November Overview

I read 16 books this last month. Not bad, although I should admit that some were quite short. I had a good month.

For the first time ever (since I have two blogs), I read more books for my Dutch blog than for my English blog. That’s good because I want to make my Dutch blog a bit bigger, it’s always been on second place – it still is – but I’ve had some really good response from readers and publishers. Also, the number of visitors has increased quite a lot the last few months (some days, it’s as many as Leeswammes’ Blog, which is amazing for a blog that can only be understood by a much smaller subset of the world’s population than Leeswammes’ Blog).

Anyway, Leeswammes’ Blog is not going to be forgotten. At all. I’m not trying to post every day now, which I used to do, but I still post 4-5 times a week on this blog. Which is more than some people manage who have only one blog. So, nothing to worry about!ūüôā

Books that stood out:

I really enjoyed¬†Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver. She’s one of my favorite authors and didn’t disappoint. Also not disappointing was¬†Heft by Liz Moore, a book I was expecting to love, and I did!

.

This is what I read

Flight Behavior by Barbara KingsolverHeft by Liz MooreWithout Mercy by Renate DorresteinSwimming Home by Deborah LevyAnnabel by Kathleen WinterWhat We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank by Nathan EnglanderThe Red House by Mark Haddon

Click on the blue links to go to the review

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

Heft by Liz Moore. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Swimming Home by Deborah Levy. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Annabel by Kathleen Winter. Fiction. 4 stars

What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank by Nathan Englander. Short stories. 3.5 stars

The Red House by Mark Haddon. Contemporary fiction. 3 stars

***

Dutch blog:

Before I go to Sleep by S. J. WatsonThe Boy who Could See Demons by Carolyn Jess-CookeEerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn SchilderNacht over Westwoud by Wanda ReiselThe Rainbow Troops by Andrea Hirata
The Sealed Letter by Emma DonoghueLies of the Heart by Michelle BoyalianHouvast [Holding on] by Linda JansmaNacht in Parijs (Night in Paris) by Michael Berg

Before I Go to Sleep by S. L. Watson. Thriller. 5 stars

De jongen die demonen zag [The Boy Who Could See Demons] by Carolyn Jess-Cooke. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

Eerst een huis [First a House]by Cathelijn Schilder. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Nacht over Westwoud [Night over Westwoud] by Wanda Reisel. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

De regenboogbende [The Rainbow Troops] by Andrea Hirata. Fiction. 4 stars

De verzegelde brief [The Sealed Letter] by Emma Donoghue. Historical fiction. 4 stars

Raak mij aan [Lies of the Heart] by Michelle Boyajian. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Houvast [Grip] by Linda Jansma. Thriller. 4 stars

Nacht in Parijs by Michael Berg. Thriller. 4 stars

.

Reviews of books I read before November

Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice by Nathan Leslie. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Love Virtually by Daniel Glattauer. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos. Contemporary fiction. 3.5 stars


Other events

I took part in the Thankfully Reading Event and will take part in the Dickens in December event. I successfully finished the R.I.P. VII event.

I also discussed Why I Give High Ratings to Books, a post that proved very popular. Everyone has an opinion on the matter.ūüôā

Almost 80 people joined the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange that I’m organising with Courtney of Stiletto Storytime¬†(entries now closed).

.

What was YOUR favorite book in November?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to November Overview

  1. You sure know how to pick your books, Judith. Only one 3 stars and two 3,5… That’s great.

  2. parrish lantern says:

    Another great reading month, still managing to cycle commute most of the time, so my reading is still in low figures, but holidays are soon.

  3. Too Fond says:

    I’ve just started Flight Behavior and am really enjoying it so far. She is one of my favorite authors as well. Hope your December reading is just as successful, and I’m looking forward to the Christmas Card Exchange!ūüôā

  4. therelentlessreader says:

    Fabulous month of readingūüôā I have yet to do a month roundup like this..I probably should

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, it’s fun for myself – a good way to later check what I read in the year. Also, I once asked (myself) what the point was (on Twitter) and several people said they enjoyed reading it (MY roundup post).ūüôā

  5. Isi says:

    Nothing to worry about, indeedūüėČ
    I’m ashamed everytime I see what you read per week, and now per month!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, don’t be ashamed. We all have our own priorities and responsibilities. In my case, I can read more or less every night (for several hours if I want) and also do some reading during the day. Not everyone has the time.

  6. diane says:

    You had a great month for reading. I loved Flight Behavior and Heft!

  7. Rikki says:

    80 people signed up, wow! That is super. I am really looking forward to it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, yes, it’s a popular event, which is really nice. And I’m sure we haven’t really covered much of the book blogging blogosphere, but I guess that’s not really an issue.

  8. JoV says:

    16??!! Bravo Judith, I can only manage 6. Well done for a great month!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

