Joining the TBR Pile Challenge 2013

The 2013 TBR Pile Challenge

The TBR Pile Challenge 2013 is organised by Adam of Roof Beam Reader. The idea behind this challenge is that you read older books on your shelves, books that have been there for longer than a year. They deserve to be read, too!

The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months).

Never before have I had books on my to-be-read shelves for longer than a year, but now, I’m sorry to say, I have. I read most of the books that I got before Janruary 2012, but not all.

So here’s my TBR Pile Challenge list:

1. The Double by José Saramago

2. Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor (read in January)

3. The Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman

4. Ik was Amerika [I was America] by Gustaaf Peek (read in February)

5. Wolf Totem by Jiang Rong

6. The Major of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy

7. Tulipomania by Mike Dash

8. Een nacht om te vliegeren [A Night to Fly Kites] by Renate Dorrestein

9. Een stil vertrek [A Quiet Departure] by Annette Zeelenberg

10. De dag waarop ik Johannes Klein doodreed [The Day I Killed Johannes Klein] by Elle van Rijn

11. The River by Tricia Wastvedt – AS I DNF THIS, I need to substitute an alternate!

12. Schrijvende vrouwen [Women Writers]

Alternates:

1. Dubbele stilte [Double Silence] by Mari Jungstedt

2. Echo City by Tim Lebbon

How long has the oldest book on your TBR been sitting there?

Planning to read it soon?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to Joining the TBR Pile Challenge 2013

  1. Charlie says:

    Wow, only up to a year? I think I’d have to throw a party if I got that far! I’d say the oldest TBR I have is about 8 years old. I know for definite another is 6 years and I bought one before that so it’s an estimate. I do plan to read it, but it’s not on my challenge list (I’m doing Ana and Iris’s long awaited reads month).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Charlie. You should definitely read or bin those books. Why have them if you won’t read them? And are they a bit yellowed now? Rather than nice & new & white? Poor books!

  2. Ahh… what a great idea. I’m going to start my pile this evening!

  3. bibliosue says:

    Um, yes, well I have a few books that were on my list for the last TWO TBR Pile Challenges and I still haven’t read them. They will be going on the list again this time around and I will read those first!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Great idea! I have books that have been sitting on my shelf, unread, for a decade.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh no, Stephanie, that’s terrible! Why don’t you check them over to see if you still have any interest in reading them? And discard them if you don’t? Or don’t you mind all that much? I really don’t like to have a large TBR pile. It’s at 90 now, of which about 15 older than 1 year.

  5. Roxanne says:

    I should read some of those books as well… Some of my books have been on the shelf since 2005.

  6. Isi says:

    I’ve just seen the challenge in other blog, and I think I’m participating too!
    I also have a great to-be-read pile😀
    And about your selection, I only know José Saramago, Thomas Hardy and Mari Jungstedt, can you believe it?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, I do hope you’ll join in! It will be nice to read some of the older books – they used to be new, too!🙂

      I’m not surprised you have only heard of the few authors you mention, because I have a few Dutch authors on the list, that aren’t translated as far as I know and some other obscure books. I’m actually surprised that you’ve heard of Junstedt! Has she been translated to Spanish?

      • Isi says:

        Yes, indeed.
        I haven’t read anything by her yet, but there’s a very popular saga with the same detective (Anders Knutas, I think). We have 6 books available so long! She has a lot of fans here.

  7. JoV says:

    I have failed for 2 years so I am definitely not going to join next year. When you are ready to read Wolf Totem and if time is right, do let me know. I have a copy too.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I have no idea when I’ll do Wolf Totem but if you have an urge to read it soon we can set a date/month and read it “together”.

      • JoV says:

        Judith,
        Not soon… Spring?

      • Leeswammes says:

        Yes, sounds fine. I’m a little bit “booked” for January already. {sigh} I do keep a spreadsheet with slots for “my own” books but often I fill those with review books – WHICH I SHOULD NOT DO!!!!

      • JoV says:

        Yes Judith, it’s dangerously addictive those review books. One click of a button from Netgalley, Daily Kindle Deals etc… There is a lot of self-control needed here…!

  8. Lindsay says:

    This sounds like a great challenge. I’m not sure how I’d narrow it down to 12 books though. I hope you get to read The Mayor of Casterbridge, it is one of my favourite all time books.

  9. Leslie says:

    This is the one challenge that I failed miserably so this year I’m not even going to try. I read zero books that I choose. Yup, zero. I did great with the other challenges and finished all of them, but not this one where I had to commit to specific titles.

    The only book on your 2013 list that I read is The Major of Casterbridge. It was years ago, but I remember liking it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ouch, Leslie! Zero books? It’s bad but maybe not as bad as the 2 books (out of 12) that I read last year for my own challenge!!! I did a wishlist challenge that I totally failed at. This year Uniflame is taking over from me, I didn’t think it was right for me to host it a second year.🙂

  10. I’m seriously thinking of doing ths challenge to make me tackle my mountain!

  11. Laurie C says:

    The 2012 TBR Pile Challenge was my first challenge as a blogger and I failed. Only read 2 of the 12. I just signed up for 2013, though! My new strategy is to read more of them in the beginning of the year and stop putting them off till later. I really don’t know how old my oldest TBR book is, but I know I bought a copy of Anna Karenina a very long time ago and never tackled it. I didn’t put any classics on my list for 2012, and none for 2013 either, so the ones I plan to read haven’t been on my pile all that long.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurie, that’s what I’m trying too. I’ve planned January with several books off my challenge lists. Hope it works!

      I wonder when you will ever read Anna K.? Maybe take it to that uninhabited island?

  12. orangerie says:

    Saramago rocks🙂 i hope you’ll enjoy The Double. nice list!

  13. Pingback: Boek recensie: Ik was Amerika door Gustaaf Peek | De Boekblogger

  14. Heh, I should have signed myself up to read more than 12, I needed this challenge so badly! I still have books on the TBR that I bought as a teenager. I have a problem!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wow, and I know you were a teenager a few years ago at the least. That’s bad, Kate. Read those books or get rid of them. There’s a challenge for you: Read or Rid.🙂

  15. Isi says:

    ¡¡¡Congratulations, Judith!!! You are my hero😀
    I’m still working on my challenge, but at this time of the year, I have my doubts about if I’m capable of doing it. Anyway, what I like about the challenges is having fun, and I have it!

  16. Isi says:

    Ohh Excuse me Judith!
    In my reader I saw this post as if it was a new post on your blog and I automatically thought you have finished the challenge…
    I don’t know if my reader is stupid, or if I’m even more stupid than it😦

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

