2012 Challenges – The Results


I participated in 4 reading challenges in 2012. I didn’t do too badly…. Let’s have a look:

Wishlist Challenge: Big Fail

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!

The Wishlist challenge was organised by myself. I think I did worse than the other participants. Shame on me. I think I sort of forgot about this challenge, otherwise, I’m not sure why I didn’t read more of this list. Such  a great idea: read books that are already on your wishlist (no newly added books!), because the poor wishlist is often so neglected.

  1. The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano
  2. The Girls by Lori Lansens
  3. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (Read in January)
  4. Bellwether by Connie Willis
  5. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley
  6. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  7. Solar by Ian McEwan
  8. Wild Child by T.C. Boyle
  9. The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa
  10. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (Read in January)
  11. The Pajama Girls of Lambert Square by Rosina Lippi
  12. Six Degrees by Mark Lynas

Ebook Challenge: Succes and Fail

2012 Ebook Challenge
The 2012 Ebook Challenge was organised by Workaday Reads. I went for the “CD” level which was 10 ebooks. I started off with the list below, of which I read only 3 books. But… while I didn’t have an ereader at the beginning of this challenge, I was gifted one soon after and read much more than 10 books, just not these. In total, I read 39 ebooks this year. Well over target!

  1. The Lens and the Looker by Lori S. Kaufman
  2. Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook
  3. Schrijvende vrouwen [Women Writers] by Jacqueline Bel and Thomas Vaessens
  4. De dag dat ik Johannes Klein doodreed [The Day I Ran Over Johannes Klein] by Elle van Rijn
  5. Ik was Amerika [I Was America] by Gustaaf Peek
  6. De weldoener [The Philanthropist]  van P. F. Thomese
  7. I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
  8. Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif
  9. Chasing Clovers by Kat Flannery
  10. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The A-Z Book Challenge: SUCCESS(ish)


A-Z Books Challenge

The A-Z Book Challenge was organised by Babies, Books, & Signs. The idea was to read books with titles beginning with all the letters of the alphabet. I had to take it a step further of course, and decided to read the alphabet in order. I got to “V” and then it was December and I had other books to read (and no books at the ready to finish off the challenge anyway).

A. Jan: Away by Amy Bloom

B. Jan: The Bone Garden by Tess Gerritsen

C. Jan: The Collector by John Fowles

D. Jan: The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley

E. Jan: The End of Alice by A. M. Homes

F. Jan: The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

G. Jan: The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson

H. Feb: Half-Brother by Kenneth Oppel

I. Feb: The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

J. Mar: Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

K. July: De kers op de taart [Recipe for love] by Katie Fforde

L. Aug: The Light between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

M. Aug: Miss Me When I’m Gone by Emily Arsenault

N. Sept: Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro

O. Sept: The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin

P. Sept: De perpetuum mobile van de liefde [The Perpetuum Mobile of Love] by Renate Dorrestein (not reviewed)

Q. Oct- Mrs. Queen Takes the Train

R. Oct- The Round House by Louise Erdrich

S. Oct- The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

T. Oct- Tweestrijd [Duel] by Linda Jansma

U.  Oct- The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (not reviewed)

V.  Nov-De verzegelde brief [The Sealed Letter] by Emma Donnoghue

Pretty good, if I say so myself!


What’s in a Name 5 Challenge: SUCCESS

What's in  a Name Challenge

The What’s in a Name 5 Challenge was organised by Beth Fish Reads. The goal was to read books with a certain category in the title:

  1. A book with a topographical feature (land formation) in the title: Life’s a BEACH by Claire Cook.
  2. A book with something you’d see in the sky in the title: The STARlite Drive-in by Marjorie Reynolds
  3. A book with a creepy crawly in the title: The Death of BEES by Lisa O’Donnell
  4. A book with a type of house in the title: The Round HOUSE by Louise Erdrich
  5. A book with something you’d carry in your pocket, purse, or backpack in the title: The Sealed LETTER by Emma Donoghue
  6. A book with a something you’d find on a calendar in the title: The Rise and FALL of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May

In 2013 I’m not doing many challenges, as I want to read the TBR books I already own as much as possible. I did sign up for The TBR Pile Challenge 2013, The Eclectic Reader Challenge,  and a Dutch challenge (organised by me) called Ik Lees Nederlands! [I Read Dutch!] which encourages to read more originally Dutch books (rather than translations from English and German, etc.).

