated. A 2 for “It’s OK” seem high, but they want to spread the good news about books and not the bad. [?]

      I was wondering if you had a blog. I used to (only) review on Shelfari (a kind of Goodreads) but wanted more people to read my reviews and have more interaction with others, so I started my own blog. Whatever way you do it, it’s great to be able to discuss books with others.

  5. Diana Leigh says:

    I consider myself an easy reader too. I read for enjoyment, and usually I can find something I enjoyed in each book. If the good outweighs the bad, then I’ll give it 3 stars. Books I liked or loved get 4 or 5 stars. I have given some 2 star reviews, but I’m starting to DNF books I don’t like instead of suffering through.

  6. nrlymrtl says:

    Sometimes I find it a little hard to judge a book without having started reading it. Ratings and reviews on Amazon or even goodreads are sometimes skewed, especially for a new book by a little known author. About half of the review books (not counting audio) that I have read have felt like second or third drafts and not finished products. Some of them have been fun anyway, if weak on plot or characters and I got some enjoyment out of them. But others, I had to wonder why the author or publisher went to the cost to print when the $ would be better spent on another round of editing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      nrlymrtl, I’m getting better and better predicting which books I’ll like. It’s sometimes difficult to decide on the basis of rating and reviews, I agree. I have found a few favorite bloggers that share my reading taste and that makes it easier. And otherwise, the cover and the description have to do their job for me…

  7. Isi says:

    Oh yes, I do try to read the whole book although I don’t like the beginning. It’s just because I like telling in the review how bad is it, how awful are the characters, etc, as much as I like telling how wonderful is a novel that I loved.
    So, I try to read them all, and I rate 1 or 2/5 a lot of times.

    About the “to be read pile”, I have the same problem: I have millions of books waiting… for what? for the days to be 40 hours?😉 The books I get from the authors or publishers have priority, but the pile is very big anyway… I suppose all of us have this problem!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, I just don’t want to spend time reading a whole book if I don’t like it. I could be reading another book in the same time!🙂

      But we all have our own ways of doing these things. Sometimes a negative review is hard to write, actually, don’t you find?

      If days could be 40 hours people would just write more books, I fear. We’re never going to read all the books in the world…

      • Isi says:

        It’s true, it’s just a dream to read everything we wanted.
        About a negative review, sometimes I find it difficult, yes. Some months ago an author sent me his book and another book for a giveaway, he was so friendly but I didn’t like the book. It was awful: the story, his writing, everything, and I couldn’t write the review. I sent him an email explaining all the things I saw were wrong (bad written, repetitions in some scenes, that kind of things), and he thanked me.
        But there are others that I need to explain to the world they shouldn’t loose their time reading them.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Isi, it is really difficult when you’ve been in contact with the author him/herself and then you don’t like the book. I think your solution was a good one. When I do write a review (I usually do) I tend to be very careful not to say anything bad about the author and just concentrate on things in the book that I didn’t like. A nice author will know that not everyone likes every kind of book, and if there are mistakes in the books they’ll probably be terribly embarrassed anyway. But there are some people around that think their book is the best… What can you do?😉

  8. Suzanne says:

    I have accepted books review that I thought would be good, but ended up being a disappointment, and I will still write about them. I have the same issue with books I select on my own. I do not give ratings for books on my blog, but obviously I have various levels of like/dislike and it is very rare I hate a book (even ones I don’t finish; they are usually just not the right book for me).
    You only have 70 books on your to-read shelf? That is some awesome restraint.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, of course sometimes a book is a disappointment, but I seem to have developed a second sight for picking out the really good books. The slightest problem with the cover, the subject and I won’t accept. Or I will and know it’s a maybe-book.

      I also find with books I don’t finish it’s not necessarily the book, often it’s me, or me in a certain mood. There must be people who did like that book or it wouldn’t have been published.

  9. Leslie says:

    I rarely rate books I don’t finish with only a few exceptions… if I made it half way through and it was still horrible then yes I’ll give it a brief goodreads review and rating.

    A rating system is subjective and my 3 stars may be someone else’s four stars, which is why I’m not fond of the star system, but most readers expect some kind of rating so I do it. I consider a three star book to be good but not particularly memorable, one that someone would definitely enjoy but a book I would donate or give away. A four star I liked a lot, and a five star is one I might read again. I end up with 4½ stars because these are books I really, really liked it, but probably wouldn’t read it again. All this is based on a goodreads rating system for my own shelves… blog readers are stuck with my system! Hope that made sense, if not, ingore me.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      It makes sense, Leslie!🙂

      I didn’t start out on Goodreads but on Shelfari, where 2 stars means “I didn’t like it” and 3 means “I liked it”. Without thinking about it, I think I took that rating system on my blog, too (I was on Shelfari for several years before starting a blog).

