Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

It was Christmas, as many of you may have noticed! We spent 4 days at my in-laws in England which was good fun. We spent a disappointing time shopping on Monday (Nottingham is just not what it used to be. Erm, no, it’s exactly what it used to be, that’s the thing. It’s (now) older and more dilapidated. Only the Park and Ride is really very good!)

On Christmas Day we had lunch at my brother in law – my sons (14, 15) got on really well with their female cousins (11, 13) whom they hadn’t seen for 18 months. They played cards and games all day, well, for 3 whole days, really!

On Boxing Day my parents in law were host to the family. With 4 different rooms to sit in and talk, play, and eat, no one was in each other’s way. Ideal!

On Thursday we drove home, via Tesco Peterborough, which is probably about 10 times the size of my local XL supermarket, no kidding! We got our favorite English staples, including mushy peas, malted wheats, spaghetti hoops, rice pudding, crisps (potato chips) of (for Dutch people) unimaginable flavours, and mince meat for next year’s home made mince pies. And more.

And would you believe it: I.bought.no.books! I didn’t come across anything special (yes, I looked, of course). All the books had a been there/done it kind of story. I was hoping for a scoop, but no.

I read a lot, even at the in-laws, mostly during tv time. My FIL read his new Bernard Cornwell, so I felt justified in reading too. And on the drive to and from Nottingham (about 10 hours each way).

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 5

Last to Die by Tess GerritsenReach for a Different Sun by Jennifer O'ConnorincognitoThe Time of My Life by Cecelia AhernThe Uninvited by Liz Jensen

Last to Die by Tess Gerritsen. Thriller, 4 stars.

Reach for a Different Sun by Jenni O’Connor. Thriller, 4 stars.

Incognito by Henk Rijks. Contemporary fiction (Dutch), 5 stars

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen. Apocalyptic fiction, 5 stars.

I wanted to read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (Netgalley ebook), but it didn’t display well enough on my Sony e-reader – the font was too small and could not be increased.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Orphan Master's Son by Adam JohnsonStar of the Sea by Joseph O'ConnorThe Soldier's Wife by Margaret Leroy

.

Reviews

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer.A Tale of Two Cities by Charles DickensThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Paaz by Myrthe van der Meer. Dutch, contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Classic, did not finish.

The Age of Miracles by Karen Walker Thomson. Apocalyptic, 4.5 stars.

.

Other news

I got my Secret Santa package, and wow, it was good!

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. parrish lantern says:

    Glad your Xmas went well & got some reading in also. At the moment I’m reading a book about The Life of Miyamoto Musashi, probably the most famous of samurai. Will be revealing my personal favourites of the year on the 1st & something totally unexpected on The Parrish Lantern – 50 shades……

  2. Mystica says:

    We always buy food when we go home. Even though you know it will last such a short time we all indulge!

    Have a wonderful new year.

  3. Merry Christmas Judith! I don’t know Nottingham well but the couple of times I’ve visited I thought it nice enough. This week I’m reading Modesty Blaise comics inbetween all the decorating we’re trying to get done before we go back to work on Wednesday. It’s a pretty busy holiday! Take care, x

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kate, we look at English towns with Dutch eyes these days, and then it looks messy, old and uncared for. But you may find Dutch towns, boring and tasteless, who knows?

  4. Marie says:

    Glad you had a lovely Christmas (and got lots of reading in!). I had no idea you couldn’t buy all that food in Dutch supermarkets! Rice pudding in particular I am surprised about. All the best to you and your family for 2013🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, we do have rice pudding but not from a tin. Here we only have “fresh” rice pudding that is to be eaten cold and my (English) husband refuses to eat it. I love it, but I also love the warm English rice pudding (with a dot of jam, please).

      All the best for you too!

  5. saramsades says:

    gelukkige nieuwjaar

  6. Rikki says:

    We haven’t been to England in years and – frankly – we don’t want to go. Last time we were there already you could see signs of neglect everywhere and now, I am sure, it must have deteriorated even more. Not sure I want to see that.

    I have heard such good things about Me before you and always wanted to read it. Now that you say that it is on Netgalley (I checked, it is still available) I am not certain I really want to get it. It is supposed to be so brilliant but a real tear jerker, and I am not ready for it. Now what to do? Request or not request?

    Happy new year to you and your family, Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, do request! I hope it shows up better on your ereader. I’ve also heard it’s very good so just give it a try.

      England – I love going but I don’t see it with the eyes of a foreigner (“charming old houses”) nor am I used to it like a native. It’s probably the same for you.

  7. Charlie says:

    Good to hear you had a great Christmas! The more people the better😀 Well done on not buying books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wasn’t I good, Charlie, not buying books? Although I’ve asked for quite a few review copies so I’ll end up with “a few” more books anyway.

  8. Leslie says:

    Sounds like you had a great Christmas Holiday, and reading time too!

  9. Ok random comment here, but i live about a half an hour drive from Peterborough and the Tesco is massive hehe i get lost in there all of the time!

  10. patgarcia says:

    Happy New Year and all the best for 2013.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  11. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed a wonderful Christmas with family!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