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

41 Responses to 2012 Challenges – The Results

  1. Isi says:

    Well, I also love book challenges! In Spain there’s one about reading Spanish authors too.
    This year I will also organise one about reading in English (to encourage myself).

    The only thing I can say is that it’s a pity that you didn’t read the book by Yoko Ogawa; it’s wonderful! I organised last year a joint reading about this book and everybody loved it (also the edithor gave me some books to make a giveaway and it was a success).
    Hope you can read it this year🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, how many books are you planning to read next year? And how many in English? I read a lot of English so I am not going to join your challenge. So far this year I have read 113 in English and 84 in Dutch (inlcuding translations). Yes, that’s very close to 200. I know, I should get a life and do something else. But reading is my hobby!

      I do definitely want to read the book by Ogawa, I was really looking forward to reading it. I don’t know what happened but well… it didn’t happen!🙂

      • Isi says:

        hehehe, hope it happen this year.
        Oh no, my challenge will have a smaller goal: about 20 books in English I think is enough for me. 200 books is… well, I have no words!🙂
        I have read this year only 80. But I’m very slow at reading in English, so I expect next year I’ll read less books if I read 20 in English.

  2. Uniflame says:

    This is so smart! Doing one wrap up post for all Challenges! Why didn’t I think of that?😉

  3. Katrien says:

    Well,, I think you did a great job!
    Next week will publish our results and I think I only completed one challenge, namely the Mystery and Suspense challenge. Further I tried the A-Z Challenge, but in the end some letter where difficult and I don’t like reading books just for the title.
    No, I’m wrong I completed two challenges! I also read 10 ebooks.
    But like you, I’m not doing much challenges next year, only one, the Around the world in 12 books challenge.

  4. Birgit says:

    You did fine, really. I only participated in two challenges, both hosted by myself too. I already finished my level for the Dean Koontz Reading Challenge in July while the Tea & Books Reading Challenge (the one with the 700+ pages tomes) well I did fail, sort of, as I “only” read four instead of six books. Either way, both challenges were fun and I will host another Tea & Books Reading Challenge next year too … this time I shall settle for a lower level though!😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Birgit, I think it’s great how you finish your own challenges! I should try that next time!! Last year I also had my own challenge that I did bad on. Maybe I don’t like my challenges enough.

  5. Rikki says:

    You did great, especially on the A-Z one, seeing that it is a huge list. I was not nearly as successful.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, the A-Z one was fun but in the end I didn’t want to read books that I had to read in order to finish the challenge. But that’s fine, I did well on it.

  6. You did great, Judith. I only participated in two challenges this year and I was succesful, in a way. I read more than 50 e-books (I had aimed at 50, so that is definitely a success), and I have read 52 books of my TBR-list (also aimed at 50), but this one is not so successful, because at the start of the year I had 408 books on this list (only English books), and now I have 422. So, I wouldn’t call that a great success. So, no more challenges for me, next year. Although your challenge for reading Dutch books is tempting.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nadine, that’s very good! I think you should congratulate yourself for reading so many of your TBR list. Yes, so you got even more books. But that would have happened anyway!

      Oh, do join the Dutch challenge! We start at 5 books.

      • Perhaps I will join your challenge, Judith. But because I don’t use my blog any more, and don’t want to write ‘real’ reviews, I’ll have to figure out how I can participate. I’ll think about it this weekend.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Nadine, if you participate you can leave short reviews in the comment section of a post that is especially for reviews links. Just some short paragraph on whether you liked the book will suffice.

  7. bibliosue says:

    If it is any consolation, you did much better than I did, Judith.
    I’m doing the TBR Pile Challenge (again) and maybe 1 or 2 others, if for no other reason than it gets me to look closely at all of the books I already own.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, I like that too, Suzanne, when a challenge “forces” me to read the books I already own. Usually they are pretty good, but sometimes there are duds. But at least, we know that then and can take them off the TBR.

  8. I’m only going to do Adam’s TBR challenge in 2013. I want a pressure free year🙂

  9. debbierodgers says:

    Oh – how I wish I could get my challenge wrap-ups into one neat post like this.
    You did REALLY well, Judith.

