It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

NaNoWriMo isn’t really happening much, for me. I haven’t given up, but it’s not my main priority, like last year. This year, there seem to be more things happening around me, and I just don’t have the general drive to make it to those 50,000 words within the month.

I posted the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange announcement post last week. Sign up if you’re a book blogger and would like to exchange a holiday card with a fellow book blogger.

I visited a publisher last week! They invited just a few people, such as tv people, book retailers and online review people (I was the only book blogger). I think there were a total of 20 people, almost half of which were authors and people from the publishing company. We were all  sitting around a long table. Very intimate and very nice. Six authors talked about their (5) books (which all sounded really good and will be published in the new year) and there were cake and cookies and drinks for us to grab. After the book presentations, there was a tour of the building and a drinks party. I left with a very well-filled goodie bag with titles that were recently published.

I took my sons to a careers event, organised by their school. One son looks keen to be an architect, while the other enjoyed listening to a business advisor.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Flight Behavior by Barbara KingsolverLies of the Heart by Michelle Boyalian

I didn’t finish as much as normal because I took my time with Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver, which was very enjoyable. It’s the story of a woman living in Appalachia where nothing much happens, until she finds a large colony of butterflies in the woods. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Lies of the Heart by Michelle Boyajian. A novel about a woman whose man was killed by a low-IQ man. Part court-drama, part-self discovery, this is about Katie and her relationship with Nick as much as about the reasons for the killing. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Annabel by Kathleen WinterHeft by Liz MooreWithout Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

.

Reviews

Swimming Home by Deborah LevyLove Virtually by Daniel GlattauerThe Red House by Mark HaddonHouvast [Holding on] by Linda JansmaThe Boy who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke

Click on the blue link to see the review

Swimming Home by Deborah Levy. A family’s quiet holiday is interrupted when a strange young woman comes to stay with them. Contemporary literary fiction. 4 stars.

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer. A man and a woman start emailing each other by accident. An online relationship follows. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars.

The Red House by Mark Haddon. Almost didn’t finish this one. A family on holiday, all with their own issues. Contemporary fiction. 3 stars

These two reviews were published on my Dutch blog:

Houvast [Grip] by Linda Jansma. A woman whose husband died from an accident earlier in the year is worried when her brother is missing. At the same time another man is found dead. An thriller involving car chases and kidnapping. Thriller. 4 stars.

The Boy Who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-Cooke. A boy living in poor circumstances thinks his best friend is a demon. When his mother is in hospital having attempted suicide, a psychiatrist tries to find out whether the boy has a psychosis. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

.

Other news

I wrote a post about Why I Give High Ratings to Books.

Don’t forget to sign up for the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange, if you’re a book blogger.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

21 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    You’ve got such intriguing books. You always have!

  2. Annabel is on my wishlist🙂 I am looking forward to your review🙂

  3. Are you continuing last year’s 50,000 for this year or starting over? I’m not sure how the process works. Either way, sorry it’s not working for you this year.

    Career day – it’s so exciting to see what interests our children. Our son is finding his way, it’s a journey and hopefully a rewarding one.

    You really liked the Kingsolver novel – I have only read The Poisonwood Bible. Have you read it?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, the challenge is to write a 50K+ book every year, so it has to be a completely new book. I’m still enjoying it, but I’m enjoying even more NOT doing it. It’s the childish pleasure of not doing something that you are supposed to do. Sad, I know!🙂

      I read *The Poisonwood Bible* but I don’t think it’s her best. With all the woods in your back yard I think you’d enjoy *Flight Behavior.* * *

  4. Elizabeth says:

    The Publisher Event sounds great. You had a busy week with everything…hope the career day went well.

    The Barbara Kingsolver books sounds amazing.

    Going to check out your review of THE RED HOUSE. Looks good.

    Have a great week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  5. Flight Behavior and Lies of the Heart both look so tempting.

    What a great experience, having such a personal chat with authors whose books are coming out soon.

    Now I’m off to check out some of your links.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  6. Danielle V says:

    Oh wow, what a great bunch of books! These are all new titles to me, and I’m certainly going to be adding them to my “Must Read” list! Thanks for sharing🙂

    Best,
    Danielle
    http://thereaderscommute.blogspot.com

  7. It is great to hear that you’re reading Heft. I hope you love it as much as I did.

  8. Anette says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog today, I really appreciate it🙂 I do not recall reading any books written by a Dutch author. Maybe you can give me some tips? All the best from Anette🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Anette, my favorite Dutch authors are W. F. Hermans (aka Willem Frederik Hermans) and especially his book Beyond Sleep. Also great is Renate Dorrestein – I’ll be running a giveaway with one of her books (translated into English) soon. Then quite popular in English-speaking regions atm is The Dinner by Herman Koch, a really nice, modern story about teenagers and parents.

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    The publishing event sounds great! I’m all signed up for the card exchange

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      It was a great event, Shelleyrae, very welcoming and informative too. Great you’re doing the card exchange. I remember last year you organised your own. Did you have to write many cards?

  10. burgandyice says:

    What a great post!! I love seeing the little blip and cover pic. It’s like a buzz through your week with easy follow-up. NICE!!!

    Visiting with the publisher sounds sooooo insider-cool. I’m so glad you got to go!! I’m so glad they included a blogger!!!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Burgandy (sorry, your real name evades me at the moment). I love It’s Monday for myself even, so I get an overview of what happened that week on my blog and in real life. Yes, I think I was an afterthought, but I’m so happy the publisher did invite me! Maybe we’ll get some cred one day. Bloggers aren’t so accepted here in the Netherlands as e.g., with many publishers in the USA.

  11. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    You were honoured to be invited to an event by some publishers. I am very impressed, I would enjoy attending something like that myself.

    • Leeswammes says:

      LindyLou, I have heard of people in the UK getting invited to publisher events, but not in the Netherlands. So I was very honoured. It was actually a much smaller event than I expected and there was no way to hide (not that I wanted to, I actually asked the authors some Qs).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

