Weekly Reading Roundup

 

The week

Nothing happened this week. Nothing. Well, nothing out of the ordinary. So in other words: my week was very ordinary. For me. I probably read more than you, but that’s normal too. Only the temperature is going down, slowly. You’d hardly notice, but I do. I should escape to a warm island for some change. No, not with a famous actor, that sounds totally awful. Just me and a few books. Enough to last me until my next Monday post.

I think it’s time to think about Christmas, though. No tree up yet, there’s Sinterklaas first (December 5th) before we Dutchies think of Christmas. But I’ll be thinking Christmas presents, as we’re going to visit the family in England.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 5

The Sealed Letter by Emma DonoghueWithout Mercy by Renate DorresteinEerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn SchilderNacht over Westwoud by Wanda ReiselFingerprints by Marcia Leonard

Click on the blue links to go to the review

De verzegelde brief [The Sealed Letter] by Emma Donoghue. Historical fiction about a woman rekindling her friendship with a feminist in Victorian London. 4 stars

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein. A couple are having a weekend away to try and save their relationship. Things went wrong when their son died a few years ago. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Eerst een huis [First a House] by Cathelijn Schilder. A woman is looking for a new place to live and to get her life back on track. Meanwhile, Amsterdam is flooding because of the increasing sea level and falling apart because of the building of the undergrond metro. Dutch, contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Nacht over Westwoud [Night over Westwoud] by Wanda Reisel. A GP moves to a small village to temporary take over the practice of a colleague. The village is split between those who hate Muslims coming to their village to buy ritually slaughtered sheep and those who think it’s fine and good for business. The doctor gets caught up in the struggle.  Dutch, contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

 Fingerprints by Marcia Leonard. A woman’s low-IQ son is arrested for murder. She’s sure he is innocent and starts investigating the case herself, as the police think they’ve got the right person and don’t look into other options. Mystery 4.5 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

bamiThe Ghost of Neil Diamond by David MilnesPaaz by Myrthe van der MeerThe Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling

.

Reviews

Annabel by Kathleen WinterNacht in Parijs (Night in Paris) by Michael Berg

Click on the blue link to see the review

Annabel by Kathleen Winter. About a boy in Canada who was born with both male and female characteristics. His father wants him to be a boy, his mother wouldn’t have minded a girl. A good story. 4 stars

This review was published on my Dutch blog:

Nacht in Parijs [Night in Paris] by Michael Berg. A thriller about a Dutch woman in Paris whose friend finds a body. They are both chased by a hired killer who actually is quite a decent guy. 4 stars

There’s also a giveaway of De regenboogbende by Andrea Hirata on my Dutch blog – you do need to know Dutch to enter, though!

.

Other news

See also my November overview and my New Arrivals (new books).

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Leslie says:

    A warm island with books sounds heavenly to me. A beach chair and a waiter serving drinks and snacks would make it perfect. When are we leaving? lol

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Casual Vacancy. Reviews have been all over the map. I was on the waiting list at the library for the audio but decided to hold off on it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, how about leaving tomorrow? It’s snowing here… brrr!

      I’m not sure about *Casual Vacancy* but I have the feeling I’m going to like it…

  2. Isi says:

    I can go to the island with you if you want🙂
    Here we are thinking of Christmas presents too but before I hope my parents think of my birthday present, that it’s this Thursday😉
    And I’m reading one novel by Rosamunde Pilcher (in Spanish): I love this author, and in December I just want to read books that I know I will love!

  3. Charlie says:

    I’m planning to read The Casual Vacancy very soon, too. Quite a lot of mystery and conflict in your books last week, sounds interesting, an overall theme but very different stories.

  4. Kathy J says:

    I’m interested in the Emma Donoghue novel. “Room” was hauntingly good.

  5. Shan says:

    I’m planning on doing my Sinterklaas shopping today. It’s been so busy here, the day has snuck up on me! It’s just for the kids though, so not a whole lot to be done thankfully. Hope you have a great time!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, you actually celebrate Sinterklaas? Have fun!

      • Shan says:

        Yep. We don’t do Santa Claus. Instead we do Sinterklaas, reading his story then the kids put out their wooden shoes and they get filled. Then on the 25th we do religious celebration. The Dutch way works much better for our family!

      • Leeswammes says:

        Shan, that is a good way to do it if you’re religious. In fact, that is how we Dutch celebrate too (even when not religious) – Christmas is for family and just having a nice time (and church for those who go), no presents, no Boxing Day shopping either.🙂

      • Shan says:

        My grandmother likes to tell the story of their first Christmas in Canada and how they did Sinterklaas but couldn’t figure out why no one else was celebrating. A week or two later they learned how Canadians celebrated and didn’t want my dad to feel left out so they did it all over again on the 25th. He thought he was going to get two celebrations every year and was pretty disappointed the next year when they did only the Canadian way.

      • Leeswammes says:

        That’s a great story, Shan. It’s nice that some of the Dutch tradition of Sinterklaas is still in your family.

  6. Lauren Smith says:

    One of my favorite authors is Emma Donoghue. I didn’t realize she has a new book out. Thanks! I can’t wait to read it! Historical fiction is my absolute favorite genre. I just finished an amazing book called, Shadow of the Sun by author Merrie P. Wycoff. This is historical fiction novel that showcases the mysticism/paranormal aspects of ancient Egypt. The author has thoroughly researched the topic and brings the reader back to Egypt during the time of the ancient Egyptian Royal Court.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lauren, The Sealed Letter isn’t in fact new – but it depends where you’re from. It was published in the USA in 2008 but only in the UK in 2011. Strange to have several years in between! I’ll have a look at your recommendation too.

  7. Lauren Smith says:

    Oh I didn’t realize that. Thanks!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