  10. Lucybird says:

    Like you I rarely rate below 3 stars. Really 3 stars for me is, it’s ok but I wouldn’t run out to buy it. I have occasionally rated below 3 stars, but I don’t even review books I don’t finish, I don’t think I could give a fair review. I do usually try to finish any book I’m asked to review, but sometimes they are disappointing, both my below 3 stars were for books I was asked to review this year. Maybe if I was only reading them for my enjoyment I wouldn’t have finished them

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lucy, when I don’t finish a book I usually don’t give a proper review but tell my readers why I didn’t like it, and I make clear that I talk about the bit that I read. Also, sometimes other people will actually want to read that book because they like exactly what I didn’t like! It happens more than you’d think!

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    It is all very subjective. I don’t rate DNF books at all, 1 star means I didn’t like it, 2 stars means its ok, 3 stars it is good, 4 stars its is great, 5 stars means it is outstanding. I’m not a particularly discriminating reader I must admit, if something about a book’s premise appeals to me I will give it a go. I’m happy to take the risk I won’t like it.
    I also have very little impulse control lol – my TBR collection is a little more extensive than yours LOL

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Shelleyrae, I won’t ask you about the size of your TBR. I think I have some idea…

      I now only accept books that I want to read anyway (e.g., favorite author or I heard a lot about it), books expect to be popular (yeah, I know, but I want to be in on the fun) or books that seem really good. Otherwise, I keep in mind “is this book better than the books I already have on my TBR?” If that’s not likely, I’ll vote for the TBR rather than for another new book. [?]

  12. Mel u says:

    I also normally give high ratings. I do not normally finish books I do not like so if in read a book in full it means, normally, I like it.

  13. parrish lantern says:

    I used to laboriously plough through a book unit the bitter end, but I decided a few years ago that life was to short to waste it on stuff that left a bad taste. This wasn’t just related to books but was a broad spectrum decision based on my life at the time but also impacted on my reading as well. I now don’t finish what I dislike/ loathe, or that just numb me with boredom, it states on my blog (home & review page) that if I dislike something I don’t post on it, making all my reviews positive but only because I will not champion books that I wouldn’t read or have on my shelves

    • Leeswammes says:

      Absolutely, Gary, why read a so-so book if you can read a really good one in the same time?

      In my review policy I say I may not finish a book but will write a (fair) review on it. I don’t mind mentioning less-good books on my blog because someone else may actually like it (unless it’s absolutely awful). But for instance, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, I didn’t finish but still wrote a review, it’s nice to try and get a discussion going on why I didn’t like it and others maybe

  14. I usually don’t give high ratings, most of my ratings fall in the 3 star (mehhhh/average range) range. To get a 5 star rating from me, I must want to reread the book, or it was thought-provoking enough to make me ponder the book days later. The problem with star ratings is Goodreads and Amazon seem to have different weights: an Amazon 3-star is “It’s Ok,” while a Goodreads 3-star is “I like it.”

    Like you, I don’t review books I don’t finish (because I think it’s unfair of me to review a book I didn’t finish.) But I usually force myself to plunge through books even if I dislike them, hoping that they will get better, just because an unfinished book is like an obligation to me. It would have to be one pretty horrible book to make me DNF.

    I am selective in my review books as well, for I think accepting a review book is an obligation for me to finish the book, and to write a well-considered review.

    However, I do review books I don’t like. I actually think they make more interesting, objective reviews. I suppose my reviews are more interesting when I don’t ramble about how amazing a book is.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lilian, yes, it’s awkward how different systems use different ratings. Really it would help to have my rating explained in the side bar of my blog, but I don’t want too much stuff there. If most books you read are in the average range, you’ll have to become more selective!! There are so many really good books out there!🙂

  15. Charlie says:

    Sounds very fair! And I can see exactly why you don’t finish not-so-good books – your shelves are packed! The important thing is that you always point out what didn’t work in a book so the rating is justified.

