It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Over 40 blogs are giving away books!

Come and visit and win a book!

—> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (Ends February 13th) <—

*****

The week

My poor husband had an operation on his tooth (abscess) and never had any more trouble with it. Except he then developed a flu and was out of action for a few days. Today, he’ll try and get to work and see how long he’ll last.

I watched two movies based on books: The Descendants, which was a good movie about family, trust and guilt. I have the book on my wish-list but will wait a bit before reading it now. The other was a two-part tv series (that I saw in one night), The Labyrinth, based on the book by Kate Mosse. I had read the book so long ago that I didn’t remember anything but the basics. Now I’m keen to re-read the book – I had put it on the “discard” pile just a few weeks back but didn’t discard that pile yet. Phew!

Today, I’m going to help a friend with her wordpress website – I keep my fingers crossed she didn’t buy the DIY version, because I know almost nothing about that one!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4 and a DNF

Still by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)Stay Close to Me by Helen WarnerA Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley CashIk was Amerika [I Was America] by Gustaaf PeekThe Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell

Click on the blue links to see my review

Still by Roelof Bakker. Short stories by 20 different authors all based on a different photograph taken in an abandoned building in London. 4 stars

Stay Close to Me by Helen Warner. A mother and her two adult daughters all have relationship issues of their own. 4 stars

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash. A dodgy church holds a session for a boy, to heal him. But things go wrong. 5 stars

Ik was Amerika [I was America] by Gustaaf Peek. A man who fought in the German army and was in a prisoner camp in America in the 1940s goes back when he is old and ill. 4 stars

The Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell. A man time travels to a hotel each year to celebrate his birthday. Here he meets his older and younger versions. But one year, something goes wrong. Did Not Finish.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Divorce for Beginners by Sophie KingKruisverhoor [Cross-Examination] by Peter DelpeutA Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeLost & Found by Tom Winter

Reviews

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) by Joanne HarrisThe Untold Story by Monica Ali

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris. Contemporary fiction in which Vianne Rocher returns to Lansquenet, the town where Chocolat took place. 4 stars

The Untold Story by Monica Ali. Chick-lit about Princess Diana, who didn’t die, but started a new life in the USA. 4 stars

.

Other news

Check out my new books: New Arrivals!

Don’t forget to enter —> Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (Ends February 13th) <—

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Ouch, I’ve had a tooth abscess before – not pleasant! I hope hubby feels better soon!

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  2. Mystica says:

    Hope he feels better soon. Such an unpleasant thing. Divorce for beginners! sounds cheerful

  3. Lost and Found sounds like a sweet story – look forward to your review. Enjoy!

  4. I am really curious about Lost and Found. I think it looks very promising and it is high on my wishlist. Have a great week

  5. bibliosue says:

    Yay! I am so glad you enjoyed A Land More Kind than Home.
    I was America sounds like a book I would enjoy — I hope it is available in English.

    Have a great week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I remember you saying how much you liked *A Land More Kind than Home*, Suzanne. It was very different from what I expected but I loved it! *I Was American* is not available in English, unfortunately. I’m sure it would be interesting for Americans to read.

  6. I’d love to read Still, I think the concept sounds really good and I love books with a London theme.

    Have a great week🙂

  7. readerbuzz says:

    I missed getting involved with this Literary Blog Hop. I hope you will include me next time!

  8. Oh, I can empathize about the abscessed tooth! I had one a few months ago….not fun!

    Stay Close to Me looks tempting…and, of course, the fictional story of Diana. Off to read your review.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST ; and if you’re interested, here’s

    MY 100 FOLLOWERS GIVEAWAY

  9. Wow! You’ve got some really great titles there! STILL has caught my eye too!

  10. Charlie says:

    Hope your husband feels better soon. I keep meaning to read Mosse’s work, too. If your friend did get the DIY wordpress, don’t worry, it’s not as difficult as it looks🙂 If you do need help feel free to shoot me an email, or likely another blogger who self-hosts will help too.

  11. harvee says:

    A Land more Kind than Home is staring at me, waiting to be read. A Perfect Proposal looks like a nice contemporary romance. Hope you enjoy them all!

  12. Jade says:

    I hope your husband feels better soon!
    Still and The Man in the Empty Suit have been added to my little list of books to look further in to. Lost and Found also looks interesting… I wonder if we’ll get a review.
    Enjoy your reads🙂

  13. Julie says:

    Still sounds really interesting. I look forward to reading your review. I hope your husband is feeling better soon.

  14. Isi says:

    Hope your husband is better!
    About the books, I would like to read the one by Joanne Harris; I liked Chocolat very much. And Divorce for beginners sounds really funny!!

  15. Lori says:

    I am reading the biography of Madame Curie. Madame Curie was the physicist with expertise in chemistry that, in 1898, discovered the radioactive substances of radium and polonium in Paris, France. She was the first to isolate pure radium, and was world renowned as the leading expert on radiation. I found this book at the book store where I was having my book signing on Saturday, Feb 9th. What an awesome woman. I highly recommend this read. It’s not boring, but extremely informative. Thanks to her discovery, I am 2.5 years into remission cancer free. I had 33 treatments of radiation.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lori, 33 treatments sounds awful! Hopefully that was once and never again! I have heard about Madame Curie, I think I’ve known her “forever” – I must have read a children’s book about her work or so when I was young. The biography sounds very interesting.

      Hope you had a good time signing at the book store!

  16. Is there a television series of Labyrinth? (and I do not mean the great movie with David Bowie here)

    Some great books in the pipeline, enjoy your week!
    kind regards,

    • Leeswammes says:

      Bettina, it is a 2-part series that I saw on Film1, the premium film channel. My friend has been looking for a Dutch DVD of it (after I mentioned it here on my blog) but she can’t find it.

  17. A Land More Kind Than Home is on my to-read list as well, takes place in my home state and I’ve heard good things about it. Looks like you have added a bunch of books to my to-read list. I added Joanne Harris book’s (I loved the movie Chocolat but need to read the book). I tried reading The Girl with No Shadow but couldn’t quite get into it. Maybe I need to give the series another try from the start. How you can you go wrong with chocolate and love in France? Thanks for stopping by my blog as well!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Momssmallvictories, I liked Chocolate much better than The Girl with No Shadow, so I would definitely try that one. As far as I’m concerned skip that whole Girl and go straight to this 3rd part.🙂

  18. A Land More Kind Than Home looks really good. How have I missed this one??

    Have a lovely reading week🙂

    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian

  19. Teddyree says:

    Poor hubby, hope he’s feeling better soon. Peaches for Monsieur Le Cure is on my wishlist after seeing some good reviews but you have me intrigued by A Land More Kind Than Home … 5 stars sounds like a must read!
    Have a great week and happy reading🙂

  20. I hope your husband’s doing better! I had a tonsil abscess before, and it was awful. All of your books are new to me, so I hope you enjoy them and have no more DNF this week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

