January Overview

The first month of the year, I read a lot of good books, but I also abandoned two.

.

Books that stood out:

Definitely Rubbernecker, a great new thriller by Belinda Bauer. I very much enjoyed reading this story of a young man with Asperger’s who dissects a body and finds a secret.

But just as good was the Dutch book Alles wat er was, All There Was, by Hanna Bervoets, a post-apocalyptic literary story about a group of people being locked into a school building after something apocalyptic happened outside.

.

This is what I read

Click on the blue links to go to the review

Rubbernecker by Belinda BauerStar of the Sea by Joseph O'ConnorVarious Pets Alive and Dead by Marina LewyckaThe Book of Why by Nicholas MontemaranoThe Starboard Sea by Amber DermontThe Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

Vanity Fare by Megan CaldwellThe Orphan Master's Son by Adam JohnsonThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-ExupéryCover of Snow by Jenny MichmanThe Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

***

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer. Thriller, 5 stars

Star of the Sea by Joseph O’ Connor. Historical fiction, 4.5 stars

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina Lewycka. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars

The Book of Why by Nicholas Montemarano. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars

The Starboard Sea by Amber Dermont. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars

The Power of Habit by Charles Dugitt. Non-fiction, 4 stars

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell. Chick-lit, chick-lit, 4 stars

The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. Contemporary fiction, 3 stars

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Classic, children’s fiction, 3 stars

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman. Thriller, did not finish

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. Science fiction, did not finish

Dutch blog:

Alles wat er was by Hanna BervoetsJij en ik by Niccolò AmmanitiThe Soldier's Wife by Margaret LeroyAlleen maar mijn moeder by Trees RooseWissel by Sabine van den BergGame by Anders de la MottePeaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) by Joanne Harris

Alles wat er was / All There Was by Hanna Bervoets. Science fiction, 5 stars.

Ik en jij / I and You by Niccolò Ammaniti. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars

Een liefde in oorlogstijd / The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

Alleen maar mijn moeder / Only My Mother by Trees Roose. Memoir, 4 stars.

Wissel / Change by Sabine van den Berg. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars

Game by Anders de la Motte. Thriller, 4 stars

De zoetheid van perziken / Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars

.

Reviews of books I read before January

The Uninvited by Liz JensenThe Time of My Life by Cecelia AhernMay We Be Forgiven by A. M. HomesReach for a Different Sun by Jennifer O'Connor

The Uninvited by Liz Jensen. Science fiction (apocalyptic), 5 stars.

The Time of My Life by Cecelia Ahern. Chick-lit, 4.5 stars.

May We Be Forgiven by A. M. Homes. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Reach for a Different Sun by Jenni O’Connor. Mystery, 4 stars.

Dutch Blog:

Incognito by Henk RijksLast to Die by Tess GerritsenUit naam van de aartsengel by Olaf J. de Landell

Incognito [Dutch] by Henk Rijks. Contemporary fiction (Dutch), 5 stars

Last to Die [Dutch] by Tess Gerritsen. Thriller, 4 stars.

Uit naam van de aartsengel [In the Name of the Archangel] by Olaf J. de Landell [Dutch] Historical fiction, 4 stars

.

Other events

Here are what I think are The Best Books of 2012.

—> Announcement: Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (February 9-13) <—

 

.

What was YOUR favorite book in January?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to January Overview

  1. JoV says:

    Did you mean “What was YOUR favorite book in January?” Gone are the days where I can read more than 7 books in the a month. Every time you post your monthly updates, I so envy you!😀

  2. mpartyka says:

    Wow! I should leave it there🙂

    You always impress me with the amount of reading you do. Long ago I learned to be happy with my 2-3 books a month. It’s all about enjoyment right? HA

    Good luck in Feb

    ps: haven’t ordered my Christmas cards yet… maybe next week?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Enjoyment, Mari? Sometimes… not. The sheer amount of books I have (or feel I have) to go through each month. I’m trying to cut down on the review books, but… I just love all those books, I can’t say No very easily.

      Did you ever get *my* Christmas card? I’d love a card from you any time of year. Next month is fine, too.🙂

  3. therelentlessreader says:

    Such a great month🙂 I don’t know what my fave of January was. I read so many good books this month. The Love Song of Jonny Valentine is a definitely contender🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, I had quite a few good books. Some months nothing stands out, but this month I already read two great books. Let’s hope it continues into the year!

  4. Rikki says:

    Wow, you have been busy! I am jealous that you are getting so much done!

  5. bibliosue says:

    Another great range of books, Judith, I wish I could have been that productive.

  6. Crystal says:

    Fav for November? The Girl Who Fell from The Sky. Very very good…story of bi-racial child coming of age with a troubled past and racist family. Well written and emotional…and I am a die hard dystopian fan…this was assigned in a book club. I was skeptical at first…but glad I read it…highly recommend it! It will draw you in!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Crystal, I meant January, not November!! I’ve heard about The Girl Who Fell From the Sky so I’ll keep an eye on that one. Thanks for the recommendation – I also love dystopian.

  7. A very good month of reading! Can’t wait for the hop next week!

  8. Have you actually read all of those books already? I mean, for January, that’s quite a long list. I see you’ve The Starboard Sea. That’s on my to-read list, too. I think I’ll enjoy that one. Cheers! Happy reading!🙂

  9. parrish lantern says:

    As per usual a great reading list, mine has been a lot less, been distracted by numerous things.

  10. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ll have to add Rubbernecker to my wish list!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

