New Arrivals!

I have been requesting some books for review but I didn’t expect to get them all at the same time! I doesn’t matter, I’ll read and review them around their publication date, as I always do. This time most are books by authors I don’t know. I love discovering new authors. I also picked up a book from the library that had been on my wishlist for a while now AND I bought a book that I had wanted to read for Christmas last year.

For review

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen

I got this book from Bloomsbury Publishers via Netgalley (ebook). I have read several books by Liz Jensen and I think she’s a great author who tends to write about extraordinary things that can’t in fact happen but are great to read about. She’s most famous for The Ninth Life of Louis Drax. This new books is a apocalyptic/dystopian book, just like her last book, The Rapture. This book will be published in January 2013.

From the publishers: “A seven-year-old girl puts a nail gun to her grandmother’s neck and fires. An isolated incident, say the experts. The experts are wrong. Across the world, children are killing their families. Is violence contagious? As chilling murders by children grip the country, anthropologist Hesketh Lock has his own mystery to solve: a bizarre scandal in the Taiwan timber industry.

Hesketh has never been good at relationships: Asperger’s Syndrome has seen to that. But he does have a talent for spotting behavioral patterns and an outsider’s fascination with group dynamics. Nothing obvious connects Hesketh’s Asian case with the atrocities back home. Or with the increasingly odd behavior of his beloved stepson, Freddy. But when Hesketh’s Taiwan contact dies shockingly and more acts of sabotage and child violence sweep the globe, he is forced to acknowledge possibilities that defy the rational principles on which he has staked his life, his career, and, most devastatingly of all, his role as a father.

Part psychological thriller, part dystopian nightmare, The Uninvited is a powerful and viscerally unsettling portrait of apocalypse in embryo.”

***

Cover of Snow by Jenny Michman

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman

For review from Ballantine Books via Netgalley (ebook). I loved the cover and the book description. And I love a good thriller every now and then. This book will be published in January 2013.

From the publishers: “Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.

The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

Unraveling her late husband’s final days, Nora searches for an explanation—but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan’s best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.”

***

Lost & Found by Tom Winter

Lost & Found by Tom Winter

For review from Corsair publishers. The description said: “In the vein of The Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.” So, what’s not to like? I very much enjoyed Harold Fry although I should sheepishly admit that I (still) haven’t reviewed it. This book will be published in February 2013.

From the publishers: “It started with a letter …

Carol is married to a man she doesn’t love and mother to a daughter she doesn’t understand. Crippled with guilt, she can’t shake the feeling that she has wasted her life. So she puts pen to paper and writes a Letter to the Universe.

Albert is a widowed postman, approaching retirement age, and living with his cat, Gloria, for company. Slowly being pushed out at his place of work, he is forced down to the section of the post office where they sort undeliverable mail. When a series of letters turns up with a smiley face drawn in place of an address, he cannot help reading them.”

You can read an extract of this book on Amazon Kindle, in the free Dazzling Debuts book from Corsair.

***

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont

Also for review from Corsair publishers. I have two teenage boys myself and like the idea of reading about boys of that age. I am glad my boys don’t (seem to) suffer from any problems like these boys! This book will be published in January 2013.

From the publishers: “Jason Prosper grew up in the elite world of Manhattan penthouses, Maine summer estates, old boy prep schools and exclusive sailing clubs. A smart, athletic teenager, Jason maintains a healthy, humorous disdain for the trappings of affluence, preferring to spend afternoons sailing with Cal, his best friend and boarding school roommate. When Cal commits suicide during this junior year at Kensington Prep, Jason is devastated by the loss and transfers to Bellingham Academy. There, he meets Aidan, a fellow student with her own troubled past. They embark on a tender, awkward, deeply emotional relationship.

When a major hurricane hits the New England coast, the destruction it causes brings with it another upheaval in Jason’s life, forcing him to make sense of a terrible secret that has been buried by the boys he considers his friends.”

You can read an extract of this book on Amazon Kindle, in the free Dazzling Debuts book from Corsair.

***

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

Also for review from Corsair publishers. I do love a good Japanese mystery. This book may have nothing in common with The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino, but it reminds me of it anyway. And I did love that book! This book is already published, but a paperback edition is coming out in May 2013.

From the publishers: “Nishimura is a seasoned pickpocket, weaving through Tokyo’s crowded streets, in search of potential targets. He has no family, no friends, no connections . . . But he does have a past, which finally catches up with him when his old partner-in-crime reappears in his life and offers him a job he can’t refuse. Suddenly, Nishimura finds himself is caught up in a crime so tangled that even he might not be able to escape.”

 ***

From the library

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

This book was on my wishlist for a while. I always love apocalyptic (and dystopian) books and this seems to be one. The earth’s rotation is slowing, what is the effect for its inhabitants? Sounds great!

From the author: ”On a seemingly ordinary Saturday in a California suburb, Julia and her family awake to discover, along with the rest of the world, that the rotation of the earth has suddenly begun to slow. The days and nights grow longer and longer, gravity is affected, the environment is thrown into disarray. Yet as she struggles to navigate an ever-shifting landscape, Julia is also coping with the normal disasters of everyday life—the fissures in her parents’ marriage, the loss of old friends, the hopeful anguish of first love, the bizarre behavior of her grandfather who, convinced of a government conspiracy, spends his days obsessively cataloging his possessions. As Julia adjusts to the new normal, the slowing inexorably continues.”

***

Books I bought

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris

I bought this book to get into the Christmas mood. Last year, some people reviewed this book and I wanted to read it, too! I didn’t get round to buying it then, but this year I did. I already read it and loved it. It’s light and friendly, although a little too sweet. Nearly 500 pages was a bit too much, but overall, it was a really satisfying read.

