Quick Book Review: Lost & Found by Tom Winter

Lost & Found by Tom WinterThis book was described as the next The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. I never believe that kind of marketing talk, but in this case, yes, it is a bit like that lovely book by Rachel Joyce (I read it, but didn’t write a review yet).

This book has two main characters who don’t know each other. First we meet Carol, almost 40 years old, with a husband and a grown up daughter. She’s had enough of her life as a good wife to a boring husband and today is the day that she’ll tell him she’s leaving. But before she gets the chance, he tells her he’s got a lump, which turns out to be malignant. So she does “the right thing” and stays. Her friend suggests she writes her troubles in letters to “the universe”, as this should make her feel better about her situation.

The other character is Albert, a postman nearing his pension and considered a bit useless at work. He’s sidetracked into the undeliverable mail room, where he is to sort the mail that is going to be destroyed, as no recipient nor sender can be found for it. There, he finds Carols’s letters. These cheer him up and make him think that life may be worthwhile after all.

This was a fun and easy read. It deals with heavy topics but in a lighthearted way. For instance, the way Albert, a pensioner, is treated at work and at home (by his neighbours). Carol, staying in her loveless marriage with a secret from long ago. Both characters were very likable. While they are in very different situations, Carol’s letters do help Albert to make something of his life before it’s too late, and that is wonderful. Meanwhile, Carol’s letters are helping herself as well, as things become clearer to her.

I very much enjoyed reading this book.


Rating: 5 stars (out of 5)

Number of pages: 320

First published: 2013

I got this: an ARC for review from the publishers, Corsair (Constable & Robinson)

Genre: contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Quick Book Review: Lost & Found by Tom Winter

  1. I liked this book a lot too, I still need to write my review. Glad to read that you enjoyed it.

  2. Mystica says:

    Thank you for the post on a book which is new to me.

  3. I still have to read The Unlikely Pilgrimage, and perhaps I should add this to my list too, Judith. It sounds like a lovely read.

  4. Charlie says:

    Sounds wonderful! I’m supposing they never meet, though I wonder what the story would be like if they did?

  5. heavenali says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this book too Judith, I liked Albert rather more than Carol it made for a good read.

  6. I liked The Unlikely Pilgrimage ( reviewed it before I forgot), so I will look this one up – thanks for the tip.

  7. bibliosue says:

    This sounds like a nice book. Have you read The Tower,the Zoo and the Tortoise? There are similar characters in that book as well.

  8. I still need to read Harold!!! Oh my to read list is just growing larger and larger!😛

  9. therelentlessreader says:

    I adored Harold Fry and I bet I’d like this book as well🙂 Thanks for the review!

  10. Joanna says:

    I’ve been meaning to read this book but had forgotten its name. Good reminder. I’m putting it on my list. Thanks!

  11. Amy says:

    This book sounds very good. Is the author British? the book has that feel to it. I like how the heavy issues are coped with in a light-hearted way and there is hope given to one character and the other also feels better. I’ve never heard of this book before but you have made me curious! I adored The Unlikely Pilgrimmage… and plan to look this book up. Thank you!

  12. Pingback: Book review of Lost & Found by Tom Winter | Picky Girl: I read. I teach. I blog. (pickily)

  13. Pingback: Lost and Found- Tom Winter | Lucybird's Book Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

