The Eclectic Reader Challenge

2013eclecticreader

Shelleyrae at Book’d Out is organising the Eclectic Reader Challenge for the second year running. I didn’t participate last year, but this time, I’m in! The Eclectic Reader Challenge is for people who’d like to try something outside their normal reading genres.

Shelleyrae has made a list of 12 genres, each of which you have to read a book from during 2013 (overlap with other challenges is allowed). So here’s the list with genres and the books I (tentatively) have chosen.

Translated fictionThe Double by José Saramago
Historical mysteryThe Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor (read in January)
Romantic suspenseThe Scapegoat by Daphne du Maurier
Made into a movieThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry (read in January)
New Adult – Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
Urban Fantasy – ???
DystopianEcho City by Tim Lebbon
MemoirDe boer op [To the Farmers] by Irene van Aart
LGBTMoab is my Washpot by Stephen Fry
Action AdventureThe Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman
HumourSolar by Ian McEwan
Published in 2013The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway

For a few genres I have no ideas yet. What do you suggest?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to The Eclectic Reader Challenge

  1. Suzanne says:

    The Little Prince was made into a movie? I must check that out.
    I consider myself an eclectic reader already, but some of these categories are definitely new to me.
    PS. I hope you like Star of the Sea more than I did.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I didn’t know that either, just happened to find out via the tags in Shelfari, *The Little Prince* was tagged “movie”, so I checked and indeed.

      I also am quite an eclectic reader so my first challenge was to see how many genres I already “own”. And these were all books that are on my shelf or e-reader.

      I’m not at all sure about *Star of the Sea*, it was supposed to be really good so I put it on my wishlist – but since I got it it’s only been waiting on my shelves, I haven’t been too tempted to read it.

  2. The Double is a fantastic book! Enjoy!

  3. Charlie says:

    Thinking the same as Suzanne, the detail in those choices make me feel my reading is too narrow. New adult is between YA and adult, right? The only book that springs to mind is the one I’ve just finished, Break The Skin. One of the narrators is 19. Difficult category to set books for.

  4. Jenifer S. says:

    I don’t know if there are that many New Adult books out there since it seems to be a fairly “new” category but I have one on my list to review, The Guardians of Akasha. It’s a self-published and I haven’t read it yet but thought I’d throw out a title. 😉

    For urban fantasy, I’d recommend either the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning or the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the New adult title, Jenifer. I guess with this challenge I’ve a whole year to read the books, so hopefully some more New Adult books will have shown up around this time next year – I bet there will!

      Oh, yes! I’ve been reading the Carriger books, that’s right. One more to go. I might use that for Urban Fantasy. Thanks!

  5. Diana Leigh says:

    Good luck on the challenge! “New Adult” is a genre I’ve never heard of.

  6. roxxy84 says:

    I am not going to do any challenges in 2013, just going to read books!🙂 I have so many books I want to read but I am finishing up my challenges first… that is hard!

    Urban fantasy is a nice genre! I loved the books by Richelle Mead and Rachel Caine🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m not doing any challenges either, Roxanne. Erm, welll, sort of. I’m doing challenges where I can read the books that I wanted to read anyway, and I hope this will force me to read them. Most of the books have been on my shelves for quite a while so it’s time to read them.

      I’ve heard of Mead and Caine but never read anything by them. Thanks for mentioning them, I’ll keep them in mind.

  7. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’m glad you have decided to join the challenge Judith! I look forward to your reviews

  8. Lisa says:

    For Urban Fantasy, I’d recommend the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher or the Jane True series by Nicole Peeler. Both are lots of fun. The “New Adult” category makes me laugh — just seems like a marketing ploy by publishers looking for a new angle. In any case, this looks like an interesting challenge! Enjoy!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lisa, I’ve been wanting to try something by Jim Butcher, so thanks for the recommendation.

      I do think the “New Adult” genre is just a way to market books to young people. Indeed!

  9. Isi says:

    I didn’t know this challenge!
    Hummm, my father started to read Solar and he gave it up because he said it was boring. I couldn’t believe it, because I’ve read two books by Ian McEwan and I liked them very much, but this one must be different… Hope you like a little more.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, that’s a pity, Isi, about *Solar*. I like some of McEwan’s books but not all. I have wanted to read this for a while so I’ll just see how it goes.

  10. Leslie says:

    This is a challenge I might like to do. Urban Fantasy suggestion: Dresden Files. Awesome, and they take place in Chicago.

  11. Gnoe says:

    If you let me know when you’re starting Star of the Sea I may read along! From several of these genres I don’t exactly know what they enfold…😦 New adult? Romantic suspence? Urban fantasy? I need a lot of googling!😉 Good luck with the challenge.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Gnoe. Yes, I will let you know, if I remember. My copy of Star of the Sea isn’t very nice, it’s old and a bit yellow – and I think you know what I think of books like that! But I heard it’s very good so I should really try and read it next year.

      Some of the genres are not so clear to me, too. I use Shelfari (a kind of goodreads) to tell me which books are in what genre.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

