Weekly Reading Roundup

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

I spent a lot of time reading Star of the Sea but it was a great read. Historical fiction at its best. We celebrated New Year’s Eve quietly at home with family games, which was good fun. Visited my Mum on New Year’s Day and had more fun and games.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Orphan Master's Son by Adam JohnsonStar of the Sea by Joseph O'ConnorThe Soldier's Wife by Margaret Leroy

The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. Contemporary fiction, 3 stars.

Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connot. Historical fiction, 5 stars.

The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Alleen maar mijn moeder by Trees RooseCover of Snow by Jenny MichmanWissel by Sabine van den BergThe Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont

.

Reviews

May We Be Forgiven by A. M. HomesReach for a Different Sun by Jennifer O'ConnorIncognito by Henk RijksLast to Die by Tess Gerritsen

May We Be Forgiven by A. M. Homes. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Reach for a Different Sun by Jenni O’Connor. Mystery, 4 stars.

Incognito [Dutch] by Henk Rijks. Contemporary fiction (Dutch), 5 stars

Last to Die [Dutch] by Tess Gerritsen. Thriller, 4 stars.

.

Other news

My 2012 Stats – how much I read (oh, a lot!) and a December overview.

And here are my new books.

My favorite reads on my Dutch blog. I bet you can recognise some of them. They are, unfortunately, none of them Dutch.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

28 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Suzanne says:

    I only made it through about 100 pages of The Orphan Master’s Son before I put it aside, though I will try again at some point. It doesn’t look as if it was a favorite of yours.

    • Leeswammes says:

      No, it wasn’t, Suzanne. Glad to see that I’m not the only one who had problem with it. I enjoyed the first part, about Jun-Do and his fishing adventures followed by his kidnapping life. But I didn’t enjoy much of Commander Ga’s story and I struggled to finish the book.

  2. readerbuzz says:

    I bet you did read a lot last year! I must be off and take a look.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by! And Happy New Year!

  3. Oh no – I’ve got The Orphan Master’s Son on my reading list – but it doesn’t seem like you enjoyed it. I’m hoping I do when I get around to it, and it’s not one of those that will be abandoned after a while.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tanya, lots and lots of people enjoyed The Orphan Master’s son – I’ve seen it on several Best-Of lists from last year. So hopefully you’ll enjoy it more than me.

  4. I’m so glad you loved Star of the Sea. I’ve read it twice and adored it both times.

  5. Mystica says:

    I like your lists of books! they all look amazing.

  6. My husband is a big fan of Tess Gerritsen. I haven’t read much of hers.

  7. I want to read The Soldier’s Wife at some point….enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  8. therelentlessreader says:

    Great books as always🙂 Happy happy reading Judith!

  9. Dollycas says:

    What a great variety. Happy Reading!!

  10. Leslie says:

    I have a copy of Cover of Snow on the way for review this month. I’m looking forward to a (hopefully) good mystery.

  11. Am really curious what you think of The Starboard Sea. The book is high on my wish list.

    Monday weekly

  12. Trish says:

    The Soldier’s Wife has such a beautiful cover. Happy New Year! Glad you had a great celebration–even if it was quiet (those are my favorite).

  13. Teddyree says:

    The Soldier’s Wife is waiting patiently for me but I think I’ll add Star of the Sea to my wishlist since you’re recommending it so highly🙂 I love Tess Gerritsen’s work but I didn’t read any last year .. my bad! Have a great week and happy reading🙂

  14. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I have Cover of Snow on my reading list for later this month!
    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

