Weekly Reading Roundup

 

The week

When I wasn’t sitting in waiting for computers to arrive (two days), I was out cycling at least one hour a day. Great New Year’s resolution! Except now the weather has gone cold and I’m not sure I want to be out, at all! But I promise, I’ll try.

I went to see Cloud Atlas (the movie) last night and I loved it! I read the book 2.5 years ago (for the second time) so I didn’t remember many of the details, and I couldn’t tell you if everything was the same as the book. But in any case, it was very well done.

Also in the weekend, I went to an interview with a Dutch writer, Thomas Rosenboom, at a book store nearby. I enjoyed this very much – it’s always fun to see a favorite writer in the real world. I didn’t get a book signed, though – I borrowed my copy from the library.

Earlier in the week I was contacted by a Dutch national radio program (the commuter kind, with lots of music and a bit of information in between), who were focusing on “reading” that day. I wasn’t even sure I wanted to participate but in the event, my information wasn’t used so I wasn’t mentioned. I didn’t really mind, but I loved the fact that bloggers are now apparently worthwhile to give their opinion and (even more so) that they asked me.🙂

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3 + 1 DNF

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina LewyckaAlleen maar mijn moeder by Trees RooseWissel by Sabine van den BergCover of Snow by Jenny Michman

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina Lewycka. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Alleen maar mijn moeder [Only My Mother] by Trees Roose. Memoir, 3.5 stars.

Wissel [Exchange] by Sabine van den Berg. Contemporary fiction, 3.5 stars.

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman. Contemporary fiction, Did Not Finish.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Book of Why by Nicholas MontemaranoThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-ExupéryThe Starboard Sea by Amber DermontAlles wat er was by Hanna Bervoets

.

Reviews

The Uninvited by Liz JensenThe Time of My Life by Cecelia AhernThe Soldier's Wife by Margaret Leroy

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen. Science fiction (apocalyptic), 5 stars.

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern. Chick-lit, 4.5 stars.

The Soldier’s Wife (review in Dutch) by Margaret Leroy. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

.

Other news

Here are what I think are The Best Books of 2012.

—> Announcement: Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (February 9-13) <—

For my Dutch-language readers – look on my other blog where I’m giving away a copy of Alleen maar mijn moeder.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    It’s an honor to be asked at least! Hope you enjoy your reads this week

  2. Charlie says:

    I did a double take when I read about the radio show, it is very good bloggers are being listened to, even if they didn’t include you in the end (a mistake if you ask me🙂 ). Hoping you’ll enjoy all your books this week and that there are no DNFs.

  3. That are some great books you got there. Why is Cover of Snow a DNF? it looks interesting to me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ciska, *Cover of Snow* looked interesting to me, too! That’s why I asked for it for review.🙂 But I found it rather bland, I didn’t find it very thrilling (it’s a thriller) and didn’t attach to the main character. I read 1/3 of the book, but didn’t feel like spending time on the rest.

  4. Isi says:

    Congratulations for being asked for a radio programme!!😀
    And also for trying to get your new years purposes about exercise! It’s hard, but it becomes addictive in a few weeks. I should do it too; I don’t like cycling, but I like running and swimming… the problem is I’m too lazy and it’s very cold now… We’ll see😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m not a runner myself, Isi, but I do like swimming too. Just being wet and having to dress in a locker room, I hate it!🙂

      It’s too cold to do much – we have snow and I think a short walk is the best option.

      • Isi says:

        Oh yes, a walk on the snow is very exhausting!!
        Here it snowed last weekend, but then it rained, so the snow is over… Anyway, I have to study a lot for my first term in my new degree, so it’s no time to making snowmen!!😛

        And yes, I feel very lazy when I have to go to the swimming pool: you have to prepare a lot of things, and I don’t have one near my house so I have to take the car. For running, you just go out of your house and start running!

  5. Athira says:

    I really loved the trailer of Cloud Atlas and that’s what has made me eager to read the book. I Am hoping to tackle it this year and then watch the movie.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Athira, I wasn’t keen on the trailer of *Clous Atlas* at all! It looked so messy, all over the place. But I wanted to see it anyway. Hope you’ll read and enjoy the book.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

