December Overview

I read 16 books this last month. It was a good month in which I was able to read all the books I planned plus some extra.

.

Books that stood out:

The Casual Vacancy was unexpectedly good. I knew not to compare it at all with Harry P., so I didn’t. I read it as if she was a new author and found the book a very good read, very British and (therefore) very recognisable. Loved it! A Christmas Carol is always fun to read, and Liz Jensen hasn’t disappointed me yet, so The Uninvited was a very good apocalyptic read.

.

This is what I read

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. RowlingA Christmas Carol by Charles DickensThe Uninvited by Liz JensenFingerprints by Marcia LeonardMiracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris
The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson WalkerMay We Be Forgiven by A. M. HomesThe Time of My Life by Cecelia AhernThe Ghost of Neil Diamond by David MilnesA Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Click on the blue links to go to the review

The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. Classic, 5 stars.

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen. Apocalyptic fiction, 5 stars.

Fingerprints by Marcia Leonard. Mystery, 4.5 stars.

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

The Age of Miracles by Karen Walker Thompson. Dystopian fiction, 4.5 stars.

May We Be Forgiven by A. M. Homes. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Reach for a Different Sun by Jenni O’Connor. Mystery, 4 stars.

The Ghost of Neil Diamond by David Milnes. Contemporary fiction, 3 stars.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. Classic, did not finish.

***

Dutch blog:

De rode loper by Thomas RosenboomincognitobamiPaaz by Myrthe van der MeerLast to Die by Tess Gerritsen

De rode loper [The Red Carpet] by Thomas Rosenboom. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

Incognito by Henk Rijks. Contemporary fiction, 5 stars.

Het bamischandaal [The Noodle Scandal] by P. F. Thomése. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Uit naam van de aartsengel [In the Name of the Arch Angel] by Olaf J. de Landell. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

PAAZ by Myrthe van der Meer. True story, 4 stars.

Last to Die by Tess Gerritsen. Thriller, 4 stars.

.

Reviews of books I read before December

Heft by Liz MooreWithout Mercy by Renate Dorrestein

Heft by Liz Moore. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

Without Mercy by Renate Dorrestein. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Dutch Blog:

Eerst een huis (First a House) by Cathelijn SchilderNacht over Westwoud by Wanda ReiselThe Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue

Eerst een huis [First a House]by Cathelijn Schilder. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Nacht over Westwoud [Night over Westwoud] by Wanda Reisel. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

De verzegelde brief [The Sealed Letter] by Emma Donoghue. Historical fiction. 4 stars

.

Other events

Secret Santa visited and left me two books and lots of other great goodies. I still don’t know who she is. Please, Francesca, let me know who you are!!

The Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange was fun and lots of people got lots of great cards.

Challenges… You want to see how I did in 2012? Look HERE.

.

What was YOUR favorite book in November?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to December Overview

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Wow…what a December for you.

    GREAT JOB!!!

    The Sealed Letter definitely looks interesting…is it in English?

    THANKS for the great post.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  2. Quite an impressive list!
    Did you read some books about speed reading?
    I wish I could read that many books as well.
    Thanks for the reviews & inspiration.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ole, I don’t do speed reading, so I can’t recommend books on it.🙂 I just read a lot, everywhere, anytime. And yes, I’m a fast reader, but not a speed reader.

  3. therelentlessreader says:

    Holy cats, what a great month!!😀

  4. Wow, 16 books in a busy month like December is terrific.

    Happy 2013!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Diane, December wasn’t all that busy for me so it was easy to get this much read. I also had quite a few hours in the car driving to and from England.

  5. Laurie C says:

    I will have to read The Casual Vacancy and go into it with your approach. I also definitely want to read The Age of Miracles!

  6. alexia561 says:

    Looks like you had a very productive December! Here’s to a great 2013!🙂

  7. Charlie says:

    16 books in the month of Christmas? I can’t imagine how busy you must have been! Like Laurie, I’m going to adopt your approach to The Casual Vacancy, and will remember your review of it when I get to it.

  8. EastEndLass says:

    was The Uninvited anything like The Rapture, because I loved that🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      EastEndLass, yes, I think it was like *The Rapture*. It was a while since I read that one, so I don’t remember quite so well, but I think the tension and build up was similar.

  9. Athira says:

    I had started reading Casual Vacancy last year and had to stop soon because things were busy at my end. But I loved the little I read and can’t wait to resume reading it.

  10. Happy New Year Judith. It’s good to read how much you liked The Casual Vacancy, I am definitely going to read that one at some point. I also really liked This Book Will Save Your Life so I am going to look out for the new A M Homes book you’ve reviewed too.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

