Quick Book Review: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson WalkerRating: 4/5
Number of pages: 256 (my Dutch edition)
First published: 2012
Genre: science fiction, apocalypse
I got this book: from the library (Dutch edition: Wij waren hier).

I love books in which the world is no longer as we know it (post-apocalyptic or dystopian novels). In The Age of Miracles, the reader is present when the changes start: the rotation of the earth is slowing down, with as a result that the days become longer. First only about an hour is added to the day, but slowly but surely, the days become extremely long, up to 60 hours or more.

Julia is a twelve-year old who lives with her parents and has a secret crush on a boy from school, Seth Moreno. The story is told by an older Julia, looking back on her youth. The slowing of the earth has all kinds of effects. For instance, crops won’t grow because they spend too long in the sun (longer days) or too long in the dark (longer nights). Some people become ill with a new illness, related to the changing situation.

The main effect is, that most people follow the government’s instruction and continue living a 24-hour schedule. This schedule is no longer related to the rotation of the earth, so in the middle of the night it can be completely light, whereas on another day, it can be dark, or nearly dawn. A dissident group of people want to live by the “real time” day and try to stay awake while it is light, sleeping when it is dark. Soon, they are being discriminated against by the majority.

The book explores the further effects on the lives of people as the earth’s rotation slows more and more. I found this all very believable, although I was surprised how well society seemed to continue as before. Julia gets a little closer to her heart-throb Seth, but there wasn’t too much of a plot to the story.

The story ends in the “current” time, but the reader doesn’t get a good insight in what the situation is then, how the living conditions have changed compared to the time before the slowing. I loved reading the story until I got to the end and felt a little cheated. What now?

I very much liked the way this book explored a “What if” situation that no one could put right again. They had to adapt to the situation as well as they could. Only the ending was unsatisfactory to me, because the reader still doesn’t know what will happen to humanity according to the scenario in the book.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Quick Book Review: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

  1. Leslie says:

    I mostly liked this book too and overall I enjoyed the story though it could have been a little more in-depth. I like detail when I’m entering a dystopian world. I agree about that ending too.

  2. Isi says:

    I agree: I liked very much the story, but I felt that it could have been longer and deeper in the situation that is being told. How Julia has grow up all those years, what happened with the ill people, if the camps that was following the sun time-table are still working, etc.
    But it’s a page-turner and you read it very fast and the story is interesting because the apocalypsis is uncommon and original.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, indeed, I was curious to know what the situation was like right now (and what happened in the intervening years). I was surprised they had all survived that long.

  3. A bit more depth would have been a good thing, all in all I enjoyed this book though🙂 No matter what is going on in the world coming of age is still a tough time.

  4. Another one on my TBR-list, Judith. I’ll think I will enjoy it too. Thanks!

  5. Marie says:

    I’ve reviewed this recently, too, Judith – I agree that the scenario is great but I didn’t really like Julia’s narration, I think an adult narrative would have added another dimension to the story.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I didn’t have a problem with the narrative, but yes, it would have been interesting to see this from an adult point of view. It would be quite a different story!

  6. I loved this book, and I think that it’s okay not to know 100% in the end. . .because it hasn’t happened, and we don’t really know.

  7. Pingback: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker | Ton of Worms

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