    I do finish books I don’t like, because I got in the habit of it and have this thing where I’m likely to wonder how it ended even if I didn’t like it. So that means I have 1 and 2 star reviews sometimes. I do try to be more picky like you, though, when accepting books for review. When I first started I wasn’t so much because of the fun newness of it, but I’ve learned my lesson there.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I tend to abondon books where I really don’t care how the story will end, or where the price to pay (reading the rest of the book) is just too high! I’m never sure whether to admire or pity people that finish books they don’t like…

  16. Roxanne says:

    This year I have rated a book with only one star as I didn’t enjoy it. Maybe I shouldn’t have finished it but I was rating it for my A-Z challenge, so I wanted to finish it. Besides it had good reviews, so other people probably enjoyed it.
    Usually I only read books that seem nice, so yeah that means I will give a 3 or higher. I don’t give a 5 unless I enjoyed it so much that I couldn’t stop reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Roxanne, books for challenges are a difficult thing because you don’t want to find and read another book in its stead. But even so, I did abandon a book that I was reading for an informal readalong with another blogger as it just didn’t work for me, I got so bored!

  17. Even worse: I don’t rate books at all.🙂 Partly because I write about childeren’s books and think they should be rated by childeren themselves. I give plenty of books to childeren and ask them what I think about it.  
    If I really don’t like a book, like I would give it two or even only one star, then I won’t write about it. Or if the child who read it, doesn’t like it at all, then it will not be published at my website. It would only be a waste of time to write about it, or for a site visitor to read about it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mevrouw, I think it’s a bit different when you are reviewing children’s books. But I do think it’s sometimes useful to tell your readers about books that aren’t all that good. So they know to avoid them!🙂

      • Yes, I know. It is a matter of time too. I blog twice a week, more is not really possible. That’s why I intend to focus in the good and usefull (for childeren) books.

        Op 19 nov 2012 om 16:24 heeft Leeswammes’ Blog het volgende geschreven:\

      • Leeswammes says:

        Makes sense not to bother with “bad” books if you don’t have much time, mevrouw!

  18. My reviews are mostly 4 and 5 stars, too, for many of the same reasons you mentioned. I rate for enjoyment…and I’m becoming stricter in the review books I accept.

    Grammatical errors and poor sentence structure showing up too often (more than just a glitch) will seriously deduct some stars. In the old days, before I got strict, I had a review book which I gave two stars for those reasons.

    What do you do about books that show up unsolicited? I have three on my stacks right now that I seriously don’t think I’m going to enjoy. Part of me thinks I should read them…eventually. But another part says: Did you read my review policy? Do you think I’m going to give a high priority to this one? Okay…maybe I’m being ornery here, but my obligation levels are lower in this situation.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-Rain, with traditional publishers I expect grammar and spelling not to be a problem, but with independent authors, I often first ask for a chapter to see if it’s written in a way that I’d like (or I’ll check on amazon where there often is a Look Inside).

      I don’t get many unsolicited books, but yes, obligation levels are definitely lower. If it says in your review policy that you don’t accept them then you shouldn’t feel you have to read them. I’m not sure but I think newspaper reviewers get send loads of books from which they make a choice and maybe you should consider the unsolicited books in the same way, and only read the ones that you’re interested in. I know, it’s difficult, because you want to stay good friends with the publisher. On the other hand, if they keep sending you books you don’t want to read, what’s the use of keeping them happy?

  19. What an interesting post! I’m always amazed at how you find great books and seem to enjoy them. You’ve posted before that you have strict requirements in order to pick up a book…I’d be interested to see a post on that, although I know something that might scream 5 stars to you might not be as great to another reader.

    I’m really trying to be more picky so I don’t have DNF books. And I agree, I don’t rate books I don’t finish, although I’ll usually give a summary saying why so readers might save themselves time by not picking up that book.

    And usually if a book has a low rating and I did finish it, it’s because I was hoping it’d get better but it didn’t. Or I just wanted to read it to see what it was all about and ended up not enjoying it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jae, I seem to be quite lucky with the books I read, but yes, I do try to be strict about reading books that I expect to like. In my answer to Shelleyrae, you can see what criteria I use.

      I always like to tell people about books that I didn’t finish, as you say, to save them the bother, but also, sometimes people actually like the exact thing that I hated about a book…🙂

  20. I’m almost identical to you. The only difference is that I abandon far more books. I used to have a lot more 3 star (or lower) reviews but now I tend to only stick with things I’m enjoying. I tend to only finish dull books when they are short and important (prize winners)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, you do seem to abandon a lot of books! Is that because you’re less strict with filtering what books to read? I know you read a lot of prize winners and I guess you’d pick them up for that reason and not because you expect to enjoy them?

