New Arrivals!

Only a few new books this time. I didn’t get any for Christmas, which was fine with me. I did get two books from my Secret Santa, both from my wishlist, so that was really nice! I also visited the library – it’s closed for a few weeks now, but I only borrowed two books. I’m good.

For review

The Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

I got this book from Angry Robot via Netgalley (ebook). A good old robot story! I haven’t read one of those for a while. This sounds great! 

From the publishers: ” “Cat, this is Finn. He’s going to be your tutor.”

He looks and acts human, though he has no desire to be. He was programmed to assist his owners, and performs his duties to perfection. A billion-dollar construct, his primary task now is to tutor Cat. As she grows into a beautiful young woman, Finn is her guardian, her constant companion… and more.

But when the government grants rights to the ever-increasing robot population, however, Finn struggles to find his place in the world.”

***

From Secret Santa

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This book is one that so many people refer to. It’s been on my wishlist for a while now. But I know that I don’t read off my wishlist very often, and owning the book means I will definitely read it. Finally!

From the publishers: “The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.”

***

The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano

The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano

Another book that has been on my wishlist for a long time. I like the idea of these two different children who recognise something of each other in themselves. I’ve heard so many good things about it!

From the publishers: “A prime number is inherently a solitary thing: it can only be divided by itself, or by one; it never truly fits with another. Alice and Mattia also move on their own axes, alone with their personal tragedies. As a child Alice’s overbearing father drove her first to a terrible skiing accident, and then to anorexia. When she meets Mattia she recognises a kindred spirit, and Mattia reveals to Alice his terrible secret: that as a boy he abandoned his mentally-disabled twin sister in a park to go to a party, and when he returned, she was nowhere to be found.

These two irreversible episodes mark Alice and Mattia’s lives for ever, and as they grow into adulthood their destinies seem irrevocably intertwined. But then a chance sighting of a woman who could be Mattia’s sister forces a lifetime of secret emotion to the surface. ”

***

From the library

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern

The previous book I read by Cecelia Ahern, The Book of Tomorrow, I really, really liked. So when I saw this new book in the library, I just had to read it.

From the publishers: “Lucy Silchester keeps receiving this appointment card and sweeping the gold embossed envelope under the rug. Literally. Instead, she has busied herself with work (a job she doesn’t love), helping out friends, fixing her car, feeding her cat, seeing her family, and devoting her time to their life dramas. But Lucy is about to find out that this is one appointment she can’t miss.

One day life shows up at her door, in the form of sloppy man who is determined to bring about change. Life follows Lucy everywhere—the office, bars, her bedroom—meets her flabbergasted friends, and won’t let Lucy off the hook. What she learns in the process is that some of the choices she’s made, and stories she’s told, aren’t what they seem either. Now her stubborn half-truths are going to be revealed in all their glory…unless Lucy learns to tell the truth about what really matters to her.”

***

Divorce for Beginners by Sophie King

Divorce For Beginners by Sophie King

I saw this in the library and it seemed a fun and light read. The Dutch cover is much better.🙂

From the publishers: “Sophie King brings us another witty and heart-warming story of likeable characters you’ll recognise from everyday life. Lizzie, Alison, Karen and Ed are all coming to terms with life, and love, after marriage. Whatever your own love life is like, you’ll find yourself rooting for them to find happiness as you laugh and cry along with all four.”

***

Borrowed from a friend

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina Lewycka

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina Lewycka

I’ve read all or almost all of Lewycka’s book and love them! This is a book we’re reading for my book club and a friend of me had already read it so I borrowed it. 

From the publishers: “For twenty years Doro and Marcus lived in a commune, convinced lentils and free love would change the world. They didn’t. What they did do was give their children a terror of radicalism, dirt, cooking rotas and poverty. Their daughter Clara wants nothing less conformist than her own, clean bathroom. Their son Serge hides the awkward fact that he’s a banker earning loadsamoney. So when Doro and Marcus spring a surprise on their kids – just as the world is rocked in ways they always wished for – the family is forced to confront some thorny truths about themselves . . .”

***

 Which of these books have you read?

Is there one that peaked your interest?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. snowfeathers says:

    “The solitude of prime numbers” is absolutely superb!

  2. Marie says:

    To Kill A Mockingbird is really lovely, Judith – I hope you enjoy it and that it lives up to the high expectations everyone has given you! The Solitude Of Prime Numbers sounds very interesting, as does the Marina Lewycka book. I’ve read A Short History Of Tractors In Ukrainian and found it mildly entertaining but the subject matter of this one sounds more appealing to me. Communes always seem so reclusive and interesting!

  3. alexia561 says:

    Sweet! Didn’t know that Cecelia Ahern had another book out, so have added it to my wishlist! And Divorce for Beginners sounds like a good read too. Enjoy all your new books!

  4. Ooh a new one by Marina Lewycka, yay! The Solitude of Prime Numbers sounds interesting too!

  5. I’ve always thought The Solitude of Prime Numbers sounds interesting – look forward to reading your review.

  6. I hope you love The Mad Scientist’s Daughter, it’s wonderful🙂

  7. To Kill a Mockingbird is amazing! I recently read it for the first time and loved it! I’m interested to try The Mad Scientist’s Daughter. I’ve never heard of it and it sounds really unique. The only other one I’m familiar with is The Time of My Life which I never finished. For some reason Ahern’s books sound so appealing but I can never get into them. But I hope you enjoy it because it’s quite a great premise.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Pity the Ahern books don’t resonate with you, Jae. I have enjoyed all of them so far. Good to read that TKAM is such a good book. I must make time soon to read it.

  8. Leslie says:

    When I see the words “mad scientist” in a book title I immediately look twice. Same goes for “prime number”. Must be the geek in me!

  9. Steph says:

    These look good. I hope you enjoy To Kill a Mockingbird as much as I did.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

