Thankfully Reading Weekend 2012: Starting Post

Thankfully Reading Weekend

Today, Thursday, is the start of the Thankfully Reading Weekend that lasts until Sunday night. A good excuse to spend a lot of time reading over the Thanksgiving weekend (in USA, or just any old weekend here in the Netherlands🙂  ).

It’s not easy to choose from all the great books on my shelves but in the end I chose these (and started some already before the read-a-thon):

Heft by Liz MooreNacht in Parijs (Night in Paris) by Michael BergThe Sealed Letter by Emma DonoghueEerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn Schilder

  • Heft by Liz Moore – FINISHED I had read 82 pages already, so for this read-a-thon I’ll start counting at page 83!
  • Nacht in Parijs (Night in Paris) by Michael Berg –  FINISHED I had read 35 pages already so I’ll start counting at 36. This is an ebook.
  • The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue. READING NOW I’ll be reading this in Dutch, for review.
  • Eerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn Schilder.

As always, this looks like too many books, but it’s something to aim for. I’d hope to finish the first three books and make a dent in the fourth. I’ll update as I go along and let you know on Sunday night how I did!

First update: Friday morning- Yesterday I read to page 110 in Heft, i.e., 27 pages. I read to page 156 in Nacht in Parijs, i.e., 120 pages. Total Thursday: 147 pages. Today, Friday, is a normal day and I have several other things on my to-do list. Hopefully the afternoon/evening will be spent with some extra reading.

Second update: Saturday morning- Yesteday I did read a bit more than usual, but as it was a normal Friday for me, I didn’t read all that much: I almost finished Heft, I read to page 312, whish is 202 pages. I read to page 198 in Nacht in Parijs, which is 42 pages. So, Friday I read a total of 244 pages which makes a grand total so far of 391 pages.

Today, Saturday, I have more time to read (although the Saturday newspaper is winking at me, too) so I should be able to finish both books and start in the third. Happy reading everyone!

Sunday morning update: Finally I finished the first 2 books! On Saturday, I finished Heft, 352 page total, is 40 pages read. Nacht in Parijs has a total of 337 pages, so I read 139 pages. Total- 377 pages. Start with Sealed Letter, and read 19 pages (to page 30). Total for Saturday: 396 pages, grand total for the long weekend: 787 pages.

Today it’s windy and gray, and we have no plans. Except for a walk, I think I’ll just read a bit a lot.

Are you joining in? Sign up HERE.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

21 Responses to Thankfully Reading Weekend 2012: Starting Post

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Can’t wait to hear about THE SEALED LETTER….now that sounds like something I would like. Is it in English? 🙂 🙂

    Thanks.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

    • Leeswammes says:

      Elizabeth, my copy of *The Sealed Letter* is a Dutch review copy, so I will review it on my Dutch blog. Of course the original is in English. I haven’t seen all that many people blogging about the book.

  2. I’m so glad you’re joining us. I am looking forward to hearing about your selections. They all sound good, even if I can’t read Dutch .:-)

  3. Alexia561 says:

    Good luck with the read-a-thon! Have fun!

  4. Vasilly says:

    I’ve read a lot of positive things about Heft. Happy reading.

  5. Katrien says:

    This sounds like a nice event, Judith!
    I’m not joining in (exams coming up), but I’m ill today, so no school and reading in bed!

  6. Leslie says:

    Yaaaay, you decided to join in. I started my reading yesterday with an audiobook but since I was the cook for Thanksgiving dinner, I didn’t have time to turn on the computer until almost bedtime. By then I was too tired to post anything so my kick-off is today. Guests are fun but exhausting.

  7. Jasmine says:

    Oh wauw dat is wel even stevig doorlezen! De covers spreken me wel erg aan, vooral van the sealed letter!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ik kan heel veel (snel) lezen in een weekend, Jasmine. Of dit me gaat lukken weet ik eigenlijk nog niet. We zullen zien. (Het is eigenlijk wel (mijn) read-a-thon traditie om niet alles te lezen wat er op mijn lijstje staat – dat zijn altijd te veel boeken!).

  8. A weekend of books sounds like heaven… enjoy yourself!

  9. Isi says:

    Ohhh too late for me! In any case, I can’t read such amount of books in ¡¡four days!!😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, with a readathon you can read as much (or as little) as you want. Everyone sets their individual goal. Mine is much too high. I will finish the second book tonight but I don’t think I’ll be able to read all of the 3rd book tomorrow. The 4th book: not a chance!🙂

  10. Isi says:

    hehehe, I supposed one book per day is a lot!
    I have join in a challenge in my Spanish blog and I have to read 8 books in November… Impossible for me! I’ve read 4 at the moment, but I don’t think I will get more than 6 at the end of the month. Anyway, I like join in that kind of activities😀 You don’t have to worry if you don’t get it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

