Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Yesterday, I had a great evening visiting a live television talk show in Amsterdam, together with my “boss”, a lady whose book I’m editing. We are both fans of one of the writers being interviewed, Renate Dorrestein. It was really good fun, and we got a nice meal thrown in too. It was the first time Joyce and I met, and we couldn’t stop talking!

I did my thing for Team Kicking It, organised by Sheila from It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?. It’s a challenge about fitness. I don’t run, though, I walk.🙂 I did twice 5 kilometers (3 point something miles) and a few shorter walks. I hope to increase that every month with one kilometer until I can walk 12 or so kilometers without collapsing afterwards.

Tomorrow I’m in the jury of a reading aloud competition for 9-11 year olds. I’ve done that a few times before and it’s good fun. And it’ll be my hubbies birthday too!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

A Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeThe Truth About Love and Lightning by Susan McBrideHotel Linda [Dutch] by Arjan Visser

Click on the blue links to see my review

A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde. A fun chick-lit about a young British woman who meets a old, rich American lady. 4 stars

The Truth About Love & Lightning by Susan McBride. A young woman who returns to her childhood home believes the man who fell from the sky during a tornado is her father. With a bit of magic. 4.5 stars

Hotel Linda by Arjan Visser. An old man returns to Amsterdam after many years of living in Brazil. He hopes to meet up with an old friend, but he can’t distinguish between past and present very well. 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The House Girl by Tara ConklinGone: Plague by Michael GrantThe First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula LichtarowiczThe Double by José Saramago

Reviews

Lost & Found by Tom WinterNorse Greenland by Jared DiamondKruisverhoor [Cross-Examination] by Peter Delpeut

Lost & Found by Tom Winter. A fun story about a woman who writes to the universe about her failed marriage and a postman finding her letters and finding comfort in them. 5 stars

Norse Greenland by Jared Diamond. Non-fiction about the settlement of Icelanders in Greenland around the year 1,000 AD. Why did their society collapse after 500 years? 4,5 stars

Kruisverhoor [Cross-examination] by Peter Delpeut. A police officer is researching the case of the body of a newborn baby and a girl who recently gave birth. But one and one is not two. 4 stars

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

34 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Uniflame says:

    I actually started reading again this week after a slump. I read Speechlees By Hannah Harrington. About a girl who takes a vow of silence.

  2. Joanna says:

    You sound wonderfully busy Judith and how exciting to be part of a live television show. I’m a bit surrounded by books this wee so will join in with the What are you reading meme.

  3. Sounds like a great week!
    I must start my walking again, but I hate snow and cold weather, so I’m looking forward to spring, so I can go outside for longer periods and no risks of headache from the cold.
    My week of holiday is over, so back to work again.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karin, the weather is just about OK for me, I did another 5K walk today.

      Hope you’re settled back into work. I finished a free-lance job I was doing today (no holiday for me, last week!🙂 ).

  4. I am intrigued by the synopsis for The First Book of Calamity Leek – look forward to your review.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I’m so glad I “slotted” Calamity Leek in for this month (it’s actually the month it’s coming out, but I got a very early ARC, a win from the publisher), I’m very curious about it.

  5. mpartyka says:

    The House Girl cover looks like Beautiful Girl but I’m drawn to it. Hope you recommend it. I will have to add this to my list.

    You have a great week planned, with the editing, the competition, Team Kickin it…

    Have a fabulous week.

  6. Isi says:

    Ohhh a jury in a reading competition! That sounds really difficult, I’m sure you will want to reward all of the children!!😀
    And good luck with your exercise plan! I love walking too: I made The Way of St. James last summer and I loved it (although it was exhausting and painful). So I think you will increase more than a kilometre per month, I’m sure!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, luckily the kids are just outgrown their cuteness, but still it will be a hard job, that reading competition.

      I would love to go on a long distance walk sometime, but I really need to improve my fitness first.🙂

  7. It is great to see that you’re planning to read The Double – I loved that book! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I hope I’ll love *The Double* too, Jackie. I had a quick look the other day and saw the dense text, just like *Blindness*. But I did enjoy *Blindness *a lot, so I have good hopes. I may read it at the same time as another book so I don’t feel I’m spending weeks on the same book (I expect it to be a slow read).

  8. aww the reading contest sounds like fun.
    The First Book of Calamity Leek looks good. Curious about your review. Have a great week!!

  9. Charlie says:

    That’s a good walking goal, here’s hoping you achieve it soon😀

  10. We're Jumpin' Books says:

    All these books look and sound interesting! Right now I am reading Fly Away by Kristin Hannah and it is a great read so far!

  11. Joanna says:

    I forgot to say Judith, I’m looking forward to what you think of the Double. I like his writing but the character’s decision-making in this book was a bit too much for me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Curious, Joanne! I don’t know much about the story but if there is a lot of philosophizing it may not be for me, either. I loved *Blindness*, though, so there is hope!

  12. I love that you got to do all of that in Amsterdam! What a fun experience!!!

    I haven’t read any of those books! I just finished The Martian Chronicles by Bradbury and am still working on Quiet by Susan Cain.

  13. Tesney Ap says:

    It sounds like you had a great time in Amsterdam🙂 The book ‘the Truth about Love and Lightning’ got me interested. I’ll see if I can see it in the local bookstore. I also love that you took on a fitness challenge. I think I need this, too. I’ve been working on computer too much that I almost forget that there’re so many things to do outside🙂 Gonna start walking, too🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think you’d enjoy Love & Lightning, tes. Hope you can find it.

      I’m on the computer a lot too, so a bit of walking is something I need to plan in, hope you can do it too, if it’s not too hot.

  14. Mel says:

    Is Kruisverhoor in Afrikaans or Dutch?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

