New Arrivals!

It’s been a whole since I did a New Arrivals post for ages. I got some more books than these, but they’re for next time.

I got some really interesting books and also an “interesting” book that I don’t particularly want to read. But also several books that were on my wishlist!

For review

 The Church Sign by Anne Robey-Graham

The Church Sign by Anne Robey-Graham

This is the “interesting” book (ebook) that I have no interest in reading. I apparently won this from Librarything with the suggestion that I review it. It has a strong religious theme, from what I can gather, and that is not something I enjoy reading. 

The least I can do is show case the book here, for my readers to discover. I don’t actually intend to read and review it. Not sure why I got this book. Did I really ask for it?🙂

From the publishers: “Alicia Zimmerman is smart. A researcher for a Canadian university, she has her whole life and career in front of her. But when she makes the mistake of trusting the wrong man she finds herself escaping across the border, ending up in the university town of Prescott, Arizona.

As she builds a new life for herself, she meets Eric, a professor struggling to move forward from a tragic past, and their friendship quickly grows into something more. Rumors begin surrounding Alicia as her past catches up with her, and Alicia realizes these secrets are more dangerous than she originally thought.

Revolving around messages seen on church signs during pivotal points in the story, The Church Sign is a novel about letting go and learning that God forgives, no matter how great our mistakes.”

***

A book I was given

Heft by Liz Moore

Heft by Liz Moore

I commented on a review of this book by Marie at GirlvsBookshelf. She got the book from another blogger and wanted to send it on to me. This book was on my wishlist anyway, so I said “Yes, please!”. It sounded very good.

And so it was!! I read it already and I think it’s worth 5 stars. Thank you so much, Marie! You were right, I loved this book. I’ve now lend it to a friend of mine. That book is doing the rounds!

From the publishers: “Former academic Arthur Opp weighs 550 pounds and hasn’t left his rambling Brooklyn home in a decade. Twenty miles away, in Yonkers, seventeen-year-old Kel Keller navigates life as the poor kid in a rich school and pins his hopes on what seems like a promising sporting career-if he can untangle himself from his family drama. The link between this unlikely pair is Kel’s mother, Charlene, a former student of Arthur’s. After nearly two decades of silence, it is Charlene’s unexpected phone call to Arthur – a plea for help-that jostles them into action.

Through Arthur and Kel’s own quirky and lovable voices, HEFT tells the winning story of two improbable heroes whose sudden connection transforms both their lives. It is a novel about love and family found in the most unexpected places.”

***

Books I won

The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman

This was a win from a Dutch website HappyMOMS.nl. My book is the Dutch translation. I’ve found Hoffman hit and miss. We’ll see.

From the publishers: “In 70 C.E., nine hundred Jews held out for months against armies of Romans on Masada, a mountain in the Judean desert. According to the ancient historian Josephus, two women and five children survived. Based on this tragic and iconic event, Hoffman’s novel is a spellbinding tale of four extraordinarily bold, resourceful, and sensuous women, each of whom has come to Masada by a different path. Yael’s mother died in childbirth, and her father, an expert assassin, never forgave her for that death. Revka, a village baker’s wife, watched the horrifically brutal murder of her daughter by Roman soldiers; she brings to Masada her young grandsons, rendered mute by what they have witnessed. Aziza is a warrior’s daughter, raised as a boy, a fearless rider and an expert marksman who finds passion with a fellow soldier. Shirah, born in Alexandria, is wise in the ways of ancient magic and medicine, a woman with uncanny insight and power.

The lives of these four complex and fiercely independent women intersect in the desperate days of the siege. All are dovekeepers, and all are also keeping secrets—about who they are, where they come from, who fathered them, and whom they love. The Dovekeepers is Alice Hoffman’s masterpiece.”

***

Karma Suture by Rosamund Kendal

The Karma Suture by Rosamund Kendal

This was a win from The Book Club Blog during the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. The book sounded really good fun, a bit chick-litty, but not quite! I love it that the story is set in South-Africa, a country I haven’t read many books from. Thanks so much, Robyn.

From the publishers: “Sue Carey is a driven, twenty-something doctor struggling to preserve her sanity, sobriety and humanity in the corridors of one of Cape Town’s biggest public hospitals. Finding imaginative ways of saving patients is her life’s work. Finding a man who wants more than a one-night stand would be nice as well. Sue’s journey of self-discovery is both harrowing and hilarious. The Karma Suture visits the bedsides of the patients who make her weep and the men who make her weak. She discovers that all she ever wanted is waiting for her … if only she can learn to see beyond the hard science into the mysteries of the heart.”

***

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

Renate Dorrestein is a Dutch author. I’m a fan! She’s written quite a few books since the 1980s and I read about 10 of them. I subscribe to her newsletter and when her secretary found a box of Without Mercy in the attic (or so to speak, I’m not sure), that they wanted to share with Dorrestein’s readers, I thought of you. Yes, my readers! This is one of the books by Dorrestein that is translated into English. It’s also one that I haven’t read yet. I’m reading the Dutch original at the moment (from the library) and when my review is ready, I’ll give you the review and a giveaway of this English translation.

