Giveaway: Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein


A few days ago I reviewed this book and I loved it! Now is your chance to win a copy of this well-written book.

The author is Dutch so the book is translated into English. I got a copy from the author’s secretary to give away to one of my blog readers.

This is what the book is about:

From amazon.com: “Reminiscent of Andre Dubus’s critically acclaimed In the Bedroom and Joyce Carol Oates’s We Were the Mulvaneys, Renate Dorrestein’s new novel explores the undercurrents of married life and the world of today’s teenagers.

“Perfect” was the word both for Phinus and Franka Vermeer’s marriage and their teenage son, Jem, but in the wake of his senseless murder, grief drives a wedge between them. Determined to resurrect the joy they once knew, the couple embarks on a weekend in the country to mend their fraying relationship. Their marital troubles, however, run deeper than they realize. Suspenseful, tragic, and strangely touching, Without Mercy portrays the preciousness of everyday happiness.”

You can read my whole review HERE.

How to win:

  1. Anyone can enter. You do not need to have a blog and the giveaway is international (I can send the book to any .
  2. Leave a comment to say that you want to enter. Fill out your email address where it asks you to. This will not be shown in your published comment.
  3. For an extra entry, tweet about this giveaway and leave your tweet link (or your twitter handle) in the comments.
  4. You do not have to be a follower or become a follower, although if you like my blog I hope you will! You can follow by email or by RSS (see buttons in the side bar on the right).
  5. You can enter the giveaway until Friday, December 14th.
  6. I will notify the winner by email. The winner needs to answer my email within 3 days, or I’ll announce a new winner.

Good luck!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

31 Responses to Giveaway: Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

  1. Joanna says:

    Hi Judith, I would love to read this book so please enter me. I’ll come back to comment after I’ve tweeted too.

  2. YES! YES!! I want to enter. Thank you for the chance. I have followed you for quite a while.

  3. Hi Judith, the book sounds like something I would enjoy reading so I’d love win it. Did I ever tell you that Renate’s father was a customer of mine when I worked in a bookshop in Amstelveen about 25 years ago? Anyway, I’ll be tweeting about this giveaway too as soon as I’m finished with this comment. I’m always happy to help spread the word about Dutch authors in the English speaking world.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marleen, thanks for the tweet.

      No, I didn’t know you knew the author’s father. Did you read any books by Renate Dorrestein before? Because of the connection, maybe?

      • I did Judity. Titles completely escape me right now, but I’ve read a few and have a “dwarsligger” with two of her titles in it here as well, which I haven’t read yet. I always like to keep one or two Dutch books unread for when I travel home; just to reacquaint me with my mother tongue.

  4. Isi says:

    Ohhhh😯 International!
    I want to enter!
    Thank you very much for this opportunity!

  5. Alana says:

    I would dearly love to enter. I have sort of a Dutchfetish. Dank je! (Oh, and I also tweeted – @alanabevan)

  6. Lisa Garrett says:

    Please enter me and thank you for the giveaway.

  7. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the giveaway, I am excited to enter! I also tweeted: https://twitter.com/TheWRRedhead/status/275960162559340545

  8. Kristia says:

    Enter me please and thank you for the international giveaway!
    tweeted: https://twitter.com/MiltiadouK/status/275971141443649536
    email subscriber

  9. I like this novel’s plot. What a tragedy to deal with when a son commits a crime.
    teakettle58.yahoo.com
    I am a follower.
    I have tweeted the giveaway.

  10. I would love to read this book! (And that cover makes me want to cry a little – story of my life these days! Nearly cried at a Canon camera commercial the other day, pfffz.)

    Have tweeted too.

    Thanks for the giveaway, Judith!

  11. Would love to read this book. The heartbreak of a son commiting a crime.email follower.Lomazowr@gmail.com will tweet at rhondareads. Thanks fir giveaway.

  12. agaczyta says:

    Read your review and would like to read the book as well🙂

  13. Katrien says:

    This seems to be a nice book!
    I want to join in as well and I’ve tweeted! (@boeklover)

  14. Anita Yancey says:

    Please enter me! The book sounds wonderful. I am a follower and email subscriber. Thanks for having this giveaway.

  15. Mystica says:

    I’d like to be counted in for this one. Thanks for making it open to all. Its always appreciated.

  16. nicci says:

    Count me in! I have such an obsession with books, I can’t devour them fast enough! Thanks for posting such a lovely giveaway!

  17. Mary Preston says:

    WITHOUT MERCY certainly has piqued my interest. Fabulous thank you.

  18. hoimir says:

    How could I possibly miss the new Renate Dorrestein? I’d love to read this and was very happy to read of the giveaway being overseas-friendly.
    (@hoimir)

  19. anarmchairbythesea says:

    Sounds great, I’d love to win a copy!

  20. This book sounds really interesting. I’d love to win a copy. Thanks for the giveaway!

  21. Leeswammes says:

    This giveaway is now closed

  22. Pingback: Announcing the Winner of the Giveaway of Without Mercy « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

