Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

I got new glasses this week! Since I’m have been 39 years old for quite a few years now, my eyes don’t want to read the small print any more. So I got the kind of glasses where the top is for seeing in the distance gradually changing towards the bottom for seeing close-up. I still have to get used to it, but now I can read the newspaper like a normal person again. Hurray for old-people’s glasses!

I did a lot of editing this week (someone’s book), in between volunteering at the school library, visiting my mother for the day, and walking a good amount for exercise.

The coming week the children have spring break, which means I will use my energy trying to get them off the computers/Xbox as much as I can. It’s hard work when they’re teenagers…

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3 and a DNF

Lost & Found by Tom WinterNorse Greenland by Jared DiamondKruisverhoor [Cross-Examination] by Peter DelpeutDivorce for Beginners by Sophie King

Click on the blue links to see my review

Lost & Found by Tom Winter. A fun story about a woman who writes to the universe about her failed marriage and a postman finding her letters and finding comfort in them. 5 stars

Norse Greenland by Jared Diamond. Non-fiction about the settlement of Icelanders in Greenland around the year 1,000 AD. Why did their society collapse after 500 years? 4,5 stars

Kruisverhoor [Cross-examination] by Peter Delpeut. A police officer is researching the case of the body of a newborn baby and a girl who recently gave birth. But one and one is not two. 4 stars

Divorce for Beginners by Sophie King. A book I didn’t finish. About a divorced woman who starts a self-help group for other divorcees. DNF

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

A Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeThe Truth About Love and Lightning by Susan McBrideThe House Girl by Tara ConklinHotel Linda [Dutch] by Arjan Visser

Reviews

Still by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley CashThe Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Still by Roelof Bakker. Short stories by 20 different authors all based on a different photograph taken in an abandoned building in London. 4 stars

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash. A dodgy church holds a session for a boy, to heal him. But things go wrong. 5 stars

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. A robot who is almost undistinguisable form a human becomes the tutor of a girl, who later falls in love with him. Read 120 pages, did not finish.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

31 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. bibliosue says:

    I have had old people glasses for a few years now – and old people contact lenses! – and they do help a lot.
    I am very interested to read your thoughts on The House Girl, it is on my to-read list.
    Have a great week, it sounds like you will be busy!

  2. I have those “old people” glasses as well, once I turned 40 the eyesight went downhill:)

    Enjoy all of your new books. I bet the print will look lots bigger now.

  3. Good to see you liked Lost and Found, am hoping to get my hands on a copy of that book too. It looks good.

    Have a great week!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I’m so curious about The House Girl, can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Guess what, I’ll be turning 39 this week! For real though, lol.😉 Have a great week of reading!

  5. mpartyka says:

    Lovely update – I thought I needed readers a few years ago, bought a pair, at my next eye appt I was told ‘not yet but your prescription has changed’. HA! So I have a pair waiting to be used. My husband has a pair of similar to yours, he mentioned it takes time to adapt to the invisiline.

    DNF, I find that it’s harder to read subject matter that I want to avoid. In the last year(ish) I tend to know a few couples we used to see in Omaha who have divorced, so I’m drawn to books about women being restless (I’m doing a lot of listening these days).🙂

    Good luck this week, with the children, find time to do something that makes you happy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, good to hear you’re not old enough for reading glasses yet! I was first thinking of getting some of those, then realized I would have to take my (distance) glasses off and the reading glasses on every time I’d want to read something – that’s too much hassle.

      So I paid the jackpot for some all-in-one glasses, but since I wear them all the time, it’s a good investment (or so I convinced my husband).

      I love books about strong women, women who get into action against their situation. In that sense, I should have loved the book about divorce, but it was too bland.

  6. Shan says:

    I have put off going to the eye doctor for a little while now since I don’t have coverage for it. Though now I fear when I do go, I’ll need those same kind of glasses as I can tell my eyesight has changed.
    Too bad about the Sophie King book, I probably would have picked that one up. And the Jared Diamond one I’ll have to look for, I have two of his earlier books and I really enjoyed them.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, I didn’t have coverage for it either and boy, it *was* a lot of money! I was told last summer that my eyes probably would deteriorate a bit more for the next year or so. So, I decided not to get new glasses and wait a bit. But it just became too awkward recently. So, if you can, hold off for as long as you can so you don’t need yet another pair of new glasses after another year or so.

      In my (one of the many Dutch) health insurance scheme(s), it would cost something like 5 euros a month to cover glasses (and some other things that I don’t need) and for that, I’d get 50 euros back on spectacles once every 2 or 3 years. Do the maths- it’s not worth it. Besides, those 50 euros were *nothing* compared to what the glasses actually cost. I did take the most expensive glasses (lenses), as they were highly recommended. I wear my glasses ALL the time, so it was worth getting the best I could afford.

      I loved the Jared Diamond book, but… it’s very focused on Icelanders in Greenland, so if you don’t have an a priori interest in the topic, it might not work. Unless you’re particularly interested in medieval societies in Europe to start with.🙂

  7. Lost and Found sounds so fun! I write to the universe all the time😉

  8. Chinoiseries says:

    Norse Greenland (the one you mentioned to me earlier) sounds very interesting! You’ve got a nice load of books to look forward to this week🙂 Happy reading!

  9. Lost & found sounds like a fun book, what on earth would I write to the Universe? Sounds like a good blog post topic.🙂 Still sounds like a good one, photography is my favorite art form.

  10. Isi says:

    Good luck with your teens!!😉
    It is a shame that Divorce for beginners wasn’t good because I thought it could be fun!

  11. richardcrompton says:

    I like DNF. I’ve got a whole bookcase of novels filed under that acronym!

  12. Leslie says:

    Amazing how much easier it is to read with the right glasses. (I have those too, but don’t tell any one!) I switched to monovision contact lenses a few years ago because I got tired of the reading glasses. I was hoping Mad Scientist’s Daughter would be more scifi-ish.

  13. Charlie says:

    I seem to remember some younger teachers of mine having them, so I wouldn’t call them old just yet🙂 They must be pretty useful, though they also must take a while to get used to. If the sun’s in league with you getting your children away from the video games might be easier (then again I’m kind of biased, I’m a gamer until the sun comes out). If you read all those books with the new glasses already that’s pretty great.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, my kids are 14 and 15 – they are not easily lured away when there is a bit of sun! At least they’ve got a friend over today (and yesterday one of my sons was at his friend’s). They play games, but at least they have friends.🙂

  14. Charleen says:

    For what it’s worth, I wore bifocals for a brief time in middle school, before my eyes adjusted again.

  15. Rikki says:

    I keep refusing to get bifocals, even though – by God – I need them. Consequence: I am putting my glasses down and up again every two minutes. Or look over the top rim like some cliché teacher/librarian.

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s what I used to do, Rikki… until last week! I promise, this is so much easier. And it’s not like bifocals with a little window in the bottom half, now. They look totally like “normal” glasses! Go for it!🙂

  16. Looking forward to your review of The House Girl!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

