Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Some more Christmas shopping, I think I’m more or less OK now. Also I got a box of 20 banned books, for subscribing to a national newspaper here in the Netherlands. So there’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover, The Hunchback of the Notre Dame, Metamorphosis, some Dutch banned books (I didn’t even know any Dutch books had been banned). Anyway, a few years’ worth of Banned Books Month reads!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4 + 1 DNF

A Christmas Carol by Charles DickensPaaz by Myrthe van der Meer.Last to Die by Tess GerritsenReach for a Different Sun by Jennifer O'ConnorA Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Classic, 5 stars.

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer. Dutch, contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Last to Die by Tess Gerritsen. Thriller, 4 stars.

Reach for a Different Sun by Jenni O’Connor. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Classic, did not finish.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Me Before You by Jojo MoyesThe Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnsonincognito

.

Reviews

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. RowlingThe Ghost of Neil Diamond by David MilnesDe rode loper by Thomas Rosenboom

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

The Ghost of Neil Diamond by David Milnes. Contemporary fiction, 3 stars.

De rode loper [The Red Carpet] by Thomas Rosenboom. Dutch, Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

.

Other news

Check out my post on the Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange – see what cards I got and what other people received.

Challenges, challenges! This is my roundup for 2012.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Isi says:

    Ohh banned books, interesting!
    Here there are also cheap editions of some books with the newspaper, I have a lot of them because my father loves buying cheap books😉
    Well, hope you have a great Christmas Eve and Christmas Day!
    And a lot of books under your tree!

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    An interesting mix Judith! That’s a lot of banned books to read! I hope you enjoy them.
    Merry Christmas to you xx

  3. I see you didn’t like Tales of Two Cities either. As I already told you, I think, I only finished it because I listened to it as an audiobook and didn’t have to read it myself.
    Merry Christmas!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I cannot wait to read your thoughts on The Orphan Master’s Son. I stopped after about 100 pages but I will probably go back to it.
    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