  21. Marie says:

    It’s really interesting to read other views on rating books! Great post. I give very few 5-star ratings, pretty much saving them for my all time favourite reads. Most of my ratings tend to be 3 or 4 stars. I do tend to stick with the Goodreads rating system, where a 2 is ‘it’s OK’. I tend not to post my ratings on my blog, though, because even a book I haven’t enjoyed can give me lots to think and write about.
    Your TBR shelves put me to shame! I wish I had your restraint when it comes to controlling the books I let into the house. Maybe a New Year’s resolution for me to consider…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, it sounds your using the same rating system that most people do, while I’m in the minority. “2” is definitely “Not OK” with me. I sometimes get comments about a book that I give 3 stars and didn’t like all that much, saying how wonderful that I liked the book. It must be the rating that they are refering to rather than the review.🙂

  22. Great post, Judith! I think that if I personally selected all of the books I reviewed, rather than reading a lot that’s sent to me unsolicited, my average rating would be much higher–after all, I know my own tastes much better than anyone else!

    I think that star ratings also depend on the weight that the review gives them: for me, three stars is “good” (on a 0-5 scale, a 2.5 would be average, so anything above that is good), whereas for some bloggers a three starred review might be an indicator of a mediocre book. I rarely rate anything below two stars (I think I’ve only written two of these reviews ever), but also rarely give five star ratings, as those books for me have to be truly amazing.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Stephanie, I think maybe you shouldn’t led your unsolicited book pile decide what you read. Can’t you just pick out the best ones and leave the rest unread? It sounds like you’re reading for the publishers rather than yourself. Unless you get paid for it, maybe reconsider (sorry that I put my foot in here!).🙂

      • Oh, absolutely–and I have been. I’m trying to balance things a lot more with my own reading, and I’m also trying to use sites such as Netgalley more. I’m turning down requests left, right and centre at the moment–I feel guilty, but it’s my time!

      • Leeswammes says:

        So right, Stephanie. You don’t owe anyone anything. Just accept books if they really, really seem worth it. And also important, if they seem MORE interesting than the books already on your shelf!

  23. JoV says:

    I am like you. What’s the point of reading books you don’t want to read and it’s not for you in the first place? Even if I do, I try to find something good out of the time I spent reading the book. You know looking at a half glass half empty or half full, so most of the time when it comes to reading I chose to look at the glass half full.😀

    If I feel the book is going to be 3 stars and below, I will stop reading it. I wouldn’t even bother reviewing it. I have been careful in selecting my books as I know I don’t have the time of my life to read everything.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, yes, we seem to agree and stop reading when the rating in our head drops below 3 stars. Still, I do find it newsworthy to write about books that I don’t finish. Although sometimes I just want to forget the book as soon as possible.

  24. I’m not a big fan of star ratings but I do use them on Goodreads as a quick memory aid. I rarely give less than 3 stars but I also don’t give 5 that often. 3 or 4 is usual. I use 3 for “good enough” and 4 for very good but keep 5 for exceptional books.

    I don’t get a lot of review copies – maybe one per month – so mostly if I read a mediocre book it’s my own fault! If it’s a classic or came highly recommended I’ll persevere.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kate, I like stars for myself so I can see quickly what I thought of the book. I also look for stars on people’s blogs but it’s not the main criterion for putting it on my wish list.

      Don’t read mediocre books, Kate! Be critical when choosing them so your reading experience is at its max!🙂

  25. Like you, I tend to accept books for review and purchase ones that I think I’d like. I think I shocked a publisher the other day when I declined a book that just wasn’t in my reading spectrum! I’d say a 2 out of 5 for me would be classed as ‘didn’t like it and don’t recommend it’ and go straight on the ‘donate to library’ pile! I rate books primarily for me (e.g. have I enjoyed this author’s previous books) and for my family, who trust my recommendations. I am very guilty of half stars though😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sam, I wish my library would accept books but they don’t. Neither do they sell books. They have book buyers off site (they deal with all the libraries in the area) and have little input in what books they can get. Certainly they are all new and they don’t accept books from patrons. The not-selling story I don’t quite understand but they don’t do that either. I bet they won’t be that strict when their subsidy is halved or whatever is likely to happen in the future.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

