It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Have you signed up yet?

—> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (February 9-13) <—

*****

The week

A quiet week, in which I bought one book and read 4 books plus part of a book I decided not to finish. On Sunday, in between going out shopping in a for us new town, I read a whole book, Untold Story, for a reading relay race that I’m involved in at a group at Shelfari. We’re reading in teams of 5 and pass the baton on once we finish our book. So I was under pressure!

At the same time, I was taking part in a mini-Bloggiesta, to work on my book- and blog-related chores. I did a lot on Friday and Saturday, but not much on Sunday, given that I had to read a whole book that day.

My husband has been suffering with a tooth abscess, which made his face swell up to caricature proportions.  It’s a bit better now, but he needs a operation on Tuesday – not something to look forward to!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4 and a DNF

Vanity Fare by Megan CaldwellPeaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) by Joanne HarrisJij en ik by Niccolò AmmanitiThe Untold Story by Monica AliThe Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell. A fun chick-lit about  a woman who is left to fend for herself after her husband leaves and, as it turns out, loses his job soon afterwards. 4 stars

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris. Contemporary fiction in which Vianne Rocher returns to Lansquenet, the town where Chocolat took place. 4 stars

I and You [Review in Dutch] by Niccolò Ammaniti. Contemporary fiction made into a movie recently. A teenage boy who finds it hard to connect with other people finds a way to hide for a week, but then his unpopular half-sister shows up. 4.5 stars

The Untold Story by Monica Ali. Chick-lit about Princess Diana, who didn’t die, but started a new life in the USA. 4 stars

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. A robot who is almost undistinguisable form a human becomes the tutor of a girl, who later falls in love with him. Read 120 pages, did not finish.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Still by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)The Man in the Empty Suit by Sean FerrellStay Close to Me by Helen WarnerA Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

Reviews

Game by Anders de la MotteRubbernecker by Belinda BauerThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Game [Dutch] by Anders de la Motte. A young man is drawn into a smartphone game that forces him to undertake criminal activities. But he fights back. 3.5 stars.

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer. Thriller about a young man with Asperger’s syndrome who finds something iffy about a corpse in his dissection class. 5 stars

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. A children’s classic about a little prince from a different planet who lands on earth and tells about his travels. 3 stars

.

Other news

See what I read in January: January Overview.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

33 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Charlie says:

    Not bad at all🙂 Hope your husband’s ok, best wishes for Tuesday.

  2. Suzanne says:

    A reading relay? That sounds interesting.
    I hope your husband’s surgery goes well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. Yes, the reading relay – 9 teams of 5, we have to read books with a certain “tag” (Shelfari’s tags). Mine was chick lit. I was second in line in my team. When all 5 in a team are finished the team has finished the heat. The two teams to end last will drop out and the rest continues to the next round. It’s fun!

  3. You’ve been busy, Judith! Hope your husband is feeling better soon.

  4. Isi says:

    Hope your husband is feeling well too!😦
    Poor man!

  5. That’s a shame about The Mad Scientist’s Daughter – I thought it sounded like it had some potential.

    Here’s what I’m reading this week.

  6. mpartyka says:

    Wow, what a week. Can I ask you something? Is it fun to read with the pressure of the relay? You read so much more than I do that it might be enjoyable. I was scared off challenges after just one year once I realized I was working vs pleasure. But this is me, the gal who reads 2 books a month + an audio.

    Wishing you another quiet week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I wouldn’t want to do it too often, but it was fine for one book, to read under pressure. Remember I did a book-a-day project once, reading a book a day for a week? It felt a bit like that – I HAD to finish asap. Luckily the book was good and I had the time for it, so it was fine. It’s only one book per hear. The next one is probably in two weeks time, so it’s not too much.

  7. A great reading week for you – I love those!

  8. The Untold Story looks wonderful…you had me at “Princess Diana didn’t die.” I’m also drooling over Vanity Fare.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. Leslie says:

    I was hoping you’d like The Mad Scientist’s Daughter and say wonderful things! It’s on my ‘maybe’ list at the moment. I’ve only seen a few reviews and they were positive.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I’ve seen only positive reviews, but it wasn’t for me. I think you might like it better than me, but I’m not sure.

      On Mon, Feb 4, 2013 at 4:19 PM, Leeswammes' Blog

  10. shame you didn’t finish ‘the man scientist’s daughter’, it got even weirder towards the end though. I found it a bit weird that a robot would be, er, physically capable of ‘love’. quite odd!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, that is rather odd, Sarah. Good to hear that you finished it. I just found it a bit boring, to be honest! I know, that’s odd, but it just wasn’t for me, I guess.

  11. A Land More Kind Than Home looks interesting. Have a great week.

  12. I am sorry to hear about your husband, Judith, Beterschap!

    I see you also read th new Joanne Harris, it was good, wasn’t it. I quite liked it.

    have a good week (despite the operation)

    kind regards,

  13. Woah, I’m impressed with your weekly reading accomplishments! “A Land More Kinda Than Home” sounds excellent, scoping that one out on Amazon now (as if I don’t already have a giant stack of books to read ;D ). Best wishes for your hub’s surgery!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Forgottenbeast. A Land More Kind Than Home is supposed to be really good – I’ve seen several favorable reviews of it. Hope you’ll enjoy it too!

  14. yvonne473 says:

    Sounds like you had a great reading week. My husband had oral surgery today. I hope yours does well tomorrow.

  15. Mystica says:

    I do hope your husband’s surgery goes well.

  16. Lucybird says:

    Peaches for Monsieur le Curé is on my TBR pile. I’ll be looking forward to your review

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