    I see no failure at all in your ebook challenge (you weren’t required to list in advance, were you?) 39 eBooks! My word, woman – no failure in that, at all.

    Your A-Z challenge is well done, too – X & Z are always hard. I struggled with ‘K’ but I see you used a Dutch title – one of the advantages of being bi(multi?)lingual. If only I had that gift (and well enough to read novels!!) How did you like ,The Half-Brother?

    I completed my wish list this year, but just – and what a struggle! You’d think that books I’ve wanted to read would be easy to get to. But other shiny new books always come along.

    And, last but not least: I love your titles for What’s In a Name? That’s my favourite challenge of the year🙂

    Once again – well done!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debbie, you are absolutely right. The ebook challenge was really a great success. It’s just that I had made that list beforehand. Now, most of those books are in the TBR challenge for 2013. Will I read them then? I’m not sure, but if I can at least cross them off the list (e.g., finished or started but abandoned) that will be good.

      Debbie, pssst, I actually cheated on the K. Generally I use the original Dutch title or the original English title, but here I took an English book and used the Dutch title. Naughty me!

      Well done for completing the wish list challenge. I know what you mean, I actually DO want to read those books! I just…. haven’t.

  10. Shan says:

    You took on some big challenges and did a great job! The month of December has been a big push for me to finish my challenges. I have completed one, have on that runs from July to July and will definitely complete that one. The other two it’s going to be down to the wire.

    I love a good challenge. Next year I will do the Classics challenge again and I always do the Canadian Book challenge. I’m considering the Eclectic Reader Challenge. Maybe I’ll sign up for your Dutch challenge, can I do that and read Dutch authors translated to English?

  11. I can’t make up my mind about challenges, keep saying I won’t participate anymore but am always tempted to join in when I see everyone else’s lists!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m just the same, Joanna! But I’ve learned from my “mistakes” and now I focus primarily on my existing TBR rather than doing challenges that involve reading new books.

  12. Leslie says:

    Ouch… you failed your own challenge! Overall you did fine. That A-Z was a big one.

    I’m doing What’s in a Name this year and maybe one other, but no big or impossible (like the TBR pile) challenges or anything that requires me to list specific titles. Audiobooks aren’t a challenge for me anymore so it wouldn’t be sporting to join that one. I have a few more weeks to decide.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I did fail my own challenge, Leslie. Isn’t that silly? Yes, I’d say audiobooks are no longer a challenge for you, same for me with ebooks (as it turned out) – also I don’t like the Goodreads challenge of reading a certain number of books in a year (I suppose they’re doing one for next year, too). I need to read less, not more!

      • Leslie says:

        You read too many books? Never! I didn’t even include the goodreads challenge (which I joined at 100 books) in my results. I usually read around 50 books a year, and I figured with audio I’d come close to double that figure, and I did… so not really a ‘challenge’ in my mind.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I DO read too many books, Leslie! I need to find another hobby (or job). I don’t think I read too much as such, but I need to start using some of the reading time for other things or it will eventually feel that I’ve been reading away some of my years.🙂

      • Leslie says:

        Exactly! Which is why I started listening to audiobooks. Hint, hint.😉

      • Leeswammes says:

        I know, it would be a good idea, Leslie, but I’m not an auditory person. I find it very hard to concentrate on audiobooks (I have tried). I never listen to the radion either. The only time when I can listen is in the car as a passenger, when I’m forced to sit still and do nothing.

  13. You did great in 2012. Hope 2013 is just as good for you.

  14. The number and variety of books you read is impressive. I can see why you didn’t get to all on your ambitious lists, but I highly recommend Bellwether, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and The Housekeeper and the Professor. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  15. JoV says:

    I think you have done very well in your challenge and I hope you do even greater in the TBR challenge next year too!

  16. roxxy84 says:

    I will post a blog about my A-Z challenge soon🙂 I am reading the last book for that challenge right now. You did a good job!

  17. Laurie C says:

    I had to laugh at your forgetting about your own challenge! I’m guessing your subconscious mind was too smart for you and knew you were trying to trick it with a challenge to yourself!😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Something like that, Laurie. I know that if I don’t start a challenge early on in the year (and make sure I keep on top of it), it just won’t happen. So, only 3 challenges for me this year.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