From the publishers: “Dreams can come true – it could happen to you…

[…] Hidden away in the basement of Hardy’s – once London’s most elegant department store – Evie manages the stockroom of a shop whose glory days have long since passed.

When Evie overhears that Hardy’s is at risk of being sold, she secretly hatches a plan. If she can reverse the store’s fortunes by December 26th – three weeks away – and transform it into a magical destination once again, she might just be able to save it. But she’s going to need every ounce of talent and determination she has. In fact, she’s going to need a miracle.”

***

 Which of these books have you read?

Is there one that peaked your interest?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

39 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Joanna says:

    I love the sound of all of these apart from the Japanese one. I’m going to try to find them as well. Thanks for posting!

  2. Marleen Kennedy says:

    I read and reviewed The Uninvited some time ago and thought it was great. I think you may actually have commented on that post of mine. I hope you’ll enjoy it just as much.

  3. Birgit says:

    Hahaha … and I thought I was the only one requesting books for review and then they all arrive at once (as happened to me a few weeks ago). That said, I have “The Uninvited” on my TBR pile too and am really looking forward to reading it, it’s my first book by this author though. You “belated” Christmas read sounds perfect for the season too!

  4. I plan to read “Miracle on Regent Street” in the next days, like you I hope that the book will fit perfectly to this time of the year.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sabrina, I hope you’ll enjoy Miracle on Regent Street as much as I did. It’s the perfect book for this month, it starts on the first of December!

  5. Charlie says:

    I’ll have to get the Jensen, definitely. The Age of Miracles sounds good too, the premise is scary but compelling. Though I’ve heard it’s quite slow (ironically) so I’d probably wait for your review before considering it myself.

  6. Chinoiseries says:

    Great haul of books! It seems that you won’t be sitting idle during the busy December month. Just joking of course, how are you going you to combine all the reading with the festivities? Any tips for prepping for Christmas?

  7. Suzanne says:

    Lost & Found sounds delightful! I am definitely going to be reading that one.

  8. So many of these are on my TBR list as well. I do wish they all didn’t arrive at once — that always seems to happen to me with my library audio book requests. enjoy

    • Leeswammes says:

      Diane, how nice that you will also be reading some of these books! I’ll be looking out for your reviews, although I realise that may be a while for some of the books.

  9. Oh my, Judith, these all seem wonderful books. One I have waiting for me on my Kindle (The Age of Miracles), but I have to restrain myself to not go looking immediately for some of the others on your list.🙂

  10. Laura Caldwell says:

    The only one that I have read (or even heard of) is The Age of Miracles. It was good not fantastic. It did keep my interest-I love those “after-the apocalypse” books. The plot was OK but the writing cannot compare to books like “Alas Babylon,” my favorite one so far. Not sorry that I read it, but not as good as I would have guessed it was going to be.

  11. I loved The Age of Miracles. I agree with Laura it was good not fantastic but I feel like it gives a real idea of what would happen in society if something of this magnitude happened. SO many dystopian books go to the everyone has died of something and everyone is killing each other etc. This book, for me, was a really realistic take on what we could expect of everyday life changing and government involvement etc. I found it to also be compelling because we hear a lot from adults and the teenage set as far as dystopian but the narrator of this book is middle grade.

  12. Jae says:

    Quite a few on there look really good! I especially liked The Age of Miracles so I hope you enjoy it. Looking forward to your review! 🙂

  13. Did somebody say Japanese literature? :)) I haven’t read any of the books, but that one is miraculously winking at me :))

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isn’t it just, Ally? When I saw this book, I knew that would be one for me. I hope it’s indeed as good as I imagine. But modern Japanese fiction often is pretty good.

  14. Diana Leigh says:

    I received a copy of Cover of Snow too. Sounds good!

  15. Added Lost and Found to my shelves, looks like a very nice read.
    I am looking forward to your opinion on the Starboard Sea. It has been on my TBR shelf for a long time already.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ciska, I had not heard of *Starboard Sea* before but it sounds like a good read. Hopefully it’s good enough to take off the TBR pile and actually read it!

  16. Kelly says:

    I’m partway through The Uninvited and really enjoying it. Looking forward to your review!

  17. Isi says:

    I have only read The age of miracles and I think you’ll like it. The main idea is original and it’s the kind of book you read very fast. I didn’t love it, because a lot of things should be explained more, but I liked it.
    About the others, I didn’t know them, of course, but the first two books look great!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, I have now read *The Age of Miracles*. As you say it’s a fast read. I liked it, also didn’t love it. Some things should have been explained more. But it was a fun read.

  18. Lucybird says:

    I like the sound of Lost and Found.

    I’ve read The Thief and quite enjoyed it, although it’s not really a book that stands out for me.

  19. Marie says:

    What a list, what a list! The Uninvited, The Age Of Miracles and The Thief are all already on my wishlist and I have dropped some heavy hints that the first two may end up under my tree on Christmas Day if I’m lucky! I’ve read Louis Drax and The Rapture before and really enjoyed them both, although they are so different from each other it was almost like reading two different authors, so it will be interesting to see what her new novel is like.

    I was doing some Christmas shopping today and spotted The Devotion Of Suspect X in the ‘staff recommend’ section – never heard of it before but it certainly caught my eye. The Starboard Sea sounds really good too. A great influx of reading material for you this week, enjoy!

  20. Leslie says:

    I’m supposed to be reviewing Cover of Snow next month but I haven’t received my copy yet. Of course I’m still in the dark ages with paper so it takes longer! It does sound like a good thriller and yeah, a nice cover too.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I actually prefer a paper book, Leslie – I’m not so keen on ebooks. But with this publisher being new to me I didn’t think they’d send the paper copy overseas so I was happy to go for a Netgalley version this time.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

