It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

The week

I can but complain about last week: it was (and is!) cold and snowy. Perfect weather to stay at home – when you can! The trains weren’t reliable and on the day that I volunteer in the school library, I stayed home after my son tried to get to school twice (he waited at the train station with no trains coming, then went home to defrost, then I sent him out to try again). He missed his lessons that day.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4

The Book of Why by Nicholas MontemaranoThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-ExupéryThe Starboard Sea by Amber DermontAlles wat er was by Hanna Bervoets

The Book of Why by Nicholas Montemarano. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Classic, 3 stars.

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Alles wat er was [All there was] by Hanna Bervoets (Dutch). Science Fiction, 5 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Power of Habit by Charles DuhiggGame by Anders de la MotteStill by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer

.

Reviews

Cover of Snow by Jenny MichmanStar of the Sea by Joseph O'ConnorWissel by Sabine van den Berg

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman. Contemporary fiction, Did Not Finish. A woman finds her husband dead, suicide. But she finds some clues about his past, which she goes to investigate.

Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor. Historical Fiction, 5 stars. A ship sails from Ireland to New York during the potato famine. The passengers all have their own story.

Wissel [Exchange] by Sabine van den Berg. Contemporary fiction, 3.5 stars. A married man goes through the process of becoming a woman. The book is about the effect on his family.

.

Other news

—> Announcement: Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (February 9-13) <—

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

30 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Enjoy all your reads.

  2. Lori Thomas says:

    REM by Cheryl Abbott

  3. Charlie says:

    Oo, you’re reading Still! Are you enjoying it? It’s quite bleak at times but I thought very good.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve only just started in *Still*, Charlie. I guess the photographs are a bit bleak too, because of the empty rooms, so I’m not surprised if the stories are. Looking forward to seeing how each author made quite a different story from the others.

  4. Care says:

    I’m reading Light Between Oceans – it’s very good. Happy snuggling in with a book when it is cold and snowy! We are to get snow later this evening. And since I have no place I must get to, bring it on.

  5. I hope you enjoy all your reads this week :-) The Power of Habit is one I’m hoping to get to this year. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, but I’m hoping to get to it – and maybe my just turned teenager step-son can get some benefit from it too :-)

    Tanya Patrice
    Girlxoxo.com

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m enjoying *The Power of Habit*, Tanya! It’s full of stories of people and their habits and how they used or chanced them to achieve something.

  6. bibliosue says:

    We are cold here today as well, but it is nice and sunny so it doesn’t feel so bad :-)

  7. It’s cold here today too! I have my space heater on, trying to warm the study.

    Stay warm, snuggle with a blanket and a book. Enjoy!

  8. readerbuzz says:

    Off to look up Still. I’m reading Quiet, so it might be a good companion book.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Come by, if you can, and share your thoughts.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debnance, *Still *is very different from *Quiet*. It’s a book of short stories that are written with a photograph as inspiration (all (different) photographs are from the same old building).

  9. Fay says:

    I love coming to your blog as you are always reading something that I would not think to read! Great selection this week – I might look into The Power of Habit and The Starboard Sea – it doesn’t hurt they both have cool covers too! :D Have a lovely reading week and i hope your son gets to school soon! :D

  10. Vasilly says:

    I love the cover of The Power of Habit. It’s much better than the U.S. version. You have an interesting stack of books. Happy reading.

  11. Isi says:

    I’m very interested about The power of habit, hope you can leave us a few little tips!! :D

  12. pamela says:

    The Power of Habit will be really interesting I think! One of the books I am currently reading talks a lot about habit and I am enjoying it immensely. Hope you have a great week :)

  13. Lindsey says:

    The Starboard Sea looks interesting. I will definitely check it out. Enjoy your reads! :)

  14. crystal says:

    I joined a book club at our library…so much fun and we are reading THE GIRL WHO FELL FROM THE SKY. I was skeptical at first because I typically gravitate to dystopian novels and am concurrently reading YEAR OF THE FLOOD by Atwood (still working thru it…keep getting distracted, but will finish…promise!) The Girl who fell from the sky is powerful…and on a topic I haven’t ever read about–the issues that arise from being a bi-racial child. The mother was Danish and died in an accident…the father is a black military man–so the child has to live with his family and struggle to find “herself and her identity” in a mixed up world of prejudice and misconception. The writing is well-done I think…really enjoying this one!!

  15. Susan Malter says:

    I am enjoying Kalman Kaplan’s Psychology of Hope. He compares suicidality of Greek classical literature to that of biblical literature. Thank you. I love your blog.

  16. If you like Wissel, you might enjoy She’s Not There, by Jennifer Finney Boylan. A true story of a man becoming a woman. She’s pretty interesting.

  17. Teddyree says:

    Added Star of the Sea to my wishlist since you gave it such a great rating. Have a wonderful week and happy reading :)

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,131 other followers