From amazon.com: “Reminiscent of Andre Dubus’s critically acclaimed In the Bedroom and Joyce Carol Oates’s We Were the Mulvaneys, Renate Dorrestein’s new novel explores the undercurrents of married life and the world of today’s teenagers.

“Perfect” was the word both for Phinus and Franka Vermeer’s marriage and their teenage son, Jem, but in the wake of his senseless murder, grief drives a wedge between them. Determined to resurrect the joy they once knew, the couple embarks on a weekend in the country to mend their fraying relationship. Their marital troubles, however, run deeper than they realize. Suspenseful, tragic, and strangely touching, Without Mercy portrays the preciousness of everyday happiness.”

***

From the library

Annabel by Kathleen Winter

Annabel by Kathleen Winter

I happened to run into this book at the library and it had been on my wishlist for a while, so I just had to bring it home! I’ve already read it since and enjoyed it, but didn’t love it as much as I’d hoped.

From the publisher: “In 1968, into the devastating, spare atmosphere of Labrador,Canada, a child is born: a baby who appears to be neither fully boy nor fully girl, but both at once. Only three people are privy to the secret—the baby’s parents, Jacinta and Treadway, and their trusted neighbor and midwife, Thomasina. Though Treadway makes the difficult decision to raise the child as a boy named Wayne, the women continue to quietly nurture the boy’s female side. And asWayne grows into adulthood within the hypermasculine hunting society of his father, his shadow-self, a girl he thinks of as “Annabel,” is never entirely extinguished.

When Wayne finally escapes the confines of his hometown and settles in St. John’s, the anonymity of the city grants him the freedom to confront his dual identity. His ultimate choice will once again call into question the integrity and allegiance of those he loves most.”

***

Books I bought

Important Artifacts (etc.) by Leanne Shapton

IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS AND PERSONAL PROPERTY FROM THE COLLECTION OF LENORE DOOLAN AND HAROLD MORRIS, INCLUDING BOOKS, STREET FASHION, AND JEWELRY by Leanne Shapton

I’ve seen this book on several blogs and thought it was such an original way to tell the story of a failed relationship! It was on my wishlist and on special offer at the book store.🙂

From the publishers: “In Leanne Shapton’s marvelously inventive and invented auction catalog, the 325 lots up for auction are what remain from the relationship between Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris (who aren’t real people, but might as well be). Through photographs of the couple’s personal effects—the usual auction items (jewelry, fine art, and rare furniture) and the seemingly worthless (pajamas, Post-it notes, worn paperbacks)—the story of a failed love affair vividly (and cleverly) emerges. From first meeting to final separation, the progress and rituals of intimacy are revealed through the couple’s accumulated relics and memorabilia. And a love story, in all its tenderness and struggle, emerges from the evidence that has been left behind, laid out for us to appraise and appreciate.”

***

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

No, I’m not a big Potter fan, but I liked the description of the book. My fellow real-life book groupers did, too, so this book is our read for December.

From the publishers: “When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.
Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…Pagford is not what it first seems. And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?”

***

 Which of these books have you read?

Is there one that peaked your interest?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Karma Suture! I do hope you enjoy it:-)

  2. Mystica says:

    I felt that Middlesex was something similar to Annabel and I did not read it. But I think its different and maybe I should try to find this book.

  3. Suzanne says:

    The Church Sign actually sounds interesting to me, but if it became too religious I would probably abandon it.
    Heft also is going on my to-read list!

  4. diane says:

    HEFT was wonderful; enjoy

  5. I haven’t read any of those so I’ll look forward to your opinions of them! Oooh, nothing better than a new stack of books!😀

  6. Isi says:

    I don’t like books about religion either, I understand you. Well, at least you show it in your blog.
    About the others, I didn’t now any of them, but The karma suture sounds good.

  7. I am a big Potter-fan, Judith, so I already bought the new Rowling, although I know this book will be completely different. But I think she is a great writer and I want to give this a try.
    Enjoy your books!

  8. Marie says:

    I’m so glad to hear you have passed Heft on to another friend! I like it when a good book does the rounds to lots of caring owners🙂 ‘Important Artefacts…’ sounds great! I think I read about it a while back but had forgotten all about it. Such an original way to tell a story.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, when I mentioned the book to my friend, she was immediately interested so I’m sure the book found a good (temporary) home.

      Yes, I think *Important Artifacts* sounds like a great idea.

  9. Trisha says:

    I am really interested to hear what you have to say about Annabel. I read it back in January 2011.

  10. I am very interested in Without Mercy, especially since it was compared to In the Bedroom. I’d also like to read The Casual Vacancy.

  11. Lisa says:

    I also find Alice Hoffman hit or miss, but I did find The Dovekeepers to be much more of a hit! Well researched, emotion-laden historical fiction with very strong female characters — quite unique and worth reading. I’m a huge Potter fan, but found The Casual Vacancy only fair. Without Mercy sounds like something I’d like to check out.

  12. JoV says:

    I am happy to see that you bought “IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS AND PERSONAL PROPERTY….” I can’t wait to hear what you think about it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

