It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

I went into my local bookshop three times last week, and bought a book on two of those occasions. One is for my Secret Santa partner and the other, for moi myself, because of a twitter reading group. As they’re discussing May We Be Forgiven by one of my favorite authors, A. M. Homes, I decided I had to join in. So I bought the book, and will read it this week, in time for the discussion.

I’ve been writing Christmas cards, and need to send them off today to be sure they arrive on time in different places in the world.🙂 Yes, some are for the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange. My partners are in Canada and the UK.

I’ve also been looking through publishers’ brochures and asking for review books for the new year. I haven’t done that before, but it seems a better way than finding out a book is published and then wondering if I could have reviewed it if I’d been asking for it on time.

Friday is my next real-life book group meeting. We’re discussing The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. I’m reading it at the moment and it’s a good read, better than I expected.

I got a nice email from an author thanking me for my positive review of her book. I love it when authors do that. As if I have anything to do with it! It’s their book, if it’s good, it gets a “good” review.🙂

Have a good week!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali HarrisThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walkerbami

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. Science fiction, 4 stars.

Het bamischandaal [The Noodle Scandal] by P. F. Thomése. Contemporary fiction, Dutch, 4 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. RowlingMay We Be Forgiven by A. M. HomesThe Ghost of Neil Diamond by David MilnesPaaz by Myrthe van der Meer

.

Reviews

Fingerprints by Marcia LeonardHeft by Liz MooreEerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn Schilder

Click on the blue link to see the review

Fingerprints by Marcia Leonard. A woman’s low-IQ son is arrested for murder. She’s sure he is innocent and starts investigating the case herself, as the police think they’ve got the right person and don’t look into other options. Mystery 4.5 stars.

Heft by Liz Moore. A very fat former college professor is contacted by an old student and realises what state he and his house are in. Hiring a cleaning lady changes his life. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

This review was published on my Dutch blog:

Eerst een huis [First a House] by Cathelijn Schilder. A woman is looking for a new place to live and to get her life back on track. Meanwhile, Amsterdam is flooding because of the increasing sea level and falling apart because of the building of the undergrond metro. Dutch, contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Other news

See also my New Arrivals! (new books).

I’ve joined the Eclectic Reader Challenge – read from 12 different genres.

—>

—> Enter my giveaway (world-wide) of a Dutch literary fiction book (translated to English): Mercy by Renate Dorrestein.

—>

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

32 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying The Casual Vacancy, I still need to read it…

    Happy reading!

  2. Charlie says:

    It’s difficult to go to a bookshop and not buy, right? Getting a response when you’ve written a review is great, it’s such a feel-good thing to have that sort of reply – and as you’ve inferred, it’s humbling. Glad you’re enjoying The Casual Vacancy!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I find it much easier to go into a bookshop and not buy when I remember the pile of books I still have at home. But even so, I’m tempted (too much) some of the time.

  3. readerbuzz says:

    I need to go get a book for our librarians’ book exchange. What to choose, what to choose???

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by!

  4. I just got The Casual Vacancy too and I’m excited to read it, despite the mixed reviews I’ve seen.

  5. bmackela says:

    I just finished APE: Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur – How to Publish a Book by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch and Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page by Brad Tolinski. I’m reading The Intercept by Dick Wolf. I review books on my blog that I get from the first reads program on Goodreads.com and from the publishers via NetGalley.com. You should try those sites, if you would like to receive some free books and then review them.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Bill, thanks for the recommendations. I’m using Netgalley, too and I get a lot of free books directly from publishers for review. It’s wonderful how we bloggers can get our hands on the newest books, isn’t it?

  6. Fingerprints grabbed my attention. I do love a good legal mystery…and especially one that seems so true to life (when the police stop investigating because they think they have their perp.)

    I enjoy getting an author’s feedback after a good review. I’ve received a few of those…one this week even started following me on Twitter.

    Enjoy your week! Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  7. Receiving a response from an author is so nice isn’t it? I’m looking forward to reading what you thought of The Age of Miracles.

  8. Dollycas says:

    You have had a busy week! I love when authors contact me about a review. It makes me happy that the noticed especially a good review. The comments received when you pan their book can get nasty.🙂

    Happy Reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve never had a nasty email/comment from an author, Dollycas. I do select books that I think I will really, really like, so usually that is the case. Even when I write a “bad” review I seem to do it in a nice way.🙂

      • Dollycas says:

        I thought I had written a nice review of a book I really thought I would like but the plot really fell apart and had a rushed ending, but boy was I taken to task about it both by the author and other reviewers on Amazon who couldn’t believe I criticized the story. We all don’t like the same things and thankfully there are too many books and too little time to get hung up in one we don’t care for.

      • Leeswammes says:

        How awful, Dollycas! Some people just seem to think that if they deem a book to be “good” no one can deny it and if they do, they’re just being difficult pests. Sad.

  9. So nice that the author read and appreciated your review! I still need to read The Casual Vacancy. Have a great week!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  10. Stephanie says:

    I’ve been wanting to read The Casual Vacancy. I’m glad to hear that it’s good.🙂

  11. joyweesemoll says:

    I’m working on cards today, too. I got the one to Austria done first and in the mail today so it gets there on time.

    Joy’s Book Blog

    Have a good week!

  12. Leslie says:

    I’m still a hold out on Casual Vacancy. I enjoyed The Age of Miracles. I thought it would have been a YA book, but it wasn’t. My cards finally went out today too.

  13. theonlycin says:

    I am reading “The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared” by Jonas Jonasson – I’m finding it pretty slow though.

  14. I loved Miracle on Rehent Street. Such a lovely book.
    I finished The Casual Vacancy yesterday. I know a lot of people didn’t get on with it but I thought it was brilliantly written and very thought provoking.

    Have a great week🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Vintagefrills – I also loved Miracle on Regent Street, a really warm, feel-good book. I also agree about The Casual Vacancy – I thought it was very good.

  15. Mystica says:

    The Casual Vacancy is one book which I have to find in 2013!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

